We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely, cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of COMBE COTTAGE

Exterior of cottage and drive
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of cottage and drive
Rear garden Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Exterior of cottage and drive
Rear garden
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Folded down dining table
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom2
Bedroom1
Bedroom 1
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
review571...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very small and gloomy cottage”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this cottage for 4 days. We were 4 adults and 2 small babies. Even though the description says that the cottage is suitable for 6 , there is hardly any space in the living room for 6 people. Even with 4 people the cottage felt too crowded. The second floor room had 4 beds though but two of the beds are poorely adjusted in very low attic .The folding bed and almost broken mattresses made the room very uncomfortable. Nowhere it is clearly mentioned that the gas and electricity are additional to the rent we pay. We have stayed in many cottages before in the cotswolds area much better than this for lesser money. This cottage is definetely too expensive for what it offers. And with kids this one should be avoided as the staircase is too steep especially for the second floor room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
This is a classic case of the reviewer not reading fully & taking in the content of the advert
The advert lists all room sizes in feet & inches & pictures 2 3 4 5 & 6 clearly show the size of the lounge
As can be seen from the advert the property has been visited by Trip Advisor/Holiday Lettings whose photographer took the photos They are therefore vouched for as true by the company
The second floor bedroom has 3 beds ,not four as claimed by the reviewer.Picture 10 clearly shows the position of the beds to the ceiling.However due to the size of the room the beds under the eaves can be moved out several feet if any guest wishes to do so.
The advert states in capital letters that the property has very steep stairs and that gas & electric are on pay as you go meters
The reviewer probably did not scroll the advert down to read it all.
I have now owned this property for 25 years. Many children have been guests there and not once in all those years have any parents claimed it was not safe for children
My own grandchildren both aged two have stayed there on many occasions,all it requires is a little care and attention on behalf of grown ups to make sure they are safe on the stairs.
As to the so called excessive cost it worked out at less than £20 per person per night
Also no gas or electric were bought by the reviewer they just used up all the credit on each meter& then left them with zero balances
Finally the comment that they have stayed many times in the Cotswolds does not seem to run true as no reviews have ever been posted by this person for any establishment for this area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely, cosy cottage”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at combe cottage over Christmas and loved it. We found it very clean and well equipped and the owner helpful (even left a Christmas tree for us).
The attic room was spacious and more than big enough for our three children. Downstairs was very cosy and warm in the evening. Overall a lovely old cottage with a friendly feel about it, we were sad to leave and would definitely return.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind review
We look forward to your next stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feelingGO...
Kinloss, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay Highly recommend”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This little cottage is just as described in the write ups. Its a lovely place to stay and use as a base or just to get away from it all. There is everything you could possibly need, beautiful scenery too if you choose to get out and about. The owner really looks after the place and is very helpful, his communication is the best I have come across over the years and nothing is to much trouble. On arrival everything was in place and just perfect. The locals are friendly and finding shops, takeaways and anything else you might need is so easy thanks to the information written down for you in the guest book, also as Wifi is available you can easily search for anything you may require on your own Wifi devices.
I would say that fitness is a must in this area of the country and that the traffic noise in the evening and early morning is to be expected in such a place. I will definitely be returning should the opportunity arise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An historical eye opener”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Having come from a new build house where everything is controlled by your phone, we were cautiously and enthusiastically looking forward to visiting this cottage, it did not disappoint, it ticked all the boxes i.e. history, architecturally, quaintness and location with a splattering of mod cons. The weather was with us so we were able to enjoy the patio, we were able to eat alfresco everyday. As a wonderful bonus to us Stroud Brewery was within walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's history
Liked least: steep slope to one side of the drive
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astonwood...
Llandudno
1 review
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely cosy cottage situated just outside Stroud with off road parking and rear garden for those long summer evenings. For an old cottage this is very well maintained with all the facilities one needs to self cater. Clean linen and fresh towels provided. Ideally situated for some great walks within the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby869
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I arrived at the cottage and opened the door and was horrified firstly by the smell. The cottage was dirty had broken floor tiles, dirty kitchen, toilet coming away from the wall. The cottage states that it is dog friendly, but it clearly is not with holes all in the garden where the dogs could get hurt and on to the road. When I went to put the sun umbrella up it was totally broken and falling apart. The cottage was so bad that we left and did not stay for the 3 days that we had booked.

As far as I am concerned the cottage needs to be maintained to a liveable and safe standard before it is let out to people.

Overall condition of the property Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nothing
Liked least: evrything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
The booking was made for two people only
On arrival day 4 people turned up & two dogs
The first complaint was that only one double bed was made up .Upon informaing the lady that we were only supplying what had been requested I was subjected to very aggressive verbal abuse.She then complained that the microwave & toaster were dirty,I asked her to send me a photograph to which she replied that she only has a Blackberry & they do not take pictures(totally untrue) I then offered to send my cleaner around so they could go through the house together & discuss her perceived problems & this was declined .
She then complained to Holiday Lettings & stopped payment to me.They carried out a full investigation & found her complaint unfounded & released the monies to me
As to her claim to the safety of the garden for dogs.I make no claim in my advert that the garden is fully secure,although to get out a dog would have to get through a hedge & jump down a 7ft wall .No dog has ever done this as far as I am aware
Another complaint was that the stairs were very steep .This is true & the advert clearly states this
AS to the tiled floor ,there is in total of over 250 slate tiles on the lounge & kitchen floor of which one is chipped on a step down into the kitchen.A guest dropped a glass & caused this. Again the advert states quite clearly that the floor is tiled & uneven due to the age of the cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hat_Yai_F...
Hat-Yai
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Second time: just as good as the first”
Reviewed November 8, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

As a family of four and most recently as a solo traveler, this cottage was ideal. Coming from a tropical climate, the cold is an issue for us in the UK. Fortunately the cottage has seriously good central heating, it heats the cottage up within minutes. Friendly neighbours and local shopkeepers garnish this location with perfection.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing