We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly dog-friendly breakfast spot”

The Old Grain Store
Ranked #7 of 114 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Grill
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Staying in the local area for the Easter weekend I headed into Rye early Saturday. I parked on the Strand and sampled breakfast in the Old Grain Store. Located at the bottom of Mermaid Street and next to the Strand car park it was an easy choice. The interior is homely and eclectic. The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming to Oban and I. The bacon and egg doorstop on granary was superb as, I understand it, was the dog biscuit! Definitively worth visiting when in town

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank raynaO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 238 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2018

What a great find. Made very welcome with our two border terriers. Great drinks and cake. Will visit again for lunch when in the area. The all day breakfast looked fantastic. What nice people.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

Very friendly good coffee and great bacon sandwiches! What more can you ask on on a freezing Sunday morning. Also liked the range of chutneys they had for sale - we bought two!

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

We had a delicious breakfast which was fresh and had really high quality ingredients. The portions were very generous too. The staff were super friendly and welcoming. We’d definitely go again.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank lizzie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

We visited (a group of 8 girlfriends) late Sunday morning and received a very warm welcome on a drizzly day! We were given a choice of seats and served our drinks quickly. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals which included the generous portions of avocado, smoked salmon and poached eggs and full English breakfast. All were delicious and served with a smile as well as additional pots of tea!! Will definitely return!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank nickyh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Grain Store also viewed

 
Rye, East Sussex
 

Been to The Old Grain Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing