We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Coach and Horses
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We arrived for lunch and found the bar area fairly quiet and a little cold. Sadly there were no real ales available. Five of the items from the fairly limited menu were unavailable and then a sixth that I chose was then no longer available either. The food was served fairly slowly however when it arrived it was pretty good.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I do apologise the time when you visited we must of been in the process of changing our local ale Prescott. The following day from when you visited we launched our new Menu so I do apologise for the lack of stock. I am very pleased to read however that you did enjoy your food once you received it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We booked a table for sunday 3 December. Although i was looking forward to their hamburger i had to have the chicken burger instead but it was just a nice. Very nice staff.. and outstanding service from the young lady who served us..highly recommended and will be booking next year on our next visit.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank alan_pearce10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your Chicken Burger as your 1st choice wasn't available at the time... We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Stayed at Coach and Horses on 1st December 2017 - Bedroom very large and cold, the bed very uncomfortable, duvet too small for the size of bed, pillows hard, bathroom en suite in need of updating, dirty round floor area. Breakfast was only just warm toast could have been cooked a bit longer - We paid £120.00p for the privilage - we should not have paid more than £60.00p. We would not recommend staying there.

Room Tip: There were only four rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I can only apologise that you found your room to be cold. Our King Rooms which you stayed in usually receive compliments with regards to the bed, comfort etc.. We are in the process of renovating our rooms at the moment. I only wish you would of notified myself of your unhappiness when you were checking out as I did ask as I do with everyone if you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

We wanted to visit Bourton and stayed here for 1 night. We had a lovely time and would definitely stay again. The room was spacious and quiet and perfect for us as we could also take our 2 dogs. The pub was also great - we had lunch there and it was very good.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DRmerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights and found it a very charming cosy B&B. It is very close to Bourton on the Water situated on the main road. Plenty of space for parking and the room we stayed in was comfortable and clean. It was a nice touch to have bottled water as well as a range of teas, coffees and hot chocolate to choose from in the room. The rooms are separated from the main Inn, but only a few yards to walk across the car park. Breakfast was very good and well presented. Choice of cereal, yogurts, fruit and juice accompanied by a full English. We received a warm welcome on our arrival and made to feel at home by Sarah (The Proprietor).

Room Tip: For a quieter room choose one above as you can hear guests moving around being in a lower ground roo...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We do hope you will visit us again if you are in the area. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

I stopped here when passing by as I had never been in and fancied a good pint and simple pub food. Both I got and we’re good. Nice layout, and I recommend the pub part, I can’t comment on the accommodation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank GreatFind_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your pint and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

I made a late booking over the phone to stay at this pub; during the call there was no mention of a cancellation policy. Unfortunately, I had to cancel 2 days later due to a family member having an accident. I rang the pub on 5 occasions, speaking to 3 different people, before I managed to speak to the lady who had taken the initial booking. I had been told I had to give 3 days' notice and then 7 days' notice so even the staff didn't know what the cancellation policy was. Neither notice period was possible as my dates to stay were within 3 days of the original booking so it's a pity I wasn't fully advised when I first rang. I was very surprised and angry to be told I would be charged the full booking fee despite giving as much notice as I could in the unavoidable circumstances.I appreciate they have a business to run but I did not think it was fair for the full payment to be taken; how can it be right to charge for a breakfast that wasn't provided for example? There was no sympathy for my situation and no attempt at a resolution acceptable to both of us. Overall a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Firstly I would like to mention that originally you had booked with Booking.com which have all of our terms and conditions on their website. When you called myself you asked if I could do a better deal for you which I did.
Our cancellation policy has always been 7 days that has never changed.
I accept that you weren't happy that you were still charged, however this rule is in place to protect the business and you even accept this.
You attempted to cancel your booking with 1 days notice which is why we took payment. When I spoke to you you were very angry and shouting, I feel there could of been no resolution made, especially as you were already saying you were going to put this review on tripadvisor. However I would like to point out, on numerous occasions where there have been cancellations and even people having to go home due to sickness or deaths in the family I have always let the guest know I will rebook them free of charge, we have also agreed that if we can resell the room then we would give a refund, this simply was not possible with yourself as there was no reasoning and as I said on the telephone to you I will not be shouted at down the phone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
1 km away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
564 reviews
0.8 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,355 reviews
4.6 km away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Mousetrap Inn
The Mousetrap Inn
#6 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
355 reviews
0.9 km away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
285 reviews
1.3 km away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach and Horses

Address: Stow Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $102 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach and Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach and Horses Inn is a superb 400 year old family orientated coaching house set in the heart of the Cotswolds, in the very beautiful picturesque village of Bourton-on-the-Water. Redecorated in 2014, and further improvements made in 2016, look forward to seeing you through 2016 Kind Regards Coach & Horses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coach and Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach And Horses Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing