We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect”
Bell House by Wallbridge Lock  - Three Character Apartments for get togethers with family & friends
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bell House by Wallbridge Lock  - Three Character Apartments for get togethers with family & friends
Comfy leather sofas in all apartments, comfy seating for seven or a cosy eight in Apartment One. Fully equipped kitchen, & dining for up to ten to twelve guests in the largest Apartment Bell One
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Bell House by Wallbridge Lock  - Three Character Apartments for get togethers with family & friends
Comfy leather sofas in all apartments, comfy seating for seven or a cosy eight in Apartment One.
Fully equipped kitchen, & dining for up to ten to twelve guests in the largest Apartment Bell One
Apartment Two - Unlimited fast Wi-fi, Full Sky+HD with Movies, Sports & Kids in all three Apartments
Apartment Two - second fully equipped kitchen.  Each apartment has a kitchen diner & reception room.
Apartment Four - Comfortable sofa (double sofabed for one extra guest).  View to Rodborough Common.
One of the three Guest Books - See individual advertisements for further details of each Apartment.
Apartment One - Superking Double or Twin Single beds in the Triple Room, & an extra single bed
Apartment One - Bright, spacious, comfortable, Triple Room - pocket spring quality mattresses
Bell One, Twin or Double - Accommodation for 12 guests max, in up to 10 individual beds or 5 doubles
Apartment Two - Standard Double bed.  Up to 5 Double beds plus two Singles - 5 bedrooms plus sofabed
Apartment Two - convertible Kingsize Double, or 2 ft 6 inch Twin Single beds
Apartment Four - Kingsize Double & Single.  100% white cotton linen, fluffy towels, robes & slippers
Apartment One Tiled Shower Room.  A shower or bathroom in each Apartment - complimentary toiletries.
Stroud Town Centre & Waitrose, just a short walk.  Canal & countryside walks start from the doorstep
South Cotswolds Stroud - in the centre of the Five Valleys, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty
Stroud Farmers Market, every Saturday morning - the best in the UK - Multi Award Winning!
Lockside garden shared - Bell House Guests, The Cotswolds Canals Trust, Majuba, & Upper Lock Cafe
The Cotswolds Canals Trust Visitor Centre & Upper Lock Cafe, Bell House - by Wallbridge Lock
Bell House by Wallbridge Lock - The canals are being restored as a leisure waterway - great walking!
Rodborough Common - 5 minute drive or a healthy 30 minute walk => aim for The Bear for refreshment!
Bell House viewed from the new Brewery Bridge which crosses over the canal junction.
Barrier controlled secure allocated parking for up to three cars - one space for each Apartment
Bell House was a former Coaching Inn - sitting alongside the junction of the two Cotswolds Canals.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jajemasa
Southern France
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This is probably the best place to stay in Stroud: next to the train station, 5mns away from the bus stops, with private car park and outstanding features inside. The photos are just like the reality. Spotless clean, fitted with everything you wish for, ideally located to discover the surrounding area, close to restaurants and shops, it is an ideal place for a holiday. We have just spent two weeks there and have enjoyed it thoroughly. Bath robes and sleepers awaited us when we arrived and Jane, the owner, is always ready to help if necessary. I would definitely recommend this place and we will go back there on our next stay in Stroud

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central, clean and comfortable
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia K
London
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great apartments in centre of Stroud”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Myself and a group of 12 friends recently stayed in 3 of the Bell House apartments for NYE 2013 and were very pleased with the overall quality and price of the rental. We stayed for 3 nights and could not have asked for more from our stay.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly owner who showed us in to the apartments. Each space is very well equipped with every modern amenity necessary, including dressing gowns and slippers for each guest. Kitchens are very modern with plenty of plates, cups, glasses, cutlery etc so nothing was needed. Washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets were even supplied.
Beds, linen, sofas, showers etc were all of an excellent quality/standard and considering the time of year, were very warm and comfortable. There is parking spaces behind the property which was very convenient for our trip.

The property is well-situated and very close to Stroud train station (a 5 minute walk) and close to the town center where there are shops, pubs and restaurants. There is a Tesco 15 mins walk away and a large Waitrose close by.

Overall we would not hesitate to recommend this property for a rental for a group. It was spacious, well-equipped and a fantastic location. A great spot for friends and families to visit in the countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Well-quipped and clean kitchen and bathrooms.
Liked least: The carpark fob was slightly damaged and came apart.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brissiech...
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Versatile and comfortable”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We were two families with older teens meeting for Christmas at Bell House, renting apartments 1,2 and 4. There were 10 in our party.
Apartment 1 and 2 together gave us plenty of room and felt like one space across the two upper floors of Bell house. Apartment 1 fitted us all for family meals, although it was a squeeze.
We appreciated:
Location - right on the canal, with terrific history of the area at our doorstep with the very lovely folk of the Stroud Canal association ready with maps, stories and recommendations. The cafe downstairs was excellent - good coffee and lovely home-made tarts, pies, soups and treats. Stroud is a busy market town and it was good to be just a little bit away from the chaos, but still an easy walk to everything that we wanted.
Wifi- Apartments 1 and 2 had very good wifi with Sky TV. We didn't use the wifi in apartment 4. The cafe downstairs also has free wifi.
Layout - all the apartments were nicely furnished, thoughtfully laid out and very comfortable. The building has lots of character and the apartments had a relaxed and cosy feel.
The kitchens were brilliantly set up for our family of keen cooks. We had a great array of good quality cookware, serving platters and tableware.
Beds were comfortable, linen was good quality and we appreciated Jane providing robes and slippers as well as towels and bed linen.
The bathrooms were well appointed, modern and clean though small. 1 per apartment, so there was competition for bathroom time.
We appreciated the basics left for us - shampoo and conditioner, hand wash, dishwasher tabs , fresh milk etc.
Communication - The owner was very easy to contact, she left us clear instructions before we arrived, left us a lovely Christmas tree and left very clear documentation in the apartment which was useful.
Secure parking for our two cars - stroud is busy at peak market times on the weekend, and so having parking space provided was great.

We did use the washing machines, which were new, but missed the lack of a drier. The central heating worked well but the timing was a bit confusing and it took a bit of effort to adjust. These were very minor and we would happily return to Bell House.

Stroud was a terrific base for exploring the Cotswolds - the markets are outstanding, the town is great for vintage shopping, lovely walks nearby, good pubs and restaurants and very close to the bigger towns and cotswold landmarks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertspe...
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Ideal location for winter visitors”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Flats 1 and 2 which together provided sleeping for upto 10 people - we were a party of 7 so we had plenty of space. The flats were well equipped, clean and tidy. It was an ideal location for exploring the area and it was only a short walk into the town centre with its many independant shops, cafes and restaurants. We would not consider staying here for a long or summer break because all the accommodation is at first and second floor levels and we like immediate access to outside seating - but for a short break we found it ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Number of showers and toilets
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: No bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having sky sports - it was the rugby!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
anrpalmer
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect apartment for a break in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Great apartment in the heart of Stroud. Very clean, safe, nicely decorated with more home comforts than you would expect e.g. Sky HD, secure parking, oven.

We were a party of 4 adults and two small children, looking for a weekend break in the Cotswolds. This apartment was a perfect base for us - a real home from home feel. In one direction you have Stroud centre (few pubs, restaurants etc) and in the other direction there is a canal, so it's easy to go for nice long walks.

Jane was a big help and easy to communicate with via email. She went the extra mile for us and provided toys for the children, a high chair and some safety gates!

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extra mile Jane went to make us feel comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing