We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place I'll stay in Brighton from now on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bannings at Number 14
Ranked #10 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only place I'll stay in Brighton from now on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I love visiting Brighton, but seem to find it hard to find a decent B&B, maybe I'm fussy - after staying here I won't even bother looking elsewhere as it really made our weekend.

Great Kemptown location, with enough to do in the immediate area (pubs, restaurants, beach at the end of the road), and just a short stroll to the town centre. The hosts made us feel so welcome and they gave us advice on good shopping locations.

Very generous and quality breakfasts, a huge comfortable bed and the house was spotless.

Chris & Terry are great at what they do, we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoPosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    59
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
403
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Every year for the last 11 we take part in the Mini run and we normally stay at a hotel just outside Brighton but it is now getting a bit tired so this year we fancied a change and booked this B&B for the Sunday night. We arrived on Sunday afternoon to be met by Terry who couldnt be more helpful and friendly, he showed us to our lovely room which was really clean and comfortable with lots of selection of drinks to chose from. The bed was a lovely big, firm kingsize and was the next best nights sleep to my own bed. We purchased a parking voucher for £8 and managed to find a space in the next street but Monday morning we were able to park up right outstide the house and have a morning in town. The Breakfast was fab and even me being picky about what I did and didnt want as part of the full english was no trouble for our hosts. All in all a great find and somewhere we would most definitely recommend and no doubt return to.

Room Tip: We had room 2, if the others were as nice as this one you really wont mind which room you are in. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumpandwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We haven't stayed in a B&B for years but needs must and all that! However I have to say we were pleasantly surprised - these boys could certainly teach some of the big hotel chains a thing or two! We booked 2 nights after reading the reviews online - even booking was a pleasant experience. In easy walking distance of the train station - about 10/15 minutes - and a view of the sea from the front door so perfect location. The day we arrived the weather was a bit miserable but the house was as warm as the welcome. We chose Room 3 from the pictures on the website - yes it was compact but it had everything we needed. The bed was incredibly comfortable and I particularly liked the fact bottled water was included on the refreshment tray. The room was at the back of the house so was really quiet - we heard a little bit of the noise on the Friday night I presume from the pub a little way down the road but it didn't keep us awake. The bathroom had a huge shower and everything was spotlessly clean. The bathroom door stuck a bit - sorry forgot to mention at the time guys! but just added to the character of the room. Breakfast was huge - vegetarian option available for us which was great. We managed the full english the first morning but had to downsize the next after a big meal the night before but it still set us up for the day - certainly didn't need lunch! If I was going to be really picky the only negative I can find is that because the downstairs is almost open plan the entrance does hold the cooking smells of the kitchen which is a bit off putting when you first arrive but you soon get used to it and it just feels homely. We had a great couple of days in Brighton and if we were ever to come back would definitely stay again and have already recommended it to friends and family

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powell1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We went to Brighton for our first wedding anniversary & found this b&b online 0 after looking at the great reviews on here we decided to go - and were not dissapointed. The b&b was easy to find, and there is on street parking. Chirs & Terry were very lovely to us, explaining about all the parking options & where we could go. We had a room on the first floor & it was very clean. There were nice extra touches like bottles of water in the room to take out with us. We had a lovely day & night out, and the breakfast was wonderful - we decided we couldn't eat a full English after a large meal the night before, so we had scrambled eggs on toast. It felt like nothing was too much trouble for them & they really wanted us to enjoy our stay. I would definately go back if we are in Brighton again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We picked the Bannings at Number 14 in Brighton by chance off the internet. I have to say they could not have made us fell more welcome. The room was very clean and comfortable with eveything you could need. Our hosts could not do enough to help they advised us on parking and even noticed we had brought a bottle of wine to have in our room and offered us wine glasses. The breakfast was also excellent and set us up for the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We booked this after reading the reviews and we were not disappointed. Chris and Terry were very welcoming and always helpful, the food was excellent and the level of cleanliness first rate. We would definately look for a vacancy here first before booking anywhere else next time we visit Brighton.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Having booked Bannings using Trip Advisor reviews - I was quietly confident that it should at least be 'ok'. However - it more than exceeded expectations and made our family weekend just that extra bit special. We had two rooms between four of us, and the guys kindly put our rooms on the same level so we could make the most of the time we were spending together.

The rooms were so clean it was insane, and all of the little extra touches and attention to detail made us feel genuinely cared for over the weekend.

We loved the decor and the character of the house, the breakfasts were delicious and quality. We are a fussy bunch and we struggled to find anything that was missing or needed, the umbrellas proved to be essential! Such a friendly welcome enabled us to kick back and relax, not at all bothered that we were 'rained in'!.

We will definitely be back.

Cat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_Kernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.2 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,892 reviews
1.4 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.2 km away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#8 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 km away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannings at Number 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannings at Number 14

Property: Bannings at Number 14
Address: 14 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannings at Number 14 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and very clean guesthouse, we have 5 en-suite double rooms. Very close to all the city's conference venues and shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Book Direct Rooms, HRS, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Bannings at Number 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannings At Number 14 Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing