We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Classy cosy cottage stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Washbrook Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Stables (bring your own horse possible, email for more details)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
SGborn
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Classy cosy cottage stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were a family of 2 adults and 3 children (ages 10-15). Very impressed with the interior. It was obvious that no expense was spared. A lot of attention to detail like a welcome food pack and folder with misc details that guest would want to know. The only missing info was food delivery like Pizza, Chinese or Indian, but I think that's only because there was non in the area. Staying here will be great in the colder months as the AGA stove was always on, and the duvet were lovely and thick. Towards the end of the stay, it was about 25oC outside, and really did not need the cottage heating. We could not open the windows and doors to cool the place as their cat kept coming in (we are allergic to animals). In the end we turned the stove down as we were not doing any cooking. Otherwise I think a fan in the cottage in the summer would be helpful. Access to internet, toys and movies has been great for staying in. Great walks on our doorstep. Everyone enjoyed their stay.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your comments and we will definitely put more menus in the pack and make a fan available for future guests if needed. We have also now switched to the summer bedding (sorry!) which will make the cottage a little cooler during the beautiful British summer we are experiencing.

Very sorry that Missy's visits meant that you couldn't open the windows. She does love to visit the guests!

We very much hope you will come and visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise R
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Luxury stay in an amazing location!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a family holiday here with 5 adults. The cottage way exceeded our expectations and was easily spacious enough for us all. Every detail of the cottage has been done with love and attention and is of high quality, true luxury! It is in an amazing location within the grounds of Washbrook Farm which you are allowed to explore freely. We particularly enjoyed this. The cottage garden and farm garden are beautiful and full of wildlife. We saw green and normal woodpeckers, a nuthatch, deers, pheasants, not to mention the family pets. Lily the dog and Missy the cat were particularly friendly and even spent time with us, which we loved. The best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in and we' ve been in a lot!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcham07
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My family and I stayed at Wasbrook Cottage over the Christmas and the new year period, In fact we loved the cottage so much we extended our stay. Firstly it's located in the stunning Cotswalds so you are surrounded by some of the most beautiful countryside in England. Secondly the cottage itself is amazing. As soon as you walk into the cottage you can see that Nicky and Nick have put so much thought and love into building this place. It is extremely well appointed, I was so surprised at the amenities provided, it makes you feel like you are in your own home, not a holiday rental. It's very spacious enough room for kids to run around and for everyone to have their own space. The beds are very comfy and the kitchen has everything in it you could possibly need, I loved the Aga oven, it was fantastic to cook Christmas lunch in. It's also in a great location for drives to other parts of the Cotswalds. I would highly recommend this cottage, it was one of our most relaxing holidays ever!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lg191081
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful stay at Washbrook cottage”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My family and I spent a long weekend at the cottage celebrating a big birthday.
We all had a great time. The visiting cat, the horses, location and the cottage was perfect.
It is tastefully decorated and it was the first time we had cooked on a range.
Nicky and nick answered any questions we had and made us feel very welcome.
We enjoyed the walks around the cottage.
All in all it was the perfect stay and just what we all needed. Thank you so much and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matty_G80
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and tranquil”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The family enjoyed a long weekend at the cottage and absolutely loved it. The decor was well thought out, practical and extremely comfortable. It was also very luxurious with the master bedroom containing a roll-top bath with mood lighting and each bedroom offering stunning views of the countryside. The kitchen had all the mod cons along with a full working range - so you really felt like you were living on a farm. The owners were incredibly friendly, but totally respected your privacy. We even had a lovely cat come and visit us - which was brilliant as it was the cutest cat!
Another massive bonus was the location - we were on the doorstep to many local walks, which we enjoyed on the Sunday walking all the way to a beacon on the Cotswold Way route.
We also were within walking distance to Painswick Village which meant we could pick up food and even sample some of the local food at the farmers market.
All in all pretty perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
997Heathe...
Penryn, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW - Washbrook Cottage”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous Holiday! Washbrook Cottage is beautiful, such and idyllic setting. Nicki and Nick were perfect hosts and found nothing too much trouble. The cottage itself is so well equipped it has everything. Excellently furnished to very high standard. The garden is ideal to relax after spending the days enjoying the beauty of the cotswolds. We were a party of six including two of our children and our elderly parents, something there for everyone! Even the pets welcome you on your return. Beautiful cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, setting, well equipped and welcome basket.. mint imperials!
Liked least: nothing disliked.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen0077
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Washbrook Cottage earlier this month. It was our first holiday with our newborn son and it was just perfect! From the moment we contacted the owner with an enquiry about a reservation, up until our departure, everything was completely seamless. We had imagined that the cottage would be lovely but on arrival it surpassed our expectations. The cottage itself is renovated to a very high standard and the setting is just beautiful. The owners are there if you need any advice/assistance but at the same time respect your privacy which is the perfect balance in our opinion. We will not hesitate to recommend this to family and friends and will no doubt return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage and location were beautiful
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing