We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish, superb B&B in the heart of Lewes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montys Bed and Breakfast Lewes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montys Bed and Breakfast Lewes
Ranked #5 of 42 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stylish, superb B&B in the heart of Lewes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I have stayed on occasion at the previous Monty's and was so impressed with the quality of the room that I wrote a review. So when I booked to stay at the new Monty's I knew it was going to be of the same high standard, but couldn't believe how impressive the new room is. It has the same crisp linens and fluffly towels, but the space is huge. There is a sofa, four poster bed, shower and separate bath. But the most impressive feature is the high celing with original exposed beams. If you didn't get a chance to stay at the old Monty's, don't worry, this one is even better!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moreholidayneeded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
78
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

The room at Monty's took my breath away. It is much bigger than it looks on the web site and the attention to detail is first rate. Robes, chocolates, cakes and toiletries were all much appreciated. The room also has a coffee maker, iPod dock and a wonderful selection of books.
This is the perfect spot for discovering Lewes or house hunting (as we were doing) as you are straight out of the door into the centre of things.
We really appreciated the warm welcome we received from Vicky and Paul and we had a great weekend.
Gill and Mel Green

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

The new Montys is even better than the previous one - and that takes some doing! Now in a fabulous location on the High Street, the new apartment on the top floor is simply stunning - you could be forgiven for thinking you were in fact staying in a 5-star hotel. With views out towards the South Downs, a state-of-the-art shower room, freestanding Victorian roll-top bath, Sky TV, unbelievably comfortable double bed, it is absolutely the lap of luxury. And to cap it all Vicki and Paul are the most charming and helpful hosts you could ever hope to find.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Monty's flatlet was the perfect base for us during the Lewes folk festival. It was great to be self contained and the accomodation was the most stylish I've ever stayed in. Vicki is the most attentive and friendly hostess. Lovely!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

We loved this B & B, which was more like a small basement apartment. Right in the centre of Lewes it provided a great base from which to explore the town and further afield. The rooms are tastefully decorated, with lots of luxurious touches here and there. The bed was especially comfortable, and we loved having tv in both living room and bedroom. The small kitchen area meant that we were able to provide ourselves with snacks and drinks whenever we wanted. We will certainly return when in the area. Oh yes, walk the down the hill to South Street and find the marvellous food at The Snowdrop Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lifebeginsatfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

We spent the night here when attending a party in Lewes. I had done my research but was was apprehensive as I always do my research - and I always seem to end up with the worst room in the place! I arrived in the morning and Vicky's welcome was so warm and the apartment so perfect for our overnight stay (I wish we could have stayed longer). Vicky gave me a lovely gift bag of beauty goodies, and the luxury items of cleaner/toner etc. in the bathroom were such a surprise. Coffee and home made muesli were a great breakfast. All I can add, is, if you get to stay here, you will have a great time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariebeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Monty's is a beautifully styled home from home. The bed is heaven to sleep in and the living room and bedroom have all the modern facilities you could want. The bathroom is delightful and the Clarins toileteries add to the feeling of luxury. Monty's is perfectly situated in Lewes for shopping and dining out. Vicky and Paul who run Monty's are such kind, caring and thoughtful people that you will feel completely relaxed and pampered after your stay here. They will give you excellent recommendations about where to eat and what to see in the area. We have stayed several times and will continue to whenever we need a revitalising break.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank louandandy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 km away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.7 km away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
9.0 km away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montys Bed and Breakfast Lewes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montys Bed and Breakfast Lewes

Property: Montys Bed and Breakfast Lewes
Address: Broughton House | 16 High Street, Lewes BN7 2LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.Our aim is to offer our guests a luxurious and self-contained home-from-home. We have renovated the apartment in a light, contemporary style while retaining its stunning original features. Montys has high ceilings, beautiful exposed roof beams with large industrial hanging lamps, and views of the High Street and garden. There is a large modern oak four-poster bed, free-standing bath, en-suite walk-in shower and toilet, Wi-Fi, TV with Sky Plus, and large book shelves with a good selection of books for you to enjoy. There is also a small kitchenette area for preparing drinks/snacks.We hope that a stay at Montys will give you the best of both worlds: a central location from which to enjoy all that Lewes has to offer, and a comfortable retreat for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing