We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis with a super location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lypiatt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lypiatt House
Ranked #25 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An oasis with a super location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We've stayed here three times now, when visiting the October Literary Festival (which is superb), and the Lypiatt is just-right walking distance from the epicenter of the festivities. It is likewise convenient to an array of good restaurants. The rooms are beautifully maintained and decorated; and while the upper rooms are a bit smaller, they have enticing views of this small, charming city, and are worth the stair climb (as well as being a tad cheaper), if you are physically fit. The breakfasts are excellent - the cold fruits and cereal buffet as well as the hot breakfast. I generally order the same thing because it is cooked so well all four days of the stay. Robert is a charming host who keeps chipper and personal in spite of the constant tug of responsibilities. A long-time member of the staff, Tess, amiably and ably backs up Robert. As an American visitor to the Literary Festival, I'm always overwhelmed by the quality of the 10 days of innumerable events, and the Lypiatt is just the right place to retreat to, where (by now) everyone knows my name.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CavalierKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    52
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
22
89
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
383 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

My husband and I spent one night at Lypiatt House so that we could visit Chamignon Sauvage for dinner, so the location was ideal. We paid £130 per night for a king-size room and were allocated The Painswick room on the first floor.

Upon arrival at this lovely property we received a warm welcome from Robert and were given the information we needed about the lounge, breakfast, and how to find Champignon Sauvage. Just two minor omission - not offering assistance with lugage and not actualy showing us to the room.

The Painswick room is on the first floor and is tastefully decorated with a very comfortable king-sized bed. The room itself and the bathroom were both a reasonable size and were clearly recently refurbished as everything looked spanking new. We liked the fact that the Wifi code was provided on the desk and Maldon water was provided.

The main downside of this room, however, is that there is no shower! And we were not advised of this prior to arrival so were really disappointed about that. I agree with Pausanias's review that the hand-shower in this room is far too sort and we also couldn't make it work properly - I think there's something wrong with the diverter tap.

The other downside is the sound from the electricity sub-station across the road which sounds a bit like someone has a hoover on constantly in the distance, which can be quite annoying.

We thought breakfast was nicely done with moderate portions but a sufficient choice. We found service at breakfast to be charming - Robert remembered that we'd been to Champignon Sauvage the previous evening - and professional.

Overall this was a good stay and we would return, but we'd check that we would be allocated a room with a shower.

Room Tip: Ask if there will be a shower in the room, if you want one. Ask for a room on the first floor if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyPurples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomansland,salisbury
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We have just stayed at Lypiatt House whilst in Cheltenham for the races.
The first impressions are one of a grand home, delightfully furnished and very comfortable.
We were allowed to leave our car in the car park (which is free) when we arrived early to go to the races and got a taxi there on the 1st day and walked the next....took about 45minutes but quite a pleasant walk.
on return we were pleasantly surprised by our room..very nicely furnished, well appointed bathroom and most of all probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in apart from my own!!
The breakfast was lovely and cooked to order so was piping hot. There was a lovely range of fresh fruit, yogurts and cereals to start. My only slight jiggle was that breakfast was only served til 9.30 and both mornings we were last down at 9am...this said it certainly was worth getting up for.
Although the hotel was full when we stayed as the races were on we weren't disturbed by the other guests at all.
There is a trust bar off the lounge and although we didn't use it ourselves it's a nice touch and was reasonably priced.
Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: There are quite a few stairs and we were lucky enough to get a 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Once again it is difficult for a B&B of this size to offer an intimate experience .Frequently they are under resourced and if the proprietors have been at the reins for too many years they are tired.
Had I read the other reviews on TA I would have chosen elsewhere to stay - what a mixed bag they are!Certainly no owner-written ones here!There are obvious messages sent but not received and just when you think things are getting better they dip again.
Lypiatt House seemed an obvious choice as we read their advert in the Visit Britain book.It is not cheap by UK standards but we have experienced better...hence the 4 star rating - all ok but not brilliant BUT about as good as you can expect for an establishment with this many rooms.
If it was listed under Hotels there would be few complaints and it would rate far more highly than it does.For a small hotel it would be excellent even on a bad day!
The Proprietors are doing their best under difficult circumstances - which are their own - and not easily solved.We found them courteous and helpful with great shopping tips but this is a service industry and if you are highly rated by that industry then you have to maintain those standards.
I think they would be happier if they charged a little less and asked to be a 4 star from the tourism authorities - then expectations would be exceeded, occupancy would increase and the complaints would drop right off.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heritage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Proprietor unfriendly/unwelcoming and condescending. Stained bedroom carpet and inadequate clothes hanging not expected of a 5 star establishment. Even had to pay for a breakfast that the proprietor was unable to provide on the final morning. Extremely disappointed by the whole experience.

Room Tip: Ground or first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I have used this hotel many, many times with friends and also with my family. Very clean, rooms well appointed, impressive showers and bathrooms (I've mainly used the 1st floor rooms) and the lounge with fragrant lilies and honesty bar are a nice addition. Yes, a log fire would be welcome in the winter months. Rooms are carefully serviced each day. Excellent location for both Montpellier, the promenade and the city centre and within easy walking distance of many restaurants. Stunning array of fruit at breakfast and scrambled eggs very nicely cooked! On this occasion, we only saw one of the managers and the welcome was rather more subdued and the atmosphere seemed to be a little strained. (This was only my opinion, I may not be correct). However, I would continue to use this hotel. As other reviewers have noted, the weekday breakfast times are now limited to one hour and are earlier than at the weekend. it is wise not to arrive late!

Room Tip: Ground floor or 1st floor rooms are most spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenmarypowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

A bit of a strange one this! My partner and I recently stayed for 2 nights at the Lypiatt House during the Cheltenham Cricket Festival. We had read the reviews and other than 'not being late for breakfast' and possible small rooms we gave it a try. We had one of the 'cheapest' rooms at £95 per night and this was at the top of the house. The room was indeed very small and the sloping ceiling caused a few bumped heads. However the room was tastefully decorated and very clean. With being in the attic it also tended to be quite warm during the night. It was exceptionally quiet even though the house is situated on a busy junction. The breakfast I have to say was lovely! The selection of freshly prepared fruit was wonderful and the breakfast cooked beautifully. I think this is a good place to stay as long as you 'understand' the sometimes unwritten rules. We were left a note on our bedroom door on Sunday evening giving the earlier breakfast times during the week so that wasn't a problem. We asked if we could place some ice packs in their freezer and this was fine. We went back into the breakfast room to take the ice packs a little while later only to be repremanded as aparently the breakfast room is a 'no go' area once breakfast has finished. On checking out we asked if we could leave our car in the car park as we were staying in Cheltenham for the day and this was fine. However on our return at 6pm we were given a severe talking to as our space was needed for the new arrivals (there were at least 2 available parking spaces!) This spoilt our otherwise very good weekend. I should mention at this point that the street parking around the house is free so we could easily have moved the car if we thought there was going to be a problem or indeed if we had been told we could only park there for a couple of hours it really wasn't an issue. What a shame!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.5 km away
The Wyastone
The Wyastone
#7 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.8 km away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.5 km away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#6 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hanover House
Hanover House
#5 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.8 km away
Crossways Guest House
Crossways Guest House
#13 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.4 km away
6 Suffolk Parade Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lypiatt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lypiatt House

Property: Lypiatt House
Address: Lypiatt Rd., Cheltenham GL50 2QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lypiatt House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian villa, inspired by the Regency era and set in it's own lovely gardens, Lypiatt House Hotel is a beautiful, comfortable, stylish experience for any guest who stays with us. The Lypiatt still retains it's elegant features with a modern twist. Situated in Montpellier, Cheltenham's very fashionable district and only 3 minutes walk into town where you will find fabulous restaurants, bars, wine bars and of course some of the best shopping outside London. Lypiatt House stands quietly away from the hustle and bustle so if you are looking for a relaxing few days or a break from business, you will find it at Lypiatt House. Cheltenham is a wonderful Regency Spa town with a great buzz. Lots of festivals, including the famous horse racing happen here, so always something interesting and stimulating to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lypiatt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lypiatt House Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing