We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, budget price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Maritime Club
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Sussex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location, budget price”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

As stated by others that have written reviews the Club premises in some areas are in need of a lick of paint but that being said it was clean and tidy with freindly and helpful staff.

This was a "group" (16) weekend away and the Club was a suitable venue with the skittles alley proving a hit for an evenings entertainment. As a club the bar prices were easy on the wallet and £70 for a double room (2 persons sharing) with breakfast included was excellent value. Arriving just after 2.00 pm we were fortunate to obtain a parking space (no charge) for the whole weekend. Being 5 min from both the Maritime Centre and Gun Wharf Quays we did not need to move the car all weekend and found plenty to do.

We will certainly be using the Club again.

Room Tip: There are refurbished rooms for those desiring them
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W-Sussex_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    267
    159
    44
    40
See reviews for
114
257
62
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Had a refurbished room which was clean, tidy and warm, if anything a little too warm. We arrived very early, concierge very helpful, letting us park on the forecourt immediately. Although the public areas are looking a little tired they give the feel of a bygone era, fitting nicely with our tour of the Gunwharf. Breakfast was adequate but overall good value, will stay again next time we visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shore52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed here for one night as I was attending a conference.
I was pleasantly surprised.
I booked a single room and I got a single bed, which came as a surprise but that's what I should have expected. I booked late but paid the Rack Rate, £47.50. The room was clean, tidy and warm. The hotel has a nice bar, restaurant and pool, and gym, but I didn't get to see them.
The hotel is very convenient for the historic dockyard and Gunwharf/Spinnaker Tower, so if that's why you're in town, why would you go to another hotel which is further away?

Room Tip: Great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eesneverappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-le-Clay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed for one night booked at last minute through Laterooms.com, this hotel looked to fit the bill as it was central and close to all amenities of Portsmouth. On entering the lobby all looked fine, friendly staff, bar to the right and plenty of wood panelling and various pictures of ships and a nautical feel. On walking to the room it became apparent this was a budget hotel past its best. The pool looked inviting but was empty and the tiling looked grubby, I expected someone to be using it at 5.00pm The corridors were clean but so worn and paint was coming off and it all reminded me of my days spent 30-40 years ago in government training establishments. The room was spacious but bland and needed updating. The flat screen TV was high up in the far corner from the bed and so far away you needed 20:20 vision to see it; it was also loose on the wall. The furniture in the room reminded me of flat pack and was worn out and dated. There was the usual tea and coffee in room but patterned cups were remiscent of something out of a charity shop, the curtains were of the same era too. There was summary of the history of the hotel in the room saying how it had been visited by various Royals in the past due to its history (hence its title 'Royal'), I dont think they would have stayed long or will be coming back soon.
Breakfast was the best bit, plenty of piping hot food, great selection and efficient friendly staff

For £80 a night this was a very disappointing experience and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone at that price, I would personally spend a few pounds more and move to a modern hotel in Gunwharf quay. If the price was right it would have been acceptable but it was more like a dated B&B at a top rate price.
At night the area around the hotel was not nice, many old pubs corner pubs and at 7.00pm too many drunks staggering around in the middle of the road for my liking out of their head. It did not feel safe to be walking out alone in the dark round here.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room as some people here seem to have better rooms than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I have stayed the the Maritime Club several times now as my husband gets a discounted rate, the recent visit was only a couple of weeks ago. Previously my husband and I have stayed in the West Wing but this time we were given a room on the 3rd floor, it was awful, we went straight back down to reception and asked if we could upgrade/change rooms. The very nice receptionist gave us a room in the West Wing - it was OK not as nice as the room we previously had in this wing but certainly a big improvement from the 3rd floor.

The hotel is so convenient for walking into central Portsmouth and for accessing the museums and best of all Gun Wharf Quays!!

The breakfast is always good and plenty of it and the staff are very friendly.

Yes a lot of the rooms are tired and definitely needing to be updated, but now reading comments from other people who have stayed, when we use this hotel again, which we will, most probably be in January I am most definitely going to ask for an upgraded/recently refurbished room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBroons62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Only stayed one night but found the room clean and comfortable though the bathroom could be updated, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was fantastic. I will definitely stay here again and advise others to.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idealdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I thought this hotel was well located, righ near the Gunwharf Quays shopping. Old fashioned design but very clean, neat and friendly staff, its all you need.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatnameiaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
5.2 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
0.0 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,496 reviews
3.0 km away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Maritime Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Maritime Club

Property: Royal Maritime Club
Address: Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Maritime Club 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Royal Maritime Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Maritime Club Hotel Portsmouth
Royal Maritime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing