We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in the Garden Room”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Garden Room

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janna B
1 review
“Wonderful stay in the Garden Room”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed in the garden room with my husband and our dog. It was absolutely wonderful. Suzanne and family were all so friendly and welcoming. They helped us unpack and showed us around. Suzanne told us all about their beautiful horses and dogs. Max the labrador was adorable, jumping fences to say hello. We looked forward to coming and going just to fuss the gorgeous horses who poked their heads over the stable door as we went past.

The garden room is beautifully decorated with a very artistic flare. The room was immaculate and the home cooked goods were very tasty. A fantastic glamping experience, we are looking forward to returning in the Summer.

Thank for a lovely weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing surroundings and the lovely animals
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
namron37
Abingdon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for peace and quiet and a base to explore the New Forest”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the Garden room for 3 nights, host Sue was just perfect and very friendly and we really appreciated some home cooked snacks on our arrival.

Pros :
Lovely private room next to the menage with a beautiful intimate garden where bbq facilities are available and a lovely wood kettle to burn a few logs and star at the stars, all provided!
Fantastic array of breakfast stuff laid on including breads croissants coffees teas etc.
Total peace and quiet
Minutes out of the double electric gates and into the new forest, perfect for dog walking
The red shoot pub just 10 minute walk up there hill.
Perfect base to explore the new forest.

I would not hesitate to come back again..

Cons :
No mobile signal (But hey, that's the whole point of a peaceful getaway!)
No sink to wash up breakfast things but really was not a huge issue as we used the bathroom to wash cups side plates
Do not expect to cook or eat in as there are no cooking facilities, but again we were not there to cook as we were there to explore and eat out. Of course there is the bbq in the garden.

Will be looking to book again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris c
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Idyllic Rural Retreat”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and I spend a lovely long weekend here. Easy to get to, nearby to an excellent country pub, and countryside walks in all directions. A great way to experience the New Forest.

It was a pleasure to be awoken by a strict rooster and his abiding chickens each morning! And the horses are very well kept and keen to introduce themselves. Almost like staying at a farm.

The hosts were not intrusive but tasteful in ensuring we had everything we needed, even supplying 4 extra pillows for our not so little bump, and a delicious light lunch to welcome us in.

The area we had to ourselves was spacious enough, and had a CD player and Sky TV (not that you'd want to watch TV here!). Put on their Glen Miller CD and while away the hours readying a magazine or book, or spotting an elusive deer by the fire pit.

The only negative is that it was a bit rainy, but Maz was keen to apologise for this during our stay! Also, there is no mobile signal, but free WIFI available in the local pub. A welcome retreat from our everyday lives!

Would definitely recommend!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dylanthom...
pula sardinia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy and romantic haven in the New Forest.”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had 4 nights in the garden room and it was really lovely. The decor and surroundings were relaxing and peaceful and we were right on the edge of the forest for walks and exploring. Sue made us feel very welcome and we arrived to lovely home made snacks and a fridge full of food and drink. We enjoyed muesli, fruit and bread for breakfast. On two evenings we had a BBQ and had a candlelit meal under the lovely gazebo. The farm has many animals including the wonderful Andalusian horses. It was a really relaxing break and we felt well looked after and very at home. Thanks to you all! Ellie and Angus

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy quiet, friendly, lovely countryside
Liked least: Bed was a bit soft for us1
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picky-tra...
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Welcome but a little bizzare”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The welcome was great, they made us and our dog more than welcome, lots of special touches from the huge breakfast cereal / pastry selection to the little nibbles suppplied on arrival - but the studio was a lot more basic than we had expected - probably our fault for not checking, but my studio I had as a student many years ago had more than this.

Our dog loved having his own (enclosed) garden to explore - but I did not expect to be washing up in the bathroom sink! The studio has NO cooking facilities, not even a toaster apart from the outside BBQ. If you want hot meals then you need to eat out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome and area
Liked least: Facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLenz
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just delightful.....”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

There isn't much that can be said over the reviews already given - we chose it from these and were not disappointed! It's the little touches (lovely well stocked fridge with home made yoghurts and chutney; nice bottle of red and well presented pastries for breakfast). Relaxed and slept like we haven't for years and the choice of walks and views directly from the property are fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie P
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I can only ditto the previous review comments, it was such a lovely relaxing place even our energetic sprinters were totally relaxed here. Lovely surroundings and the owner was very attentive and friendly. We hope to return/retreat here again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing