We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great facilities, good location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Wotton-under-Edge, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Verity L
Amershan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great facilities, good location”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Chipping House provides excellent accommodation for a wide range of ages from babies to great grand parents. Spacious but cosy it provides separate living room and playroom along with outside play/sun room. Hot tub a big bonus for all guests.
The location is very central to the small friendly town of independent shops, 2 minutes from swimming pool and cinema with a constantly changing programme of entertainment. Particularly successful for our party were trips to Cattle Country, Berkley Castle (check open days), and Newark Park - a unique NT property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dw13abl
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A perfect house for a perfect weekend away with friends”
Reviewed February 2, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The owner was so friendly and helpful prior to our arrival.
The location of the house is perfect, within walking distance of all town amenities, lovely places to eat, and surrounded by beautiful walks.
Parking for several cars within the grounds.
The house wrapped us in warmth and relaxation, the atmosphere is welcoming and homely, and there are so many features that made our stay so special. Quality and attention to detail in such an historic family home.
The hot tub with twinkling lights as darkness fell was gorgeous!
Comfortable beds, fluffy towels, endless hot water, logs for the wood burners, so much China, cutlery and cooking utensils.
Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: impossible to pick out one thing with a property of this quality
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Thank you ever so much for sharing this lovely review with us, we are over the moon that you had a great your stay at Chipping House! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the warmth and relaxation the property offered. Relaxing in that hot tub with the lights twinkling, as dusk falls sounds pretty perfect to us too, we are so pleased you loved it! We certainly hope that you return again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare H
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed April 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Walking through the front door of Chipping House is like walking into an old friend's house. It is a wonderful house. The kitchen offers a great central place for everyone to catch up. The other rooms are comfortable and cosy. It is perfectly located to meander into Wotton under edge or as a springboard to Stroud or other beautiful places in the Cotswolds.

I also need to recommend the owner, Cathrine. Nothing has been too much trouble. What a great combo.: a lovely house and a lovely owner! We'll be back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebonyligh...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a lovely hideaway - what fun!”
Reviewed March 24, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This house covered all bases for an amazing birthday weekend away from London! Firstly it's really easy to find - follow the instructions on the website and you really can't miss it. Secondly upon arrival, the set up as to how to get in and settled is clear as day too.
And then - the fun was had! The owners of the house - whilst they have put rules in place - are wonderful and didn't even mind that we broke a glass (oops). The wifi did mean that for some of us workaholics we could get connected but mostly we just enjoyed the surroundings - went for a lovely walk up the hill on Saturday morning, and popped to the local pub The Royal Oak for lunch on sunday (again five stars - but head to their page!)
Back at the house, once our food delivery came, we made the most of the kitchen, cooking up a storm (with a couple of glasses of wine of course) and playing some music. The house is very old and the walls thick, so we were able to turn the volume up comfortably without upsetting anyone - just make sure the windows are closed!
And finally - the best part of the house - has to be the hot tub. What a treat!! We were in and out like yoyos!
Basically, if you want a truly brilliant base in the Cotswolds, I couldn't recommend Chipping House enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House was clean and warm - and the hot tub
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungrydav...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“delightful house, well presented in nice village”
Reviewed February 27, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

chipping house had everything we could have asked for , from soft comfy beds and fluffy white towels to a well stocked playroom and wellingtons for the children, a very fine large house, kitchen fully equipped, large dining room, study, log burners and plenty of space for our large family to mingle together or find a quiet corner for a bit of privacy, even a hot tub in the garden, set in a charming village with tearooms, pubs and an excellent chip shop,
the house very well kept and immaculately clean, will certainly go back again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Thank you for leaving us this review. We're pleased you had such a good time and hope you'll book with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdwillis
Street, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chipping House is superb - our best-ever holiday rental!”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Chipping House more than met our expectations.
We are a three generation family group, 8 adults and 6 children, celebrating a significant birthday together and the accommodation suited us perfectly. Everything, from the generous space inside and out, the standard of furnishings, kitchen equipment, cleanliness etc was of a very high standard and we would not fault a single thing!
Catherine phoned and emailed us before our weekend to check our requirements and made lots of helpful suggestions of things to see and do - we just wish we had booked a week.
We were blessed with good weather and enjoyed exploring the town, walking on the Cotswolds and swimming in the local pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The brilliant way that the house worked for our family.
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jas D
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house in great location catering for all your needs...”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we booked to the moment we left the service provided by Catherine the owner was fantastic. There is a website providing you lots of information about the house but upon enquiring Catherine called to talk through any questions we had and even called a week before our holiday to see if we needed anything - exceptional service.

As for the house it's lovely for large groups with 2 sitting rooms, large kitchen dining room, nice garden and even a conservatory - so enough space for you to enjoy together or apart. This has to be one of the most well-equipped houses we've stayed in with everything you need for cooking, eating, and so many games and books to keep you entertained. The cleanliness of the house was great too.

One of the nicest additional touches was the amount of local information provided - it's like a mini tourist information place with recommendations on things to do provided in nice folders along with useful information like how far away, prices etc - we used to have a flick through each day and decide what to do the next day!

The house is in the centre of Wotton-under-Edge which has lovely little tearooms, independent shops, a swimming pool, cinema and a Tesco metro to get what you need so is an ideal location - plus not far to get to places you may want to visit.

I can't say enough positive things about Chipping House - for large groups this place is perfect so book it and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing