We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding lodge in beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sweetslade

Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
The view to the east from the gable windows The spacious open-plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
The view to the east from the gable windows
The spacious open-plan living area
The light & sunny dining area
The large bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Sweetslade seen from the south with sunny seating area
The living area with woodburning stove and flat screen HD TV
Lovely views from the living room
The well-equipped & stylish kitchen area
The well-equiped & stylish kitchen area
Wake up to a view of the open countryside
The spacious bedroom with king size bed, and open staircase to the ground floor
A luxurious en-suite bathroom
The bedroom features a stunning south-east facing gable window
A view of Sweetslade from the footpath
A short walk from the door to the bluebell woods
The footpath from Sweetslade to the village & pub
A view of Rockbourne village
A view of Rockbourne village
The Rose and Thistle pub in Rockbourne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Phil F
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding lodge in beautiful location”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just returned from a relaxing few days at Sweetslade in this stunning accommodation with excellent amenities overlooking the fields and forest, which is within easy walking distance of the pretty village of Rockbourne. The host was very welcoming and helpful.

We were extremely comfortable and particularly enjoyed the contemporary design of the lodge and being so close to the New Forest. We hope to return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up to the sound of the farm animals
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2014
Thanks for taking time out to review very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the design look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
235barney
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Modern well equipped property in secluded spot.”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a lovely stay at sweetslade last week , the property has everything you could ask for in a rental unit. The owner greeted us and showed us around the property, and was available if required if any problems arose( HAPPY TO REPORT NOTHING DID). Sweetslade is situated in a peacful spot but wthin easy reach of amenities. Initially we had to negotiate the slopeing ceiling upstairs as we are both tall, but this did not detract from the excellent property or the holiday in general.
We will return and highly reccommend Sweetslade to all.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thanks for the review hope the bruises have faded by now will look into some padded cycling helmets for your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Thanks for taking the time to do a review really appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
laurenhil...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely remote getaway”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My boyfriend took us away for a little holiday to the New Forest, we both needed a break somewhere quiet and we were both so glad we chose sweetslade.

We saw the good reviews and the photos looked lovely, and on arrival we were not disappointed.

Robert was very hospitable he showed us how to work things,the TV, oven etc and informed us of activities in the area.

The place itself is nice and modern looking and nice and cosy too. It had a built in kitchen, a nice lounge area, a TV with lots of films to watch and standard TV if you want to, it had wifi so we could connect to the Internet which was kind of a must, as we had absolutely no phone signal whatsoever in the area.

Sweetslade was very clean and well maintained you could tell that even upon arrival.All cutlery or utensils you could have needed were provided for you in the kitchen and the dining area was nice and spacious too.I liked the mosaic style dining table.


There were lots of leaflets to hand and visitor information, a must if you are new to the area like we were.

Bedroom area was lovely and cosy, the walls were quite low but that only added to the element of cosiness. We thought the telescope was pretty cool too :)

The bathroom was nice and clean, there is a shower and a bath although the shower is probably more suitable for hair washing rather than a full shower as there is no shower curtain.


There was a nice track up the back of sweetslade where we went for a walk, we actually reunited a lost dog with its owner in the process.

Overall sweetslade has everything you could want for a little getaway, and im so glad my lovely boyfriend
took us there.


Thank you Robert for a warm and comfortable stay.

Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and glad you thought the telescope was a cool idea no one's ever mentioned that before.Thanks again for helping to reunite that lost dog with its owner he really appreciated that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison F
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peacefully Perfect”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a five night stay at Sweetslade.
We fell in love with the house and with the whole area.
The property itself is lovely, all brand new looking and of a very high specification.
It was perfect for those of us who crave for peace and quiet for a few days, as the only noise we heard was from the donkey and animals that lived next door!
We were near enough to the forest for walking cycling etc., and the footpaths and country lanes were great for my running.
The pub in the village The Rose and Thistle is only a 20 minute walk away, which served the most delicious food.
I would also recommend The George in Fordingbridge if you want good food and pub with some atmosphere.
We had perfect weather too, which made this a great holiday.
We will be back!

.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2014
I always get a feel good glow when I read that someone has enjoyed their stay.I think you were both very wise with all the exercise after the rich food at the Rose & Thistle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George K
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Walking into Perfection”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

There is so much to say regarding this beautifully laid out, picturesque, and inspiring retreat, but many of the comments previous to this have already touched on them, so I shall just add to them by saying a massive "thank you" to the delightful host, who went out of his way to not only present this delightful, clean, well-equipped, Sweetslade, but to also accommodate us beyond the call of duty.
Sweetslade reminded me of a very pleasurable experience I had in Fuenguerola, in the Costa del Sol, from the colours, to the decorative style, and even the fresh smell!
This is a place that is set in a rural village, far enough away from the hustle and bustle of City life, but very near the Fordingbridge Village (about 10 minutes by car), or if you want the extra shops that a larger town has to offer, Salisbury is only 10 miles away. Remember that when mileage is quoted, it's informing you how many miles of delightful views, and quiet roads and lanes, so even the drive itself is uplifting.
Salisbury has a market every Tuesday and Saturday, but there are also all the little boutique shops (and not all of them are highly priced, such as 'Strawberry Fox' and 'The India Shop') and is worthy of a visit due to the history of the Town, especially the Cathedral.
The New Forest is only a short drive away, for those who enjoy long walks or blowing the cobwebs away with a mountain bike track, as well as the local roads and lanes, but I suggest driving the proposed route to make sure that it is within your ability, as there are many routes which involve steep hills. On our hosts suggestion, we went to Godshill, and then a bit further to Hale, which had a perfect route for our cycling needs.
If it's inspiration you would like, then imagine waking up to a beautiful view from the very charismatic bedroom, overlooking a field, with it's surrounding trees, and with the accompaniment of birds singing, and chirping away happily, followed by the peace, quiet, and tranquility that being "out the way" always offers.
So whether it's drawing, painting or seeking a push-start to your writing, Sweetslade will offer you the perfect setting.
The amenities are all there, so if creating culinary delights is your passion, Sweetslade will accommodate you, just before you retire on the oh-so-comfortable sofas with the Lovefilm-widescreen-sound system combination that is set up for your pleasure...absolute perfection.
Suffice to say, we all need the Sweetslade experience, whether it's during our glimpses of good weather, or during the colder seasons, which are perfect for the real fire that's on offer (and the logs are even cut and prepared next to it!), it really doesn't get much better than this!
We will definitely be coming back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Wow people are going to think I write these reviews myself except I don't think I could have managed such a glowing eloquent response.Look forward to your return visit thanks very much Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klondyke3...
staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peace, perfect peace.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Immaculate accomodation, luxuriously furnished and equipped. Set in peaceful surroundings on the edge of the New Forest but within easy reach of all it's attractions. Robert, the owner, very affable and helpful. Recommended for couples in search of peace and quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness of surroundings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
Hope you've shaken off that cold, very pleased that you enjoyed the peace of Sweetslade.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;