We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Chateau Japonais
Ranked #21 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2015

We chose to stay at Le Chateau Japonais at least 3-4 times a year. Every room has excellent facilities, the hot tub jacuzzi baths are fantastic, they can take a while to fill up so i recommend you put the taps on asap. The toilets are also a feature as they have heated seats, spray and dryer. The outside heated swimming pool is hot hot hot even in the winter, all being that the previous guests have covered the pool after use. There is a lovely shower area inside an outhouse leading to the pool. The staff are all so friendly and helpfull, on more than one occasion they have allowed my younger brothers, who have not been staying at the Guesthouse to use the pool and facilties during our stay.
Some of the rooms could do with a little touch up with the decorating, chairs, cushions abit worn, however the beds are comfortable and we have never had a bad nights sleep. The dining room for breakfast is small and if busy you are sharing tables with other guests which we do not prefer. I would recommend everyone take the opportunity to stay here i guarentee you return as we do.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter than those at the front due to the road, however the top room at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2015

Rooms good food excelant not far from town friendly people whirlpool bath great definitely would stay here again quite location Japanese toilet is funny and very novel beds comfy best night sleep I have had in hotel for a long time

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhandsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014 via mobile

Me & my partner were looking for somewhere local to town in hastings for out anniversary and wanted something different so when we came across this little gem we couldn't believe the price for what you get.
On arrival the staff member was very friendly showed us everything and explained how it all works (breakfast, spa bath and the outside pool) then we settled into out room and got the spa bath going. It didn't take to long as we unpacked whilst this was going. The bath was brilliant and just what we wanted to be able to relax.

We then went out in the evening to find the town was a few minutes away not even £10 there and back.

The next day we had breakfast and was greeted by another lovely member of staff who got chatting to us and made us feel very welcome.

The only thing that could be modified is the best in room 6 was a little noisy and every turn you made could be heard. But apart from that this lovely guest house has a massive thumbs up from us and is highly recommended.

Thank you to the staff for making us feel welcome.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clarelou88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

Rooms were ok. The cupboard was dusty. Breakfast was a joke. Fruit was moldy. English breakfast burnt. Not enough choice. But the spa in room was nice so was the pool outside. There kitchen was dirty mess. I'm sure health & safety would close them down if they saw the state of it not to mention the breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moggie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Stayed here at the weekend and oh my gosh what a mistake.
.We booked into the Surperior room as thought we would treat ourselves .You couldn't swing a cat in there I dread to think what the standard room looked like
.The bed covers had stains all over the room was dirty .
The jacuzzi took 45 mins to fill what a joke ,I gave up in the end .
The carpet leading upstairs was dirty and covered in stains .
We were kept awake most of the night by the noise of the fan in the room next door.There were people coming in and out front door all night 3-4-5 am bang bang bang went the doors also you had people sitting in garden til 5am smoking and talking loudly .
And finally after been kept awake most of the night we went down for breakfast ,it was one of the worst I have ever been served,Cheap cereals only 2 choices !!!!!,tinned fruit cocktail !!!! and ordinary white bread left for you to toast ,you could order cooked breakfast we did ask for bacon and eggs one egg and one piece of bacon was given
AND all that for £100 ,Way over priced not worth £50 !!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay there ,there are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank veronica42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed for two nights recently and were upset with the lack of window & any character within the 'cell-like' room # 2.
The electrics, a maze of cable tucked behind the heat of fridge motor, do not think would pass any proper safety review !!
Mirror/ dressing table for the wife/hair/makeup could replace the seat !!!
Dining area, part filled with settee & chair that apparently the owners 'like', but, which make life for their guests difficult to comfortably move about the room. A large table within window covered with some of the breakfast items would be better put to use for guests !!!!
Upstairs room # 6 looked good, though in need of TLC.
Shallow pool, very warm and excellent, can spend much time within, chatting/relaxing with other guests, A MAJOR WOW FACTOR !!!!!
Breakfast GOOD.
Carol, the main staff member, helpful & welcoming !!!!!!
The Japanese loo, an interesting installation, a real talking point.
The entrance doorway could do with a coat of paint, very shabby and an initial 'off-put'

Room Tip: As titled, do not use rooms 1 to 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights for my birthday and had a lovely relaxing and romantic weekend.

The jacuzzi in the room was lovely although does take 45 minutes to fill up but this is because it is so deep.

Room 1 where we stayed was on the ground floor.

Although the bed was comfortable it was only a small double and as we are both tall we didn't sleep very well.

The japanese toilet is excellent.

The room was very clean only minor issues of mould on the ceiling in the jacuzzi area and no mirror in the room only in the toilet so had to ask for a mirror so I could do my hair.

Spa pool was lovely and relaxing although could have been hotter and a little bit cleaner as lots of leaves.

The breakfast was nice but it was small and breakfast seating area is also small.

Great location only 10 minute walk from the seafront. Would recommend the old town as a lot nicer than the main town of hastings.

Will definitely be back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kaara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.5 km away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
898 reviews
0.9 km away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
1.3 km away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#8 of 47 in Hastings
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
St Benedict Victorian Bed & Breakfast
0.4 km away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 47 in Hastings
203 reviews
1 km away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 47 in Hastings
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau Japonais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau Japonais

Address: 2 Linton Road, Hastings TN34 1TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range: C$121 - C$192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Chateau Japonais 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Le Chateau Japonais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Japonais Hotel Hastings
Le Chateau Japonais Hastings, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing