We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,068)
Filter reviews
1,068 results
Traveller rating
95
282
233
193
265
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
282
233
193
265
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel leisure facilities sauna and steam room sloping floors four poster bed lots of character full english breakfast beams downs
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,068 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

The white hart has a prime location and our double room was a good size, the room was clean & had lots of little extas the only problems were the tv needed the channels installing which only took us a few minutes & we couldn't connect to the WiFi. The breakfast was good & we enjoyed our stay, the room prices were good & the staff pleasant & helpful. It does require some updating but we enjoyed our stay & would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 943kathw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Thank you for the review regarding the hotel and staff.

Sorry to see the tv issue retuned. We have now found the issue that keeps causing this. As the TVs system keeps resting itself for some unknown reason.

Not sure about the WiFi since the new system was installed we have had no issues.?

Thank you again and apologies for the small issues.

Jonathan Cleaver
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

This hotel is in an amazing location close to everything , however the good points are super reception staff , good bed linen , good towels ample soaps etc .
Bad points attention to detail like wall paper peeling off the wall in the bedroom, cracked ceiling , cracked bedroom window , TV not working and so small you would not have seen anything , valance on beds very very creased , when you put a glass down in the reception area part of the bar it sticks to the table as do your hands on the hand rail of the stairs . Restaurant closes at 8pm , car park you need to take breathing lung with you as although big fairly squalid , and the annexe looks more like a building in a war zone or worse .
This could be good with a lot of money and some attention to detail like don't house all the rubbish from months ago next to the kitchen door on to the dive access to carpark

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Thank you for the constructive review regain the hotel and staff.

Sorry you felt you did not enjoy your stay with us
Please allow me to explain some issues for you.

We have now sorted the issues out with the wallpaper in Moët of the rooms we can see.
As for the tv I’m afraid we can not do anyone about customers preference of size they are 28inch.

Our bar tables are cleaned everytime a guest finishes there drink or food.

Sometimes we do miss one or two when other people decide to sit at those tables before we can get there to remove the glasses.

(Probably just to make a complaint the table it
sticky)

With the hotel car park,yes it is a small drive way to come down if you drive a tank.

The car park is free to all guest and gym users
We have 30 spaces and as we are the only hotel in Lewes that does not charge for the car park
We sometimes feel that guests should not complain about this otherwise we will start charging. like pelham house shellys and premier inn the other hotels in Lewes

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at the White Hart last night for one night, and it was majoritivly good.
I loved the character of the place! The wonky walls &floor and the old beams and style; but I was disappointed in the basic cleanliness. Standard stuff like dust on top of the door frame (and I mean a thick layer not just a few bits!)

The staff were friendly, helpful and keen to assist, however one of the windows didn’t fully shut and I could hear late night drinkers until about 11:30-midnight.

The gym was not modern but well equipped and had a good variety of cardio and weights; but the spa did not come up to standards. The pool and sauna were ok, but the steam room was more of a damp room and the jacuzzi was cold.

Some reviews have said the tv didn’t work but mine did and had many channels to choose from.
The bed was comfy and the room cosy, and it had a coffee machine and a gorgeous view.

The whole place just needs a coat of paint and a spruce!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Amyelrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

We were meeting up with a group of friends from school and as we live not too far away, went down for the day. Judging from the public rooms, the hotel could do with redecoration and an overhaul - holes in carpets and tired décor. The buffet lunch which was laid on for us was unfortunately not worth the money but the experience did not detract from our day out. Car park a bit of a nightmare - we had telephoned ahead to ask about car parking and were told the hotel could take 40 cars. Not sure how this could be managed!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FJHH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We were greeted by cigarette butts down the entrance, security external door that did not work (broken lock, shabby) filthy paintwork, torn mattress bases (not even covered) disgusting stained carpets that I wouldn't give the cat to sleep on. Ripped net curtains, broken outside railings that a child could easily fall through, HAIR, and I mean LOTS, blocking the bath plug hole, no hair dryer, filthy walls, bedside cupboards that looked as if they had come off a tip..........need I go on............

Room tip: AVOID THE ANNEXE - main hotel old fashioned but a bit charming.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mrsfdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews