We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Five Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Five Hotel
Ranked #40 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Can't praise this place enough. Lovely warm welcome form Caroline and Simon. Friendly and helpful, yet not 'in yer face' type people. Lots of information about the area given, plus a town map (which came in really useful).
Breakfast was superb. The choice really HUGE. And the hot food was cooked really well and presented equally well. So nice to find the soya milk I requested on hand. You actually read the notes on my booking form - such a lovely change! Along with the tea I prefer, marmite, apple juice and so much more.
Wasn't sure about the communal breakfast table at first, but it did mean I had someone to talk to instead of sitting alone staring into my teacup. And Caroline introduced everyone, so it was all nicely relaxed.
Large choice of DVDs to play in your room.
The decor is modern and contemporary - I really regret not taking a photo of the 'medussa' looking lamp shade. If you stay here you'll see what I mean.
A mug for your tea or coffee - not a silly little cup.
Room spotlessly clean, and a nice comfy bed.
Plenty of sockets for my hair paraphernalia. And - oh joy - the sockets were in reach of the mirror!
I was on the top floor at the front, with a lovely sea view, but I did find all those stairs a bit difficult. But, I managed
The seafront is a few steps away with the Pier and attendant razzmatazz about 7 minutes. The Lanes, Royal Pavilion, shopping area all about 10 minutes walk.
There's loads of restaurants and bars all within 5 minutes.
Comparing notes with my friends who stayed a few streets away, I think I had the best deal! I'll certainly use Five again next year when I return to Brighton again
Thankyou Caroline & SImon

Room Tip: Only saw my room, can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smellywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    58
    31
    10
    2
See reviews for
33
104
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Whoever had the idea of putting a full-length mirror on the inside of the bathroom door - about one foot from your knees when you're sitting on the loo?! Another 'not-so-nice' design aspect are faux-fur throws and cushions with feathers on the bed - both unwashable and therefore rather unhygienic.
The room we had was on the small side and facing an inner court yard overlooking other houses. The window didn't open - so it may get hot in summer.

The bath room had wall-paper all around - including in the shower, which had black mould (though not very much) and a high, fixed, large shower head. The shower dial seemed to only go to hot or cold. We missed a hook or shelf to put our wash bags on.

That being said, the location is great - a quiet side road, not far from the beach and the restaurants, bars etc. of the town centre.

Breakfast is served around on a large table which is shared by whoever comes down at the time. We liked that idea - the atmosphere was friendly and sociable and the excellent breakfast made up for what the room lacked. They even had a fresh honey-comb, proper, home-made fruit salad and much more.

We'd go back for those last two points - and - the owners really are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atBlueBadgeGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
262 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed the one night with our 6 year old daughter. Had room 10 - top of the house which although an adequate size for 3 had a very small shower room - plenty of hot water in the shower and nice toiletries.Great position for the seafront and the pier. Breakfast very nice, good quality, organic food and attentive service. Parking was a challenge but Caroline very helpful to acheive the best place and price. Only negative was arriving back to my car to find number plate ripped off and that was with it parked immediately outside the hotel! Brighton isnt the best city for ease of parking.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a lovely town house, with extremely accommodating and friendly hosts. The location is great for walking into Brighton or going to the beach. The breakfast is wonderful, with such a fantastic array of everything you could think of! The décor is great, very contemporary, yet homely and chic at the same time.

Thankyou very much for making our stay so wonderful.

Rebecca and her Hens.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The hotel is perfectly located, well decorated, very modern and very clean. The proprietors are so welcoming and friendly. And the price of the room was so reasonable. I would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed at Five Hotel Brighton twice in the Summer of 2011 both occasions with a friend.it is a lovely place and Caroline n Simon are great hosts who do everything to make your stay enjoyable.The Breakfast experience was very good and the choice of what was on offer was fantastic with lots of organic extras you dont always see in other hotels and its nice to all sit around one table as you get to meet the other guests and sometimes you can have quite an engaging conversation with them.the rooms are nice and are very clean I would definately reccomend it to others well done to Caroline n Simon for fantastic hospitality and all the info on the area they give you as well.I hope to return again sometime.April in Stoke on Trent

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilvic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I wouldn't recommend this B&B, I'm afraid. Its good points are that it is in a beautiful and convenient location, and the breakfast was ample and delicious, with many thoughtful additions (Marmite! Chilli jam! Mixed seeds to go with your fruit and yoghurt! All wonderful). Also, the host had many tips for places to see in Brighton.

However, the room we stayed in (no. 10) was scantily and cheaply furnished and poorly lit. The bathroom was absolutely minuscule and not in very good condition (shower fitting falling apart, toilet lid rather stiff).

Also, I found the communal breakfast experience did not work very well at this B&B (I have enjoyed communal breakfasts elsewhere). Not a relaxing start to the day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCDance36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 km away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.0 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 km away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
New Steine Hotel
New Steine Hotel
#45 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.3 km away
Paskins Town House
Paskins Town House
#18 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.3 km away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#15 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Hotel

Property: Five Hotel
Address: 5 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This period townhouse overlooking a classic regency square offers beautiful panoramic sea views of the famous Brighton Palace Pier and Seafront. Five Hotel provides the perfect location for business visitors weekenders or holiday makers. We are also close to Brighton Marina and walking distance from The Brighton Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Five Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing