We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday in great holiday cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
159 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 159 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Clare H
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic holiday in great holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a fantastic holiday in Bourton-on-the-Water. Lavender Cottage was perfectly situated right in the centre, so we were able to walk out of the door and were right in among the shops, cafes and attractions. The holiday cottage welcome parcel was fantastic. There were food items supplied in the cupboard and fridge as well as some Easter treats! The cottage was very well equipped with good quality furniture and furnishings and everything was tidy, smart and well organised. We stayed with two young children and enjoyed visiting many local attractions (motor museum, Birdland, model village, Cotswold Farm Park, Crocodile Zoo, model railway exhibition). We have stayed in Bourton-on-the-Water on four previous occasions. This was our favourite cottage so far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you for this glowing review. I'm pleased that you all enjoyed returning to the area & visiting your favourite attractions. I'm sure that Bourton-on-the-Water will be a favourite with your children for many more years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in lovely location”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed in March/April 2015 for a week.
Lavender Cottage is a beautiful little cottage which has been modernised in a very tasteful and cosy way. Very attractive inside, warm and with a lovely kitchen/dining area. The cottage has just been cleaned by Hilary herself and she stayed to greet us when we arrived, which was helpful and very hospitable! So many little extras have been thought of by Hilary .... from the bottle of wine in the fridge and the Waitrose jams to the teas, coffee, salt and pepper, shower gel, washing-up gloves, etc. etc .... even a jar of marmite! It certainly made the trip even easier with a lot less to buy locally. Hilary is so friendly and helpful and that made a big difference.

The location is unbeatable .... just a few steps from the front door and you are on the River Windrush in the middle of Bourton with all its tea shops, gift shops, etc. A large Coop is just a 5 minute walk away and there is a big Londis as well which is even nearer. As well as the many restaurants in Bourton there is a Chinese and a chippy within a minute of the cottage so no need to go very far at all!

Would really recommend the cottage and my teenagers loved it too..... give them wireless and they are really happy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I feel that I should apologise for the dreadful weather you had all week, but I'm glad it didn't spoil your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Apr 2015
I'm pleased that you both enjoyed your stay, and that the answer was YES. We'll look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your anniversaries!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Mar 2015
I'm pleased that the cottage & the village gave you the relaxing break you were looking for. We hope to welcome you for a longer stay in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laura G
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I and our one year old daughter have just returned from our 3 night stay at Lavender cottage. Hilary's service was 100% from booking to departure. The information provided prior to arrival was most helpful and the efforts made to accommodate our baby was over and above our expectations. The cottage itself is beautifully kept and extremely clean. Everything you may need is available and of excellent quality. The thoughtful touches of stocking the fridge and cupboards with essentials really is most appreciated after what may be a long journey. The location of the cottage couldn't be better. A stones throw from the stream, local attractions, restaurants and tea rooms meant we needed not use our car! We cannot recommend lavender cottage enough and look forward to booking again to stay as soon as possible. Thankyou Hilary and Alistair!! xxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2015
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the amenities at Lavender Cottage, and it's proximity to all that the village has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, very clean and accommodating owners”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Had a great stay, Hilary was very kind to provide baby equipment for stay.

The location was very central to the small town and great for exploring the Cotswolds.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our young guest was happy with the new baby equipment that we've added to Lavender Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandasz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cottage great location thank you for the welcome pack and fantastic service.”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage is filled with small touches to enhance your stay.
Lovely quiet safe position close to bourtons attractions. Clean and very comfortable. Birthday card and present left for us. Thank you so much.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. I'm pleased that you all enjoyed the birthday break at Lavender Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$143
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing