We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute, Charming & Wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blue Door Barns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blue Door Barns
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Blue Door Barns
Little Lodge bedroom
The Sailor's House
The Nook
The Snug, the Blue Door Barns treatment room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lewes, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kaja72855
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cute, Charming & Wonderful!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My boyfriend and I came to Blue Door Barns on a Friday evening. We were welcomed immediately by letting ourselves into our own room and then walking around the premises saying hello to Bryony and Emma. The entire setup is idyllic and picturesque. Our room was comfortable, charming and cozy. Breakfast both days was incredible. We had everything from the healthy Granola option, to full English breakfast, and baked eggs. We came and went as we pleased, got information and suggestions of where to go and was really very happy with our entire weekend. I can't wait to come back and for anyone who is looking for a B&B in Lewes, Blue Door Barns is an absolute must! Thank you Bryony and Emma for making our weekend very special!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The atmosphere was simply incredible.
Liked least: That I got so full after Breakfast!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina B
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Where to begin??? Had the most amazing weekend at Blue door barns, ten of us flew in from various locations to be with my daughter for her "hen" and what a truly wonderful weekend we had, lovely comfortable beds, clean, crisp linens, the rooms are all simply stunning, shabby chic french styling but with a touch of luxury. Sitting around an outside chimney was an added bonus and our hosts could not have done more for us. Fantastic breakfasts too, will be recommending your b&b to friends and family in zurich, france and uk and most certainly be back, thanks for a remarkable stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronacakes
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful place, lovely hosts and yummy yummy breakfasts!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed for one night but wished we could have stayed for more! Our hosts were extremely helpful and even suggested we used the room after check out time as they didn't have other guests checking in that day. The room we stayed in was the nook and it was gorgeous. Our breakfasts were utterly delicious. My partner had a fabulous head massage. It was a real, real treat. I could not praise Blue Door Barns highly enough! Did I mention it is set in stunning countryside and there is a fabulous pub (The Ram's Head) within walking distance? We'll be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie B
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing location, warm welcome and amazing breakfasts”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed in the Nook for 2 nights and had a lovely break. Bryony and Emma were kind and thoughtful hosts. They were full of brilliant suggestions for walks, places to eat and things to do and genuinely seemed to want us to enjoy all of our weekend.

The breakfasts were out of this world and the massages Bryony booked for us, which we had in the relaxing treatment room, were of a high standard.

The room is beautifully decorated in whites and blues and very relaxing. Nice shower and VERY comfortable bed.

Blue Door Barns is very well located just minutes from the South Downs and a short drive from the coast. We had beautiful walks on both days as well as visiting Lewes. Highly recommended - we will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location, hosts, decor, food
Liked least: The room was quite light
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma G
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room & Excellent Food”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have just come back from a one night stay here, we stayed in the Nook room. The room was beautifully decorated, clean, modern, and set in a peaceful location. The B&B owners were friendly, welcoming and one of the owners Bryony cooked us the most amazing breakfast.
Breakfast was served in the main house and the atmosphere and high quality of the decorations and features blew us away. This is a very classy and upmarket B&B and I wouldn't hesitate is recommending this to anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay in the Lewes area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucaMaron...
Maroni, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Definitely has the wow factor”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Blue Door Barns is, on first acquaintance, characterised by its initial wow impact.
The rooms are so beautifully and sympathetically designed you immediately feel embraced by them. I'm lying here in bed and could happily stay for the rest of the day and yet I am by nature an outdoorsy person. It's so cosy and warm, so many simply arranged objects to catch the eye and interest.
Emma and Bryony are the perfect hosts, there when you need them, charming, helpful, full of great suggestions of places to visit, walk, eat and explore. Their home has a wonderful country house appeal. Breakfast in the main room, near the log fire, candles lit, oh glorious.
The food cooked by Bryony to her own subliminal recipes are deliciously gourmet satisfying.
Am I going over the top?
Well maybe, but it's so rare to find a place to stay that feels so like the home we would all love to have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
privatepe...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique retreat”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A one night stay at the wonderful Blue Door Barns. Fab location near to Lewes and the seaside. We stayed at The Sailors House, a one bed ensuite room next to the stunning courtyard. Lovely Teapig teas on hand and fresh milk. Had a lovely nights sleep followed by THE MOST delicious breakfast - I had the granary toast with smooshed avocado, poached egg and chorizo; he had the full English. Everything was served with delicious coffee and amazing preserves in the grand dining room with a lovely real fire. Couldn't have wished for a more relaxing stay. Thank you Bryony and Emma!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing