We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous and tranquil”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Washbrook Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Stables (bring your own horse possible, email for more details)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Matty_G80
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and tranquil”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The family enjoyed a long weekend at the cottage and absolutely loved it. The decor was well thought out, practical and extremely comfortable. It was also very luxurious with the master bedroom containing a roll-top bath with mood lighting and each bedroom offering stunning views of the countryside. The kitchen had all the mod cons along with a full working range - so you really felt like you were living on a farm. The owners were incredibly friendly, but totally respected your privacy. We even had a lovely cat come and visit us - which was brilliant as it was the cutest cat!
Another massive bonus was the location - we were on the doorstep to many local walks, which we enjoyed on the Sunday walking all the way to a beacon on the Cotswold Way route.
We also were within walking distance to Painswick Village which meant we could pick up food and even sample some of the local food at the farmers market.
All in all pretty perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
997Heathe...
Penryn, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW - Washbrook Cottage”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous Holiday! Washbrook Cottage is beautiful, such and idyllic setting. Nicki and Nick were perfect hosts and found nothing too much trouble. The cottage itself is so well equipped it has everything. Excellently furnished to very high standard. The garden is ideal to relax after spending the days enjoying the beauty of the cotswolds. We were a party of six including two of our children and our elderly parents, something there for everyone! Even the pets welcome you on your return. Beautiful cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, setting, well equipped and welcome basket.. mint imperials!
Liked least: nothing disliked.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen0077
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Washbrook Cottage earlier this month. It was our first holiday with our newborn son and it was just perfect! From the moment we contacted the owner with an enquiry about a reservation, up until our departure, everything was completely seamless. We had imagined that the cottage would be lovely but on arrival it surpassed our expectations. The cottage itself is renovated to a very high standard and the setting is just beautiful. The owners are there if you need any advice/assistance but at the same time respect your privacy which is the perfect balance in our opinion. We will not hesitate to recommend this to family and friends and will no doubt return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage and location were beautiful
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktjackson...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb comfortable and stylish cottage in fantastic cotswolds location.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Our family stayed at Washbrook cottage soon after it was completed. It is set in a beautiful valley just a short walk from picturesque Painswick and it is surrounded by wonderful countryside to explore on foot or by car, although we were more than happy to relax in the pretty cottage garden and watch the wildlife and listen to the birdsong in such an idyllic spot. The cottage is very comfortable with lovely furnishings, super beds and all the kitchen equipment you might need; we stay in lots of rentals and this one really did have everything! Nicki and her family were very welcoming and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
We would highly recommend this cottage to relax or explore the cotswolds and we will be returning next year for another visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful, the perfect escape from London”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage is gorgeous. It sits in a beautiful valley, a ten minute walk through rolling hills to idyllic Painswick. It opens onto a pretty, spacious garden, which overlooks stables housing two horses, ducklings, chickens and cats. Inside the cottage is also lovely. It is tastefully furnished throughout and the finishes and added extras (which include a welcome pack on arrival, hair dryers, lovely linen and towels, books and DVDs) tell of the owner's taste and thoughtfulness. It is clean, spacious, airy and bright. I relaxed the moment I arrived. This is a lovely, peaceful place, which I could not recommend more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
781irisv
Ouderkerk Aan De Ijssel
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing