We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, happy people!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coach and Horses
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Great service, Sarah was such a friendly and caring person, which makes a big difference to your stay.
The room was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed: comfy bed, hot shower, kettle and tea what more dkes one need?
We were able to park right outside our door which was really handy.
So close to the main village, took me minutes in the car, petrol station, shops and take aways near by in the village.
You could walk as there is a footpath, just be sensible and take a torch if you walk in the dark, as there is a small portion of the path that is not lit.
Food was lovely, we enjoyed breakfast in the mornings; one morning when we were late and missed breakfast, Sarah generously brought toast and fresh tea to our door!
Locals and tourists visit the pub but we didn't hear them from our room.
I liked the friendly and relaxed atmosphere and closeness to locations, I wish them all the best in the future and would use this place again on future visits.
Thank you so much for looking after us!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor willbe able to hear the upper floorwalking around, if you are a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bir089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Briony,
It was an absolute pleasure looking after yourself and your Mum.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you have sorted your house out now.
Jimmy says "Hi" :-)
Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

My wife and i had a meal at the coach and horses on 16th April. We had a table booked for 7:30. When we arrived we were greated by a very helpful waiter who showed us to our table. He couldn't have done enough for us, so polite and very helpful..i managed to get exactly what i wanted and both of us were very happy with the food... highly recommeded.. thank you for a great night.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank alan_pearce10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Alan,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience here and hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

I spent a lovely afternoon and evening at the Coach and Horses. You are welcome to park up, as I did in your motor home or campervan so long as you are eating/ drinking at the pub.
I could not have hoped for a warmer welcome. The food and wine was excellent and reasonably priced. There is a well appointed dining area but the main pub still has the relaxed feel of a local. There is also a lovely garden with plenty of seating. Highly recommended

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
4  Thank Orangedog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Have stayed at the coach & horses.very friendly and helpful staff . Great choice of food and drinks ,and very clean. Lovely garden to sit out in the summer .. New owners who are very welcoming.. will be returning soon .
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Mo,
Thank you for your lovely review. It was so lovely seeing you both again and thank you for Jimmys egg :-)
Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at The Coach & Horses in our camper early March, we messaged Sarah & asked if there was room.
As long as you have a meal parking over night was free.
We had 2 Border Terriers & a Mini Dax with us which were allowed in the bar area but not in the restaurant.
Lovely stay & will return.
Thanks, Phil, Tilly
Ellie, Oscar & Daisy x

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Nuttydec12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Phil, Tilly, Ellie, Oscar and Daisy,
We look forward to welcoming you back here :-)
Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Have just spent a few nights here - the staff are so helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The highlight for me was the food (why isn't this establishment listed in Restaurants?). The chef Ade is passionate about freshly prepared food - so far I've enjoyed, salmon (twice!) and as a splurge their hamburger. Last Friday was a special event with Prosecco and a tasting platter of dishes from the menu.

Think my favourite was the scallop on black pudding & mushy peas, or was it the duck breast on red cabbage & dauphinois potatoes, or maybe that yummy prawn, pineapple, Ginger & chilli morsel - HELP - I'm a Libran just can't decide, all I can say is WOW!

Great place for a short break - easy walking distance to the pretty villages of Bourton-on-the-Water and the Slaughters - much easier than trying to find parking in any of these villages.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
5  Thank Highlanddrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely positive review :-)
We take a lot of pride in what we do and love what we do... Reviews like this make it all the more worth while.
Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We booked for 1 night we had a standard double room, we arrived, Room was okay not perfect ( see photos ) Bar/Restaurant staff were friendly Restaurant evening meals were delicious that was it everything else was poor, Bacon and Toast was cold for Breakfast limited cereal offer just yogurts no pastries or bread rolls etc, Had no shower in room, was told maintenance was not on site so would not fix shower this was at 8.30am and was told he would be here maybe in an hour, check out was 10 am so not really enough time we left by 9.30. Please see photos as this was our Room.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Jacqui,
Thank you for your review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your evening meal with us but sorry to hear you were disappointed with the room.
Unfortunately at 8.30am we would not of been able to get a handyman in for at least an hour we would of allowed you to extend your stay but you said that you had both had a bath so didn't feel that was necessary.
We are currently in the process of renovating all rooms, getting them repainted and sorting out the bathrooms. Having only been here since February we have done the other 4 rooms but now renovating the room you stayed in.
I do hope you will come and visit us again, by all accounts it was just the room you didn't like, maybe you could come and stay again once it has been renovated or stop in another room if you wish.
Either way you will be made to feel more than welcome.
Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
1 km away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
565 reviews
0.8 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,357 reviews
4.6 km away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Mousetrap Inn
The Mousetrap Inn
#6 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
356 reviews
0.9 km away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
285 reviews
1.1 km away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#10 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach and Horses

Address: Stow Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $105 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach and Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach and Horses Inn is a superb 400 year old family orientated coaching house set in the heart of the Cotswolds, in the very beautiful picturesque village of Bourton-on-the-Water. Redecorated in 2014, and further improvements made in 2016, look forward to seeing you through 2016 Kind Regards Coach & Horses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coach and Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach And Horses Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing