We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish and seafood in Rye”
Review of Rye Bay Fish

Rye Bay Fish
Ranked #44 of 114 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: We are a wet fish shop that sells ready to eat cockles mussels whelks prawns etc.We are open monday to saturday inclusive.We do not open on sundays. Free customer carpark , our quality is very high grade
Restaurant details
Description: We are a wet fish shop that sells ready to eat cockles mussels whelks prawns etc.We are open monday to saturday inclusive.We do not open on sundays. Free customer carpark , our quality is very high grade
Reviewed August 25, 2016

This is not a restaurant, but an excellent fishmonger. I hadn't been in there for years after a disappointing experience in the past, but then discovered it was under new ownership so decided to pay a visit. Received a warm welcome and bought some excellent crab (very fresh and reasonably-priced). Also picked up some whelks for my dad which went down a treat. There was a very good range of fish and seafood on display, all looking fresh and lovely. Look forward to returning again soon and often.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 667susanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, Manager at Rye Bay Fish, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 60 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2016

What a fantastic for seafood. I had thought these places had died out but no.!! Great brilliant service, fantastic fish, is a place been using for months now and always great fish. And just found out that they deliver as well even if you 60 miles away. How good is that. And long may it continue.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank carpet542016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016

I have bought fish at this shop before but was really surprised at the quality and range available this time. It is not a restaurant and they certainly don't sell battered fish and chips but it is a wonderful experience to view their daily catch laid out on ice tables before you. We bought 4 fillets of sea bass, a whole sea bream, 2 large plaice, 1/2 kg of scallops plus a handful of samphire and 2 large fillets of smoked mackerel for the total cost of £54. I lightly boiled the samphire and fried the scallops in hot butter for just two minutes each side and served with lemon wedges and brown bread. Absolutely fantastic flavours and quality of seafood. This would have been at least £25pp in any decent restaurant. Looking forward to the whole sea bream tonight which I will bake in the oven with parsley, butter and lemon to eat with new potatoes plus fresh broccoli. Definitely will be returning to Rye for the Rye Bay Fish shop run by Shane and Terry Haddon.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

This small shop is an oasis of fine fresh fish. Very reasonable prices and more than friendly service and advice. Busy when the fresh fish comes in so go early.

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank John-Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2016

This is the freshest fish you'll find anywhere, straight from the day boats. No guarantee what will be available as it depends on the previous night's catch - plaice, Dover and lemon sole, scallops, cod, lobster, monk fish, gurnard; pot luck! Absolutely wonderful whatever it is.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rye Bay Fish also viewed

 

Been to Rye Bay Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing