We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location,property, comfort and owners effort...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
175 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 175 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
howden_11
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location,property, comfort and owners effort .Outstanding”
Reviewed December 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Bourton many times in the past. We must say the effort the owners made were exceptional.Lovely touches that made you welcome ie Christmas tree, red roses, bottle of wine and bread and many other treats. The cottage was very warm and comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay.Thank you Hilary and Alistair for making our stay most enjoyable. Now if anyone disbilieves what I have said please go and stay there you will not be disappointed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: condition and convenient location
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2014
Thank you for this glowing review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip B
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage in the perfect location”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Some friends and I stayed for the weekend when we were attending a wedding in the Cotswolds. The cottage is in the perfect location, very central but just of the main street so the added benefit of being quiet. The cottage itself was great and all the little things had been thought of. Tea, coffee bread and wine were all already in the kitchen, umbrellas to use, fast wi-fi etc etc. Would highly recommend staying here to anyone wanting to visit the Cotswolds

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review of your stay at Lavender Cottage. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the various taxis that I booked for the wedding weekend all turned up on time! We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannahjac...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect place for a Autumn weekend break”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My wife and I booked this cottage for a short break in October and had a fantastic few days. The cottage is perfectly located, just a two minute walk from the wonderful shops, tearooms and pubs- but off the beaten track so it is very private.
We were joined by my daughter and her husband for the weekend and there was plenty of room for us all.
The owner has gone to a lot of trouble to add the little extras that make a stay that bit more special and I would stay again without question.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so cosy - and the location
Liked least: parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Thank you for posting this review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed coming back to the village and found the relaxing break you were looking for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillRook
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Myself and partner stayed at this lovely cottage in October. The cottage was immaculate, cosy and comfortable to stay in.

The surrounding area was beautiful and there was plenty to do including walks, cycles, shopping and day trips to neighbouring cities. We would both stay here again at a drop of a hat and are planning a return trip in the new year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
Thank you for posting this review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your weekend at Lavender Cottage and it's perfect location for local trips. You mentioned that this would be a good place for pet owners but, whilst the area is perfect for walking, I'm afraid that Lavender Cottage does not accept dogs. We'll look forward to welcoming you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to the Cotswolds and I appreciate your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again when you have time for more walking & relaxation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kathy P
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Perfect place to base a tour of the Cotswolds.”
Reviewed October 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is an extremely well kept cottage that is full of character and charm. It is clean and tastefully decorated, and includes all of the amenities, such as a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, etc. The owners really go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable and provide a nice selection of products in their welcome package. We really felt as if this were a home away from home, and many good restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance. Strongly recommend this property, and the location is first rate as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charm, comfort, and character
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
We're pleased that you enjoyed your trip to this beautiful part of England and that you appreciated the amenities at Lavender Cottage. Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEM2178
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, well equipped cottage”
Reviewed October 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay with our American friends.
Loved the cottage, everything we needed was provided including plenty of food.
Location was also great - the cottage was quiet but a very easy and short walk to the centre of Bourton + we were able to park easily outside.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We're pleased that you all enjoyed your stay & the ideal location of the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing