We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
266
87
12
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
87
12
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews residents lounge church bells this family run hotel coach house comfortable leather town square real fire log fire four poster no lift an excellent hotel lovely grounds the main square olde worlde old world charm two nights the main hotel
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 387 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

Visited for lunch, great location sitting out on the lawn at the front of the hotel at the top of town square. Good choice of beers and had some excellent bar food. Would definitely recommend and visit again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Philly8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018

My Husband and I chose to stay at the Stow Lodge Hotel to celebrate our Anniversary and we were not disappointed. The room was spacious, comfortable and well equipped and the grounds are beautiful. We were especially touched to have been left an Anniversary card in the room which was very thoughtful. We enjoyed an evening meal at the hotel and the food and service were just first class. The menu was extensive as was the wine list and the Staff were so friendly. Although the room was situated alongside the main road the traffic noise could not be heard in the bedroom. We will most definitely return to the hotel, it is a must stay location.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018

Prime position just off the main square & perfect for exploring on foot. This is a charming & somewhat quirky hotel. We had an outdoor, upstairs double room in their stables block. Both the room & the bathroom were spotlessly clean. All extras in room provided. There was no outside noise. Dining room was well laid out & table cutlery etc. exemplary. All waiters suitably dressed & service was most precise. Breakfasts both days were superb. All staff here very pleasant & polite. Spacious car park, which was reassuring ! Do not be put off by hotels' 3 star rating, it's because they do not have jacuzzis/swimming pool etc. ! WARNING : If you want modern/contemporary accommodation this is not for you. It is OLDE WORLDE. This is most evident in their lounge which has a log fire & leather armchairs.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BigBrian_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018

We had Sunday Lunch at this hotel for the the first time a few weeks ago to celebrate a friend’s 90th Birthday, and it was very good. So today, just on the off chance we returned. Unsurprisingly the restaurant was fully booked, but a table was found in the Bar with the same menu. The same traditional Sunday Lunch was on offer - we had the lamb and beef with the usual trimmings and sauces. Excellent - though I personally would have preferred crispier Yorkshire Puddings. Heavenly desserts on offer - I recommend the Creme Caramel. We then had coffee and mints in the lounge in front of a welcome log fire, sitting on extremely comfortable sofas, which we had to drag ourselves away from to go home!! This is a family run hotel - of 50 years!! - with attentive and friendly staff, who have the right balance between being attentive but not intrusive.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

Four of us called in for lunch in the bar last Saturday and had superb meals. The Glazed grilled gammon was the best my wife and I had ever had, it just melted in your mouth. The other two meals were also excellent. Staff were polite and service good, as it always is. We then had a leisurely tea/coffee in the lounge afterwards. A very enjoyable way to spend a Saturday lunchtime.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews