We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Chateau Japonais
Ranked #21 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This was our second time at this guesthouse, spent the past two New Years Eves there! Very hard to find, needs a big sign in the front garden ideally, but once you get there the staff are friendly and show you around then take you to your room. Japanese toilet in each room and nice hot tub in each room. The outdoor hot rock pool is amazing - how else can you spend NYE in an outdoor pool in Hastings! We asked for room 6.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SBMF1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Not an easy place to find ...... Staff greeted us well and showed us to room one.... We were taken on a tour of the hotel ...... Interesting place but really could do with a very good clean.......
Room one had a japanese toilet and plunge bath ..... Good fun ..... But again could have been cleaner :( ..... The room had no mirror, a wardrobe you couldn't open and a throw you to the middle mattress ......
We had been asked what we wanted for breakfast and what time we would like it .... Sadly breakfast turned into something from a faulty towers episode ...... We came down at the appointed hour to find a bemused looking chap setting a couple of tables .... 10 minutes he says ... That's fine we say ....... 15 minutes later a loaf of frozen bread is rushed out and put by the toaster ......
Ummm toast but no butter ...... We wait another 10 minutes ....... Hot water pump thingy is brought out ..... We ask for butter ..... Make tea ...... No milk!!! ........Butter arrives ... We ask for milk ..... Told again breakfast will be ten minutes ...... Milk arrives in little uht pots :( together with 2 very flat eggs with broken yokes !!! ...... A while later a very reasonable full English arrives ... My partner and I decide to share whats been presented ...... The foods fine if 45 minutes late .....
The other couple who arrived 20 minutes after us then received two full English breakfasts which surprised them as one of them was a vegetarian ....... If you go here take your sense of adventure and humour .....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

This B&B is excellent. The staff are lovely, breakfast is very tasty and they even asked us if we wanted more! Some of the details are on the verge of needing an upgrade, but the jacuzzi and Japanese toilet make up for it as does the heated outdoor pool. We had a lovely time and would recommend this to anyone who loves quirky little B&B's.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting Hastings, not the easiest hotel to find,but we were greeted by a nice French man who spoke good English and showed us our room,and then took us for a tour of the hotel and the outside spa.The rooms were good sizes with giant baths and Japanese electric toilets! The bathrooms are big and finished very nicely,all in all a good night,and recommended if you fancy something a touch different..

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room,which was very nice and had a back door too from the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyRhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I dont usually leave reviewsbut I think a lot of the reviews on here are unjustified.Me and my partner stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Honestly, there were some down sides, the room was quite small but we did only stay in a standard room. The breakfast was not the best but was sufficient, with the choice of full english, cereals and toast, and I get the impression that if i had asked for something specific, the staff wpuld have happily obliged.

Regardless of the size of the room, it was a lovely room. The jacuzzi bath was lovely and big, hence the reason it takes a while to fill, but so worth the wait! And the tv was able to turn to face the jacuzzi, a lovely touch. The mattress was lovely, and I had three fantastic nights sleep.

The pool was gorgeous, very warm and relaxing. The staff were also lovely, and very helpful and the hotel was very close to the seafront ans town centre, 10 mins walk max. Overall, I would strongly recommend this b&b, lovely, relaxing, really couldn't have asked for much more. The rest of the reviews on here are very niggly, and after staying I dont find any of them to hold much truth. Do not be put off!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank charlottewhyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We don't regret choosing this B&B, but we were a bit surprised about how below our expectations the experience was.

But I will approach the good first: The staff seemed friendly and approachable. The concept behind the B&B is very unique, and there are few places in the UK you will be able to try out a Japanese washlet (toilet) or deep whirlpool bath. It was cute and fun, and for those of us who do not have a car or do not take them on holiday, it was reasonably well situated to reach the beach and Old Town (a ten minute walk or so).

The standard amenities (coffee, tea, kettle) included hot chocolate and instant lattes, a fridge, and bottled water. The whirlpool bath was fun, and didn't take as long as some reviewers say to fill. Ours took maybe 20 minutes and had no problems keeping the water in. Toiletries were provided, but they were cheap large bottles of supermarket products, so be sure to bring your own. The hotel itself was cute, although it looks to be a regular house from the outside.

The bad:

The place is in need of serious maintenance and some of the fixtures really needed cleaning. The furniture near the pool didn't seem safe to sit on as the wicker looked old and rotted. The breakfast wasn't horrible, but it wasn't good, and the coffee was really just light brown water. We would have opted for a cold breakfast instead of the "full English", which we were planning on anyway, but there didn't seem much of a selection other than cereal, toast and juice.

I've seen it advertised as having Tempurpedic beds, and that was probably what drew us to it as my husband has back problems and we normally sleep on a bed that is a memory foam/latex mix. We always have problems travelling adjusting to a sprung mattress. The bed (which was very creaky) was a sprung mattress with memory foam layers. This might be a positive for people who don't like sleeping on pure foam, but for us, we were looking forward to actually having a decent night's sleep away from home.

The only other thing was that we were in the front, ground floor room (1), and the noise disturbed my husband. You do hear people coming in and out. It didn't bother me, but lighter sleepers might opt for one of the rooms towards the back or higher up.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moggsyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Very disapointing. Plug in Jaquzi leaked so the bath never got more than 2 inches in it. It looks awfull from outside & not the easiest to find. Staff all speak broken english. For the price I would have expected much better.

Room Tip: Be very open minded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stockholm-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.5 km away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
899 reviews
0.9 km away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
1.3 km away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#8 of 47 in Hastings
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
St Benedict Victorian Bed & Breakfast
0.4 km away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 47 in Hastings
203 reviews
1 km away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 47 in Hastings
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau Japonais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau Japonais

Address: 2 Linton Road, Hastings TN34 1TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range: C$121 - C$192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Chateau Japonais 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Chateau Japonais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Japonais Hotel Hastings
Le Chateau Japonais Hastings, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing