We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
US$77
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland(Stoke by Nayland)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marquis(Layham)
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Court House(Great Bromley)
US$95
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wivenhoe House(Wivenhoe)
US$148
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Globe Hotel(Colchester)
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
273
41
14
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
273
41
14
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool houserange roverhot tubhonesty barafternoon teashakespeare suitespa treatmentslog fireshelley roomsconesgarden roomon arrivalbirthday treatlounge areaoutdoor poolglass of champagnerelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 342 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2018 via mobile

Brilliant hotel.
Helpful lovely staff.
Great Atmosphere.

An upmarket hotel with a down to earth atmosphere.

Really nice outdoor heated pool and wonderful food.

Bangers and mash was the best I have ever had.

We will return!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank DeborahandJip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2018

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Maison Talbooth. What a superb set-up these guys have created.

The grounds as you pull in are wonderful, the hotel is set off a very quiet country road with great views of the dedham vale. As we walked up to the doors, we were greeted by one of the very attentive staff who opened the door and checked us in.

We stayed in the room 'Shelly'. Wonderful room, again, great views situated on the 1st floor in the corner of the house. Large bathroom with freestanding bath and large rainforest type shower. The rooms all have full sky TV and well stocked mini bar so nice place to relax for a few hours when you are away without the kids.

We spent our afternoons in the pool house sitting outside by the large log fire. My wife enjoyed the jacuzzi which the staff promptly opened when we indicated we were heading down there. In the pool house they operate a self-service honesty bar which works really well and saves you waiting around for drinks from the main house, well stocked and everything you need. My wife used the spa and had a hot stone massage which she thoroughly enjoyed.

We dined at both the talbooth and milsoms. Enjoyed both meals very much. Talbooth being the far more formal option and milsoms is far more relaxed. Extensive wine lists so plenty of options to indulge in. The hotel actually also operates a courtesy car service to and from their local restaraunts which is another great touch that makes getting to and from effortless.

In summary, we will certainly be returning to Maison Talbooth. The staff cannot do enough for you and the set-up is fantastic. I would highly recommend booking a stay here and taking advantage of the beautiful grounds and facilities the hotel have to offer!

Thanks v much guys!
Jack and Laura.

Room Tip: get a room at the front corner of the house.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jackstroud1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely stunning hotel, very expensive but ok for a special treat lots of offers regularly, which makes it more affordable, we stayed in Brooke Room which is super lux, except it smelt a little damp, the bathroom was spacious with a gorgeous free standing bath! They left a bottle of champagne as a birthday treat in the room which topped our night off! We slept ok but the walls seemed paper thin, we could hear everything going on in the room above and propel walking back and forth to the spa rooms which were next door in the corridor! (That’s the only let down!) breakfast was delicious and the staff very welcoming and friendly, going back very soon!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank J5196MJsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2018 via mobile

I needed somewhere in the area to spend the day with my laptop, working and thinking. Maison Talbooth proved to be a great find. A late breakfast when I arrived, great coffee (not everyone can make a good flat white!) through the morning and a light lunch. All in a lovely drawing room off the lobby. Perfect! Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2018

Lovely hotel with nice, helpful staff. Beautiful surroundings and great amenities. The pool house is great. We had a lovely afternoon tea and and all round great time. Would definitely recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzWilly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews