We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Anvil Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winchcombe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SimmoDerb...
Derby, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Beautiful cottage, perfectly placed for wandering around Winchcombe. Very clean, compact & bijou! Decorated beautifully, very homely. The welcome pack was very much appreciated - lovely wine - thank you! We bought a few of the handmade cards - a nice touch! The bed was a little too soft for us, and the bedding a bit too warm, but these are minor niggles. My hubby has a feather allergy but didn't seem to be affected too badly from the duvet and pillows. We ate at The Lion and The Plaisterers, both really nice places, but preferred the food at The Plaisterers. We would stay again - but would bring slippers as the tiled floor is a bit chilly with bare feet - LOL.

Thank you for your hospitality Julie - a gem of a cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Cold floor
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair...
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We love staying at anvil cottage.

It is the perfect location to get around all of the cotswolds, as well as an excellent location for Winchcombe.

The cottage is clean and very well presented, Perfect in size for what we need.

We will be back for more as we love it there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona M
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Valentine's Romantic Hideaway”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A super cute cottage with wonderful furniture and fittings.

Located in the centre of the village - so no driving to the pub!

Julia was really helpful and the cottage is delightful.

We have already re-booked for New Year's Eve

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great village location is a quiet courtyard
Liked least: Needs slippers and robes (no underfloor heating on stone floors)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBEyes
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab little cottage, great location”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely place everything you could need. Sofa could've been bigger, different to the leather on on the picture. Still a perfect excuse to snuggle up

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kateepott...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage- we will be back!”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time at Anvil cottage- it was perfect for a weekend break. The cottage is very well presented and very clean! Great location - with everything you need just a few minutes walk away. We loved the bottle of wine in the fridge when we arrived.
Julia was really helpful with directions and recommendations on where to go.
Thanks for letting us stay- we will be back :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie21...
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable stay ever!”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had such an amazing time here at anvil! The property was great to stay in and was so convienent being so close to town, we didn't use the car once whilst we were here it was fantastic. One of the best parts was arriving to the lovely bottle of proseco, which was so lovely!

Having the spacious kitchen was very helpful when we just wanted to hae a small lunch before we went out for dinner, we went to the The Lion Inn which was recomended to us by Julia, this was a great reccomendation as we througly enjoyed the food and the service provided there! Also having the pick up of the key be so easy made life a lot easier as we didn't need to worry about being late or getting stuck in traffic.

The stay was amazing and we would recomend it to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L
Wickford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful break”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Excellent cottage in Winchcombe with all facilities.Close to the town centre with pubs,retuarants and shops.In a great location for all of the footpaths and byways .We had an excellent stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Brilliant to hear that you had a great stay, hope to see you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;