We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Staff and food very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clothiers Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stroud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Clothiers Arms
Ranked #8 of 33 Stroud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Staff and food very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed for 3 nights - the rooms were clean but the food service and ale were excellent so would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireDangerousd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    33
    17
    8
    0
See reviews for
22
32
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Yes, it is a real pub, popular and with a friendly atmosphere. The owner was very helpful in returning some items left behind at no cost to ourselves, even though it was 3 weeks before I asked for them. The only drawback was sleep disturbed by a guest coughing in the next room. It is very convenient for Stroud town centre.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffnDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
196 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Stayed for three nights whilst on a Training course. On first arriving the impression is that you will be staying in a pub by a main road and you would not get much sleep. WRONG! I really enjoyed my stay.

Rooms (at least the one I stayed in) are basic but clean, have comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities. Very spacious and freesat television. Wifi is available too at no extra cost.

We ate in the modern restaurant for our excellent breakfast, portions were very generous, but ate our evening meals in the pleasant atmoshere of the bar. Huge choice of menu and huge portions too. Staff were all very friendly and efficient also.

Value for money is good especially considering the quality of the food.

The pub itself is great, a pleasant atmosphere, a good selection of real beer and reasonable prices. It is not at all noisy and despite my window being between the pub and restaurant entrances and the beer garden I slept really well.

The hotel is only 10 mins walk from town, there is a cinema there and the park is very pleasant if you fancy a bit of peace and quiet.

All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cabbie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Met by a cheery bar maid which was pleasant after a long journey. Room was clean and had a good breakfast. But dissapointed by disinterest of owner when we returned home only to find that I had left some clothes in the wardrobe by accident. My husband phoned twice over a few days to give cleaners time to look and had the impression that the owner could not be bothered to follow this up. We would have been more than willing to pay for postage etc and are 100% sure that the clothes were left there. I feel let down and this has left a bad taste in the mouth. Now that they have had our money, the service stops. I liked that blouse and cardigan!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horsesLlanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry1304, Owner at The Clothiers Arms, responded to this review, 27 August 2010
May I firstly apologise if you feel that you have been ignored. Customer service is always important to us.
I have your clothes, ready to send to you,but unfortunately I do not have your contact details to send them too.
If you could give me a call and let me have your address I will happily return them to you asap.
I am glad that the rest of your stay was good.
Kind regards
Harry Counsell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Like the previous reviewer we were in Stroud for the Pendragon concert - the pub was very easily located from the train station - only about 10 mins walk - which was a bonus as we had travelled over on an early morning flight from Belfast.Our room was great - very comfortable bed and good bathroom. Breakfast was lovely, substantial without being too much and really set us up for exploring Stroud and its Saturday market. The pub has a restaurant which was very busy on both Friday and Saturday night - and during the day there were lots of families in for lunch - seemed popular - we didn't eat there but only because we wanted to go out and explore.the town. Staff were very helpful and friendly - thoroughly enjoyed the weekend and would go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tullhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

travelled by car to Stroud for a Pendragon concert at the subscription rooms. Found this bed and breakfast pub to be excellent for our short stay. Very comfortable and welcoming, good food, nice bar, parking, and close to town centre. Only fault was one of the beds had a lumpy mattress could do with replacing.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

We’ve stays at The Clothiers a few times now and never been disappointed, the rooms are well presented, clean and tidy, with everything you need for a pleasant stay, the restaurant is a must, the food is excellent, with fresh ingredients, and a wide menu there’s something for everyone.
The bar is cosy with friendly staff to make your stay an enjoyable one, they also have a very nice beer garden, with lovely views of the countryside and the hills beyond.
You are within walking distance to Stroud, with its excellent farmers market. It also has a good bus and train service to Gloucester and Cheltenham, which we have used.
Definitely a place to stay, don’t drive past call in

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoltonBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
0.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.4 km away
Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
5.1 km away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 km away
Viner House
Viner House
#29 of 33 in Stroud
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clothiers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clothiers Arms

Property: The Clothiers Arms
Address: 1 Bath Road, Stroud GL5 3JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Stroud
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Clothiers Arms Stroud, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing