We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay”
Review of River Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Haven Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We spent the night at this hotel again on 4th August 2017 and as usual we had a great time. Food was superb, Parking was very easy, and the staff in every department were top notch. They really know how to look after guests in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ivor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for River Haven Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

My wife and I returned to Rye during July and were very warmly welcomed back to this hotel. It is clean, with very friendly staff and is a conveient short walk in to town.

I recommend staying here as the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff, as I have said are very friendly and the food is delicious and plentiful.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms facing the river, or room 4 if you like a quiet stay
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We got to Rye mid-week without a reservation and couldn't find a room for love nor money in town. We got off the train so were walking from inn to inn. Finally a nice man told us about this place, just a short walk across the river. The receptionist was a delight, incredibly friendly and helpful. We had an excellent room with it's own terrace right on the river. The breakfast was good, the standard English hotel breakfast buffet and the location of the place for the price was outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room with terrace.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We stayed at the hotel as a family of five (2 adults, 2 children) for two nights.

Good points:
- great location just outside the citadel. Easy walking distance to the town and local amenities.
- convenient parking although we didn't need to use it as we traveled by train. Also a short walk to Rye train station.
- breakfast was fine and had a decent choice of English breakfast items.

Negative points:
- when we arrived at the hotel after a long journey, we received no welcome from the receptionist. Staff were rude and unfriendly with the exception of the receptionist when we were checking out (who was very friendly) and the young lady who served coffee at breakfast time. We used to live in the area and expected a friendlier welcome.
- no real provision for children, other guests complained about them making noise (at 5.30pm after we had just checked in!) and the children were not really made to feel welcome.
- decor is tired and dated and in need of a complete refurbishment. There is no proper lounge area, and there is no real need to eat in the hotel with all the other excellent eatery options in Rye.
- family room was very small and the beds were all squished together. A camp bed was set up for one of the children which was OK but a bit of a hazard. Would have preferred a proper bed especially as it was advertised as a family room.

On balance, would probably stay somewhere else next time we are visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart P, Owner at River Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

With regard to the comments about the family room, this room was for two adults and 2 children (one double bed and 2 single beds) and because there were 3 children we put an extra bed in the room to accommodate the 3 children at no extra charge, nor made an extra charge for the third child's breakfast. This would obviously make the room seem cramped and this is normally pointed out to the guest when they book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Nothing wrong with this place.
OK some things may need up-dating but you won't beat this place in Rye for value for money. It's clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. Parking is at a premium and this place has its own car park.
Breakfast is fine and Jason who runs things in the restaurant is friendly and helpful.
Give it a try, as I say you won't beat it for value.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Swanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Stayed here for one night on a visit to Rye to celebrate our wedding anniversary (although we didn't get any extras from the hotel). Hotel is conveniently located about a 5 minute walk from the centre of Rye and has free car parking. Hotel was clean and comfortable with friendly staff. We had a room at the front of the hotel which meant that it was a little noisy with the passing traffic (tip - ask for a room that overlooks the river - might be quieter). Whilst it is a little dated, overall comfortable - breakfast was buffet style and plenty of it. We also ate in the hotel and the evening meal was good.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rob121618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel conveniently placed , being just a short walk along the river to the town.
Staff were very friendly and helpful , nothing was too much trouble .
The rooms were very spacious and clean with well equipped courtesy tray.
Food was really good and plentiful, at breakfast there was a good choice at the buffet bar. There was a good choice on the dinner menu, and they catered for vegan and vegetarian diets of a couple of our group.
Only downside was my bedroom was extremely hot and at night i could only have the window on ventilation , as beyond this someone could easily have got in. It really needs a system where it can be locked open wider than on ventilation. I did find out though a bit too late that there was a fan in the cupboard.
However I loved the hotel and definitely hope I can go back in the future.Well worth a visit.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Hyper32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.2 km away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
992 reviews
0.5 km away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
788 reviews
0.4 km away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
5.0 km away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
3.6 km away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Haven Hotel

Address: Winchelsea Road, Rye TN31 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: $142 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your River Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing