We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (903)
Filter reviews
903 results
Traveller rating
232
359
202
61
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
359
202
61
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gunwharf quays superior room small pool naval base limited parking gun wharf hms victory parking space buffet style spinnaker tower bed was comfortable full english breakfast was excellent would stay again tea and coffee free parking car park
Filter
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 903 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

A great weekend away and I would say it was one of the best trips we have made. The accommodation and the food were excellent and I am sure I speak for the whole group that the staff were great and couldn't do enough for us. The location puts you close to all the major attractions, the Royal Naval Dockyard which includes the Mary Rose and HMS Victory and many other ships. Also it is close to all the major Ferry Terminals and a very large shopping complex close at hand so putting you very close to all the attractions.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Fletcher Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2016

If you want to visit our maritime history and shop till you drop,then consider staying here you can't go wrong this hotel is so close to the action ample safe parking, nice size and comfortable rooms and good breakfast . The staff were very friendly (big thanks to The receptionist so helpful ) We will be back.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank snowgoose4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2016

For anyone wanting to stay in Portsmouth and visit the Historic Dockyard you will not find a better location! It has always been associated with the Navy and there are plenty of memorabilia, photos and paintings to back this up. During our stay here there was a Royal Marine reunion party on HMS Victory and several of them stayed here, so there is a recommendation. The prices of food and drink are very reasonable, much less than at Gunn Warf Quays which is only a 10 minute walk and the Historic Dockyard is less than 5 minutes away. We found all of the staff very friendly and only too pleased to help. As others have said, breakfast was excellent. There is cereals, fresh fruit, fruit cocktails, buffet full English all of good quality, tea or coffee in pots, toast and even kippers and smoked haddock on request. Certainly the best hotel breakfast for the money I have come across. It was a busy hotel with plenty going on ie there were 3 weddings during our stay. They have 2 function rooms but this in no impacts on the service of the hotel, they always seem to have the correct amount of staff. we got there early and got parked for free during our 3 days stay but there is only limited parking so I would not say this would always be the case. It has a small pool which we didn't use. Rooms had good tea and coffee facilities, comfy bed and pillows, decent size flat screen if you want one and a good size bathroom with combined bath and shower and all the usual consumables. The only reason I haven't given it a 5 star is because some of the décor is a little tired but this certainly didn't affect our stay and I would certainly stay here again. Thank you and well done.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank carltonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2016

Stayed for 2 nights for family visit. We stayed here about 2 years ago and would have hoped the place may have had a lick of paint and generally made a bit smarter as that's the only fault with the place. We enjoyed the breakfast, all hot and plenty of it !! We used the pool facilities which were lovely and refreshing after a days walking around the dockyard. Staff very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mmj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2016

visted here for one night and booked a superior room as reviewed trip advisor before we booked ,nice 5 mins stroll to the quays and cant really fault anything about this place as it had free parking and breakfast was plentifull.ok its an old place but I would defo stay here again without hesitation so give it a try and don't expect the ritz !!!! staff very friendly also

Room Tip: book superior worth the extra £££
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jasper99Banbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews