We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal welcoming cottage for a short break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glen Cottage

Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
Terrace Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Front of house
Terrace
Garden
Garden
View from terrace
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Living area
Dining table
Bathroom
Our local pub
Local walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tbennett2...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal welcoming cottage for a short break”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Glen Cottage has a very welcoming ambiance and is well located for a break in the southern Cotswolds. Rob, the owner, was very contactable and made us very welcome. The cottage is well placed for dog walking - on the doorstop and further afield. We particularly enjoyed Painswick Village, Painswick Rococo Garden and Painswick Beacon and Minchinhampton Common. Storm Imogen visited the week we were there but in sunny weather the terraced garden would be delightful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy wood burner
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
Absolute pleasure to have you guys Terry - come back in the summer for a BBQ on the terrace!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
559Mary
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed January 8, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

On arrival at cottage, we found it to be cosy, warm, clean & very welcoming. It was very well equipped. It is off the tourist track, but within easy reach of all main towns in the area. That evening Rob popped round to see if we had settled in, bringing with him a freshly baked loaf of bread. He had also provided us with a bottle of wine which went down very nicely! The local pub, The Ram, is a 6 or 7minute walk from Glen Cottage. There was a good choice on the menu & our meals were fresh, hot & delicious. Locals were friendly, & the surroundings very peaceful. We hope to make a return visit in the future. We would certainly recommend this peaceful retreat to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
Delighted you enjoyed Mary it was a pleasure to host you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore the Cotswolds”
Reviewed November 6, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Lovely cottage from which to explore the Cotswolds. Rob is a great host and we settled in very quickly. The garden is lovely and the peace and quiet is ideal for a relaxing break. The Ram Inn is just a short walk and well worth it! Everyone is so friendly - dogs welcome aswell. Look no further!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M
Merseyside, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tranquility at its best”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Enjoyed every second at Glen cottage. Our first stay in the Cotswolds and this was a perfect base for exploring the area. Far too much to do for just one weeks stay. Glen cottage had everything we needed for an enjoyable, relaxing stay. Hope to return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet, and views
Liked least: Road leading out of lane was uneven. But this is not a fault against the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcou...
Settle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Glen Cottage for a week at the beginning of September and very much enjoyed it. The cottage was comfortable and well-appointed, with a grassy garden area - good views across the valley - nice table, chairs and parasol - an excellent spot for unwinding with a glass of wine at the end of a busy day!
The owner and his family could not have been friendlier - they welcomed us on arrival, then came round the next day with a fresh loaf of bread and jar of jam (both homemade) !
Can recommend the Ram Inn in Bussage - friendly and welcoming with excellent food.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santapod
North Bradley
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little cottage , just as described by owner.”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from our stay at this perfect little hideaway. Peace and tranquillity rained and we had 2 well behaved dogs. Everything we could possible wish for , and more was provided , there was nothing which was unattended to the needs of the self caterer. We thought we had found the one thing that wasn't there and then hey presto the kitchen roll appeared in the drawer. ! Every implement you could wish for was here., even a cafitierre for us coffeeholics !!.

On our first evening a wonderful freshly baked loaf was brought round courtesy of the owner, where could you possibly find such an abundance of amenities and hospitality to make our stay so great. The owner Rob was helpful and cheerful ,nothing too much trouble and no expense spared in making this cottage adorable..

A beautiful well maintained garden available with lovely table and chairs.

The cottage was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the heating was toasty warm. All included. It even had 2 wood burning stoves.

The Ram nearby , just a 15 minute walk , provided excellent food at fair prices and a speedy service.

Would thoroughly recommend this little haven and we would love to return sometime.

John and Linda

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thanks so much John and Linda - we'd be delighted to welcome you back any time. And we'll buy a kitchen towel holder ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edoardo32
Turin, Italy
1 review
“Lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent beautiful days at Glen Cottage! The landscape of Bussage was fantastic. The cottage was well organised and charming. The owners (kind and very nice) prepared good bread for our breakfast. Our proposal was spending few days in the famous English countryside and we did! Bussage is near to Stroud and by bus you can visit all the southern and western Cotswolds (Tetbury, Circenster, Bibury, for example). The nature was great and the public footpaths fantastic for running or walking. Not far from the cottage you can find also a typical pub with good food and beers! So Glen Cottage was an excellent solution for our holidays.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing