We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3day trip to Brighton”
Review of The Kelvin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kelvin
Ranked #49 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This hotel is situated in the 'gay' area around Brighton which has lots of atmosphere. When I arrived the door was locked and a no left on the door for me to ring. No reception - no name given by the person who took me to my room. No, not the Double Executive which I had reserved but one up stairs. I had spoken to the owner who knew exactly what I had booked.
The towels were mingy and old. POOR
The carpets throughout the place were DIRTY
The television was so small and the titles so small that you had to stand in front of it to select a programme.
There was no heating.
All the tables in the dining room were wobbly and the owner stood with hands on hip instructing you where to sit. The breakfast was cooked without any 'heart' Believe me I know the difference have worked in hotels and owned restuarants.
This hotel is not worth what is being charged.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21,100,000,000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed here for a weekend and had a very comfortable and welcoming stay. Rooms are clean and well laid out. They are also bright. We had a peek at the sea from our window. Shaun & Paul are great hosts and the breakfasts are legendary. We recieved lots of advice and even though, I'd imagine, they pass this information on to every guest, they still did it with patience and lots of detail. We appreciated that and enjoyed our stay.There's also a very good Italian restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

As you would expect, Brighton as a popular destination has a large number of guest houses, and it may seem difficult to choose one over another. The Kelvin has much to recommend it, most of the rooms are spacious and very pleasantly furnished, the en suite bathrooms are clean and elegant and the breakfast is copious and well-served. What distinguishes this guest house from its rivals is the friendliness, constant good cheer and willingness to help of the owners. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Double rooms at the front are more expensive, but worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henryelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We come every year to Brighton and have stayed in the Kelvin. It is a lovely hotel - spotlessly clean and the breakfast is just great. It is so close to the seafront and all the local amenities. Would definitley recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend in September. The owners were very friendly and cooked a lovely breakfast! I would recommend staying here although as with most B&Bs in Brighton there is a minimum stay of 2 nights at the weekend and for our very small room (no toilet) I thought it was a little overpriced. However the room was very clean and the central location was great for exploring the town.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaGoolia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

A cosy home away from home I'd like to call it thanks to the warm hospitality of Paul and Shaun. The Breakfast has got to be the best in Brighton freshly cooked to order and the location was perfect as we needed to be walking distance to the Dome and Brighton in general. We had a large clean, light, bright, neat and tidy room w/ attached power shower room. There are no shortage of restaurants and four supermarkets around the corner so whether you are staying for a weekend or a week The Kelvin is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Lovely clean, comfortable room. Super breakfast, welcoming & friendly hosts. A great location in Central Brighton. We had the best ever Indian meal at "The Bombay Mix" just up to the top of Street, first left...really cheap too !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura196402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 km away
Coward's Guesthouse
Coward's Guesthouse
#24 of 95 in Brighton
117 reviews
0.1 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#44 of 95 in Brighton
148 reviews
0.0 km away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#64 of 95 in Brighton
84 reviews
0.0 km away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#14 of 95 in Brighton
340 reviews
0.2 km away
Limehouse
Limehouse
#30 of 95 in Brighton
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kelvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kelvin

Address: 9 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $92 - $917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kelvin 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kelvin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing