We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal cottage for a relaxing break.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lilac Cottage

Rear of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of cottage
Lounge with log burner, TV/DVD/Freeview, Gigajuke hi-fi. Garden door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Rear of cottage
Lounge with log burner, TV/DVD/Freeview, Gigajuke hi-fi.
Garden door
Kitchen from stairs
Kitchen from Dining area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom towards window
Twin room
Bathroom
Patio
Front of cottage
Patio and garden from bedroom windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
cbrett290...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal cottage for a relaxing break.”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay at Lilac Cottage during one of the few weeks last summer when the weather was a bit unpredictable and not all glorious sunshine as had been the previous four weeks!!!! Lilac Cottage is in an ideal location for exploring The Cotswolds and we particularly loved Bourton-On-The-Water and The Slaughters. Our advice is to go to Bourton early before the coach parties start arriving!!

The cottage was spotlessly clean and was one of the best equipped we have stayed in. Decorated to an extremely high standard, the cottage was cosy during the rainy days but lovely and cool on the couple of sunny days we had and the beautiful garden was an added bonus on those days. The bottle of wine and cake we found on our arrival were a lovely welcoming touch.

We could easily walk into the center of Stow where we found some really lovely restaurants and tea rooms. Treebus serves an excellent breakfast and our favourite for an evening meal was The Vine Leaf. The peaceful yet convenient location of the cottage meant we had a very relaxing week and would definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and location of the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about Lilac Cottage and we will endeavour to maintain (and hopefully improve) the standard for your next visit. We're glad you were comfortable through good and bad weather - the one thing we can't arrange!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Geelong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, destination and Owner”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

I cannot say enough good things about Lilac cottage and the Owner Dianne....
We stayed at Lilac cottage for 5 nights over Christmas and could have easily stayed for twice as long.. Firstly the Cottage was perfect, we felt completely at home...
Dianne decorated the cottage with a Christmas tree and decorations which made our Christmas very special...
The lounge room is very comfortable with an open fire around a comfy sofa and chairs... We had a large dining table in the very spacious lounge room and the entire room was decorated perfectly , just how you would imagine an English cottage...

The kitchen has all the utensils needed and all very clean and in great condition...The two bedrooms are upstairs and were also decorated exactly how you would picture an English cottage...All beds were extremely comfortable and the temperature of the cottage in Winter was seriously spot on... The bathroom is upstairs and such a bonus having a bath... Stop in at one of the Lush stores beforehand and purchase some bath products...We bought ours in Oxford.
The Cottage is picture perfect from the outside and has a very large outdoor private front yard.
The town of Stow on the Wold is walking distance from the Cottage although we drove.. Dianne recommended where to Shop for groceries, where to dine , where to go for afternoon tea, day trips , markets etc ...The Porch House in Stow is a must for dinner as is the Indian restaurant and Digbeths... Our Favourite being the Porch house but would definitely try each...
We also cooked a roast in the cottage , all appliances very easy to use.... There is a manual for everything in a folder if unsure of anything.. The organisation of the cottage is impeccable
Dianne phoned us a couple of days after arriving to check that we had arrived safely and incase we had any questions... I felt like I was talking to a friend, and will be forever grateful for Diannes friendliness and help leading up to our trip
I have stayed in several apartments with booking agents and not one compare in anyway to Lilac cottage and Dianne
Thankyou Dianne for everything, you went well and truly beyond our expectations
I cannot recommend Lilac cottage highly enough, but as much as we absolutely loved the cottage and our trip to the Cotswolds, dealing with the Owner Dianne made our experience perfect
Hope to return one day

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Honestly, everything
Liked least: we Loved everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2014
Wow! What a fabulous review. Although we have received mostly positive, and many glowing, comments from our guests, it makes us feel that we are welcoming friends to our home when we receive comments such as this. It's a pleasure researching information needed with the added bonus that I feel I have done everything I can to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay for our guests. I realise you live a long way from England but we would love to welcome you again to Lilac Cottage some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowman19...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Magical”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We always try to take a holiday just before Christmas and somewhere that is in keeping with season. We have found the most comfortable and charming cottage in Stow on the Wold, it is in the best position you could think of and lacks for none of the modern day amenities but at the same time has all the traditional trappings as well. It is only a very short walk to the village centre with all the attractions you could want, fabulous pubs,shops and eateries.
It is so conveniently sited in the Cotswold's that nowhere is to far to get to.
I can thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone and will be going back again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback on Lilac Cottage, we are always glad that our guests are comfortable and happy with their choice. We stayed at the cottage ourselves mid-December (again) and the run up to Christmas is exciting anywhere, but we think it's even more special in Stow and the Cotswolds generally. Hope your stay put you in the Christmassy mood.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoffmansb...
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal Vacation Cottage”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled to England in June with another couple and had the good fortune to stay at the Lilac Cottage in Stow-On-The-Wold. This is a cozy, comfortable, delightfully decorated home with all the amenities you could hope for. It is walking distance to the picturesque town for shopping and many wonderful eating spots. We cooked breakfast in the well appointed kitchen every morning before setting out on our adventures. At night we had a glass of wine in the small but green garden. The town is centrally located to many other delightful day expeditions. We could not have asked for anything more comfortable or convenient. Cannot wait to visit this sweet home again.
Cliff and Cathi Hoffman

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and ambience of cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments on Lilac Cottage. After travelling so far, it's very important that you are comfortable when you arrive so we're very pleased we managed to provide that for you all. One of the reasons we bought Lilac Cottage was because of it's location in Stow with its easy access to so many other lovely towns, villages and attractions. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erikbse
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 for a stay in May 2013

Be warned, the word beautiful will be used repeatedly in this review. Went there with my beautiful wife, child (4yo) and parents. It was a great extended weekend despite the rain. Picturesque landscape and small towns. The cottage itself was lovely, beautiful little garden and housed us comfortably. Had all the the necessary appliances etc. Stow-on-the Wold is a charming, beautiful little town well worth a walk, nice restaurants. It is very well situated with regards to day trips to various places in the Cotswolds. Burton-on-the-water was idyllic. Definitely recommend the cottage and location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
I don't think the word "beautiful" can be used too much! Thank you for your comments and we're glad the rain didn't put a damper on your visit.
Thank you also for your recommendation of the cottage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheryljea...
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If only we could have stayed forever at the Lilac Cottage!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

My husand and I and another couple spent a wonderful week at the Lilac Cottage in Stow-on-the Wold in the Cotswolds. The cottage consisted of a sitting and dining room combination, a well equipped kitchen and a powder room on the first floor. There were two lovely bedrooms and a full bath on the second floor. The view from the windows on the second floor over the gardens and into the distance was beautiful. The garden in the back of the cottage was wonderful. The flowers and trees were in full bloom. The village of Stow is delightful. Lovely stores and many very good restaurants. The owner of the cottage, Dianne, is a pleasure to work with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage and village
Liked least: When we get really old, the stairs to the second floor could be a challenge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Wow, thank you so much for your compliment about working with me - our guests are always polite and courteous so it's always a pleasure to take them through the booking process and help with any questions and information. We try to provide a "home from home" for our guests and hope to see them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna2567
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent house in a great location”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is an excellent house with everything a family could need. It is exactly like in the photos on the website. A short stroll to the town centre. Stow is in the middle of everything you want to see. The kids didn't want to leave most mornings. The downstairs loo was a bonus. Hope to go back one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2014
So pleased your family was comfortable at Lilac Cottage and thank you for mentioning the accuracy of the photographs on the website; it's good to know when you book something that it will do "exactly what it says on the tin !" We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing