We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place with the 'Personal Touch'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Stayed for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding locally. Lovely building with spotless rooms. Great nights sleep even though it is next to a busy roundabout and we had our window open. Breakfast very nice with a choice of freshly cooked food, even the fruit and yoghurt was lovely. Have already booked our next visit in December. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Stayed in the rooms with shared bathroom(on the floor below) bathroom spotless and free every time w...
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 995jackiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamelagay, Owner at White Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Thank you for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for White Lodge Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2016

We stayed with Pam and Dick for one night. White Lodge is very convenient for the M5 and the town centre. Beautiful garden views from dining room. It is on a busy road, but this became quieter as the night progressed. The room, although compact, was very well equipped and it would be possible to have a take-away as plates and cutlery were provided. Free wifi. There was also a fridge with fresh milk. The place was spotlessly clean and there was good choice for breakfast. Was in two minds about booking, given some of the reviews, but treat someone with respect and a smile and you get the same back!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MoragK53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamelagay, Owner at White Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

It's nice to get a good response, they more than out way the bad reviews. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

We stayed here on Saurday 21st May 2016. We booked the hotel through Booking.com. We searched for a hotel / bed and breakfast that was dog friendly. This bed and breakfast came up, we often stay at the travelodge because we know they allow pets. We have a small friendly very well trained Staffie.

We arrived on the Saturday afternoon and while my other half was parking the car, I took our dog to the front door. I later learnt that while the other half was parking the car, he spoke to the man who co-owned the bed and breakfast. He intimated that we might have to melt the frost of his wife as she was not aware that we were bringing a dog.

After a four hour journey I was not treated at the door! The woman was nasty and rude. She told me we hadn't requested to bring a dog. I said that it clearly stated on the website 'pets welcome'. The rudeness continued and I said 'it's OK, we will go over the road and stay at the travelodge, she said 'you can't, you have to pay for the room here' I then said, I'm more than happy to pay for both. I was then directed to a clean and well appointed room.

I felt as though I'd committed a cardinal sin. I took the dog out of the room and took her to stay with a friend in Cheltenham. In over 35 years of staying all over the world, I have never been made to feel so unwelcome. We returned late in the evening and decided not to have the inclusive breakfast. I informed the woman that in the end the dog didn't stay, We were charged extra for having the dog anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David c C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamelagay, Owner at White Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

I think this gentleman has used rather unfortunate and harsh words in certain areas of his complaining. Yes pets are welcome but only in certain rooms, that is why I need to know that guests are bringing a pet. I have been in the B&B business for 34 years and as far as I can remember I have never been rude to anyone ( to their face) It's the same old story if someone has had a long and tiring journey we are the first to feel the brunt. It happens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Stayed for a night at the weekend as at a function at the nearby (walking distance) Manor by the Lake. Pamela was helpful in advance communication regarding including our 6 year old son in the room arrangements, and our time of arrival. Room (number 1) was clean, nicely decorated, well appointed (tea/coffee with fresh milk, and toiletries), and although it is not a power shower, there was plenty of hot water. No noise from the road outside.
Breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Natasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamelagay, Owner at White Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016
Google Translation

Glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

Don't waste your time. Having paid £70 for a room, I regret not using the TravelLodge across the road. The room was very dated and i struggled to find a plug socket to charge my phone. The bed was very small. Being 6'3" I had to sleep diagonally to fit in it. The wife was unimpressed.

I was shocked to find that they so serving breakfast at 0915 on Sunday morning. This is un-Christian. Further yet, when serving breakfast the owner was very miserable and made us feel like we were a burden. What happened to service with a smile?

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamelagay, Owner at White Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Well hello Sami, thank you for your response.
If you had used the Travelodge you would have paid more than £70 plus the cost of breakfast plus the cost of parking plus the cost of wifi. All people look at decoration in a different way, this was my choice, as for sockets, there are double sockets behind both bedside cabinets, a double one by the coffee table and the one you used had the TV and fridge plugged into it, again another double, 8 socket outlets!!! Bed is a normal 4'6" sorry there was nothing I could do about that. There was a party of 5 people for breakfast, 1 other couple collected the keys for your 3 rooms, apparently you were told breakfast was served until 09.30, whereas actual breakfast times are 07.30 until 09.00. One of your party got up at 09.15 and I explained about the timings and asked him to be quick as the kitchen was closing. Breakfast was still made available for all of you. 6 other guests did not have a problem with the times. I am not known to be miserable, I was just concentrating on getting 5 cooked breakfasts on the table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

What a lovely find! Stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting the area. The room was beautifully furnished an d very clean. Good choice at breakfast in the beautiful dining room overlooking the garden. What made it even better was the fact we could have our dogs in the room with us. The owners are lovely and very helpful. We will definitely return!

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank Kirstysnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamelagay, Owner at White Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you for your response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Took ages to find because of satnav giving old info should of been updated by now realistically. Room was small and compact. Smelt very fusty thankfully after the fan had been put on for a few hours it faded until we left for something to eat then was there when returned. Loved the fan and fridge in the room. Bathroom and Shower room was very small no room to turn round and im not a big person. Cobwebs were all over in the room so ended up removing them rather than them fall on you while you in bed. The mattress was awful. Ended up laying on the duvet because you could feel every spring and im not a heavy person. Parking is rather compact and tight. Breakfast was rushed. As soon as you finish plate is removed and daren't ask for extra as the family on next table asked for extra the owner wasn't impressed. hasten to add when we left we had something to eat elsewhere as no alternatives were offered if something on the breakfast you didn't like or allergic to so plate was really empty so not good value for money. Didn't get a receipt for paying cash which was strange as other places you always get a receipt.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kjcoop1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamelagay, Owner at White Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2015

Not worth trying to write a response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.2 km away
Travelodge Cheltenham
Travelodge Cheltenham
#17 of 23 in Cheltenham
495 reviews
1.4 km away
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
#1 of 1 in Staverton
494 reviews
0.3 km away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Bentons Guest House
Bentons Guest House
#23 of 68 in Cheltenham
58 reviews
3.6 km away
Alice Guest House
Alice Guest House
#38 of 68 in Cheltenham
66 reviews
5.2 km away
The London Inn
The London Inn
#3 of 6 in Charlton Kings
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: White Lodge Hatherley Lane, Cheltenham GL51 6SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: $93 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Lodge is located less than a mile from J11 of M5, less than 2 miles from the center of town. The park and ride is close by. It's a comfy cosy home with character and a large garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing