We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Five is a lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Five Hotel
Ranked #39 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Five is a lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed at Five Hotel Brighton twice in the Summer of 2011 both occasions with a friend.it is a lovely place and Caroline n Simon are great hosts who do everything to make your stay enjoyable.The Breakfast experience was very good and the choice of what was on offer was fantastic with lots of organic extras you dont always see in other hotels and its nice to all sit around one table as you get to meet the other guests and sometimes you can have quite an engaging conversation with them.the rooms are nice and are very clean I would definately reccomend it to others well done to Caroline n Simon for fantastic hospitality and all the info on the area they give you as well.I hope to return again sometime.April in Stoke on Trent

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilvic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    58
    30
    10
    2
See reviews for
32
104
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I wouldn't recommend this B&B, I'm afraid. Its good points are that it is in a beautiful and convenient location, and the breakfast was ample and delicious, with many thoughtful additions (Marmite! Chilli jam! Mixed seeds to go with your fruit and yoghurt! All wonderful). Also, the host had many tips for places to see in Brighton.

However, the room we stayed in (no. 10) was scantily and cheaply furnished and poorly lit. The bathroom was absolutely minuscule and not in very good condition (shower fitting falling apart, toilet lid rather stiff).

Also, I found the communal breakfast experience did not work very well at this B&B (I have enjoyed communal breakfasts elsewhere). Not a relaxing start to the day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCDance36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Just enjoyed a 3 night Christmas stay at Five. We had a great time, perfect hosts, perfect room, great seaview. Caroline was very helpful and we really enjoyed our time in Brighton. Terre Terre was our best meal out, thanks to Caroline for sorting it out.
The breakfast was lovely, perfectly cooked, as much toast as we could eat, set up for a busy day.
Location can't be beaten, perfect for heading to the town or the sea front. The local pub Royal Oak, nice beer, a very decent pub dinner.

Room Tip: Sea views very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBS_Ferrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Great location and hosts. Seaview room as requested was spacious and neat. Good communal breakfast with organic options. We would return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muzzawyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearsley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My hubby and i have just had a 3 night stay . What a lovely place ! We stayed in room 6,which was a double en-suite room at the front of the house with a great sea-view . The room was spotless and had everything we needed,big comfy bed,fluffy towels,tea/coffe etc and even some kitkats ! the room was very warm and cosy which was lovely to return to after a day/night out . Its only a few minutes walk to the famous 'lanes'and all the shops/bars/restaurants etc .very close to the pier and the new big wheel .The 'sussex' breakfast was fab !! there was also a great selection of cereals/fresh fruit/yoghurt/honey/jams etc . The owners are friendly,down to earth people who will do their best to ensure you enjoy your stay. We had previously stayed at the 'Thistle'which was very over-priced and not a patch on 'five' we will definately be returning some time soon and are glad we have found this lovely cosy place to stay in Brighton, all the previous reviews are true........so get this booked you wont be disappointed !! Thank-you

Room Tip: sea-view is fab,also might be worth ringing the hotel for a better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KearsleyLambretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Just got back from a 3 day stay and it was lovely, cannot fault anything, room lovely, breakfast lovely, great location and the owners were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Spent a number of weeks here when I was working down in Brighton. It's a lovely old Georgian townhouse in a large square in Kemptown just a stone's throw from the sea. Rooms are well presented and each is different to the others. The breakfasts are excellent with plenty of food from local suppliers and are provided in the beautiful large room on the ground floor. The owners Caroline and Simon provide a very warm welcome and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 km away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.0 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#26 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.2 km away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Court Craven Guest House
Court Craven Guest House
#43 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 km away
New Steine Hotel
New Steine Hotel
#46 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.3 km away
Grey's Hotel
Grey's Hotel
#15 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Hotel

Property: Five Hotel
Address: 5 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This period townhouse overlooking a classic regency square offers beautiful panoramic sea views of the famous Brighton Palace Pier and Seafront. Five Hotel provides the perfect location for business visitors weekenders or holiday makers. We are also close to Brighton Marina and walking distance from The Brighton Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing