We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Coach and Horses
Nearby Hotels
Old Manse Hotel(Bourton-on-the-Water)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red House East B&B(Bourton-on-the-Water)(Great Value!)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broadlands Guest House(Bourton-on-the-Water)(Great Value!)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chester House Hotel(Bourton-on-the-Water)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Duke of Wellington(Bourton-on-the-Water)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mousetrap Inn(Bourton-on-the-Water)(Great Value!)
US$69
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$250/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$237
US$211
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$312/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lords of the Manor Hotel(The Slaughters)
US$461
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa(Stow-on-the-Wold)
US$148
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
102
62
31
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
62
31
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubconverted barnfaggotsbaked camemberta busy main roadroad noisefull englishnew ownersbeer gardenpowerful showercar parksunday lunchcreaky floorboardsfish and chipsthe ground floorvisit bourtonselection of cereals
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 224 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

I stopped here when passing by as I had never been in and fancied a good pint and simple pub food. Both I got and we’re good. Nice layout, and I recommend the pub part, I can’t comment on the accommodation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank GreatFind_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2018

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your pint and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

I made a late booking over the phone to stay at this pub; during the call there was no mention of a cancellation policy. Unfortunately, I had to cancel 2 days later due to a family member having an accident. I rang the pub on 5 occasions, speaking to 3 different people, before I managed to speak to the lady who had taken the initial booking. I had been told I had to give 3 days' notice and then 7 days' notice so even the staff didn't know what the cancellation policy was. Neither notice period was possible as my dates to stay were within 3 days of the original booking so it's a pity I wasn't fully advised when I first rang. I was very surprised and angry to be told I would be charged the full booking fee despite giving as much notice as I could in the unavoidable circumstances.I appreciate they have a business to run but I did not think it was fair for the full payment to be taken; how can it be right to charge for a breakfast that wasn't provided for example? There was no sympathy for my situation and no attempt at a resolution acceptable to both of us. Overall a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2018

Firstly I would like to mention that originally you had booked with Booking.com which have all of our terms and conditions on their website. When you called myself you asked if I could do a better deal for you which I did.
Our cancellation policy has always been 7 days that has never changed.
I accept that you weren't happy that you were still charged, however this rule is in place to protect the business and you even accept this.
You attempted to cancel your booking with 1 days notice which is why we took payment. When I spoke to you you were very angry and shouting, I feel there could of been no resolution made, especially as you were already saying you were going to put this review on tripadvisor. However I would like to point out, on numerous occasions where there have been cancellations and even people having to go home due to sickness or deaths in the family I have always let the guest know I will rebook them free of charge, we have also agreed that if we can resell the room then we would give a refund, this simply was not possible with yourself as there was no reasoning and as I said on the telephone to you I will not be shouted at down the phone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017

This hotel is a gem. Free parking in their grounds and about a 30 min walk from the main town within Bourton on the Water. There is a bus, if you are lucky to see it! We stayed here on the night of the 9th October. We had a lovely welcome on our arrival, nice clean room and the bed was really comfy. Shower was really good too. This hotel is perfect if you are wanting to visit Bourton on the Water and you need to park your vehicle free of charge. Parking in Bourton on the Water doesn't really exist and if it does it will cost you. The price of the hotel was good too. The only downfall is, if there is someone staying above you, you will hear every foot step from above. We had a ground floor room and we heard footsteps from the guests above us, even when they got up to go to the toilet in the night. Luckily they were weren't that bad. The cooked breakfast was lovely, but the portion size was really small. Otherwise a lovely B&B, would recommend.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Cath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2018

Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as a halfway house to visit our family.
On entering our room we were pleased. Then went into the bathroom to reveal the following. Very dirty skirting boards and terribly mouldy ceiling which had been highlighted previously by other guests and still not addressed.
It is a shame because everything else was good.
Quality furniture in the bedroom and a delicious and well cooked and presented breakfast.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank woodie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2018

Thank you for your review. We have since been renovating the rooms as I'm sure you can appreciate we are an exceptionally busy Inn. I do hope you will come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

Visited as a family a few days ago. Compared with other places nearby we found the food to be average and the service to be below par. Menu is pretty basic, cutlery was old and shabby which was equally disappointing.





Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Bhavin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2018

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews