We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of River Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Haven Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Booked this for me and friends for a two daybreak. Lovely place staff excellent very relaxed atmosphere. Though dated was extremely clean and friendly. Would advise something be done with the carpet as a real trip hazard. Ate in the restaurant on last night food was lovely and the chef and waiting staff really accommodating. Thankyou we would return we had a lovely time.

Vanessa

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank vanessacawe62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for River Haven Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

The hotel is a very friendly, welcoming one. The staff make you feel so welcome, and are always friendly, no matter how busy they are. Nothing is too much trouble for them, even going as far as sending out a member of staff that was off duty to fetch a certain drink that they had run out of for us. They were always accommodating, and always willing to have a laugh with us. The room was very clean, spacious, and everything we needed was there for us. Older style furniture, but very tasteful, and very comfy beds. :-) Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Fantastic 2 night stay, thankyou.

Room Tip: We had side/ front twin room, very spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deltrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We spent the night at this hotel again on 4th August 2017 and as usual we had a great time. Food was superb, Parking was very easy, and the staff in every department were top notch. They really know how to look after guests in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ivor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

My wife and I returned to Rye during July and were very warmly welcomed back to this hotel. It is clean, with very friendly staff and is a conveient short walk in to town.

I recommend staying here as the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff, as I have said are very friendly and the food is delicious and plentiful.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms facing the river, or room 4 if you like a quiet stay
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We got to Rye mid-week without a reservation and couldn't find a room for love nor money in town. We got off the train so were walking from inn to inn. Finally a nice man told us about this place, just a short walk across the river. The receptionist was a delight, incredibly friendly and helpful. We had an excellent room with it's own terrace right on the river. The breakfast was good, the standard English hotel breakfast buffet and the location of the place for the price was outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room with terrace.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We stayed at the hotel as a family of five (2 adults, 2 children) for two nights.

Good points:
- great location just outside the citadel. Easy walking distance to the town and local amenities.
- convenient parking although we didn't need to use it as we traveled by train. Also a short walk to Rye train station.
- breakfast was fine and had a decent choice of English breakfast items.

Negative points:
- when we arrived at the hotel after a long journey, we received no welcome from the receptionist. Staff were rude and unfriendly with the exception of the receptionist when we were checking out (who was very friendly) and the young lady who served coffee at breakfast time. We used to live in the area and expected a friendlier welcome.
- no real provision for children, other guests complained about them making noise (at 5.30pm after we had just checked in!) and the children were not really made to feel welcome.
- decor is tired and dated and in need of a complete refurbishment. There is no proper lounge area, and there is no real need to eat in the hotel with all the other excellent eatery options in Rye.
- family room was very small and the beds were all squished together. A camp bed was set up for one of the children which was OK but a bit of a hazard. Would have preferred a proper bed especially as it was advertised as a family room.

On balance, would probably stay somewhere else next time we are visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart P, Owner at River Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

With regard to the comments about the family room, this room was for two adults and 2 children (one double bed and 2 single beds) and because there were 3 children we put an extra bed in the room to accommodate the 3 children at no extra charge, nor made an extra charge for the third child's breakfast. This would obviously make the room seem cramped and this is normally pointed out to the guest when they book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Nothing wrong with this place.
OK some things may need up-dating but you won't beat this place in Rye for value for money. It's clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. Parking is at a premium and this place has its own car park.
Breakfast is fine and Jason who runs things in the restaurant is friendly and helpful.
Give it a try, as I say you won't beat it for value.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Swanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.2 km away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
992 reviews
0.5 km away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
788 reviews
0.1 km away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The George in Rye
5.0 km away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
3.6 km away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Haven Hotel

Address: Winchelsea Road, Rye TN31 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price Range: $142 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your River Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing