We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Upper Mount House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We last stayed in the Upper Mount House Hotel in 1998, and we did wonder whether standards would still be as high as they were some 13 years ago. We need not have worried for our stay of four nights was comfortable and relaxing. The rooms at the Upper Mount House are spacious and they are kept spotlessly clean and tidy. There are generous tea-making facilities and, as an example of the attention to detail, it was noticed that myself and my wife drank a specific flavour of tea and, without us asking, that specific tea was added to the tea-making facilities in the room.

The breakfast at the Upper Mount is generous and there is something to suit everyone. A choice of cereals, Yoghurts, fresh grapefruit, melon, toast, cooked breakfast made to order or freshly made toast with at least half a dozen spreads from which to choose. Wayne and his staff are attentive to guests needs, without being intrusive.

We certainly enjoyed our stay and next time we won't leave it so long before we return to Southsea and the Upper Mount House Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

Upper Mount House Hotel in Southsea Portsmouth. We loved this place. It is very central for the shops and lovely local eating places. The staff were friendly and helpful. The beds & bedding were so comfortable and squashy...in fact everywhere was immaculate and clean, the fresh clean smell was the first thing we noticed when we went through the door. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. There are all different types of room, we will definately return here.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 4 person room althought here were only 2 of us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay, the staff are very friendly, and the cleanliness of the hotel is second to none. It is very convenient for everything, shops, restaurants, sea front, thoroughly recommend the breakfasts especially the kippers!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eady188627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This is a fantastic hotel. It is tucked away in a quiet, leafy old lane but within yards of restaurants , shops and cafes as well as close convenient for the attractions of Southsea and Portsmouth. The room was spacious and clean, with lovely, unusual furniture. Ours also had an incredible huge modern bathroom. The owner is very helpful and friendly, and the breakfasts are large, freshly cooked with plenty of choice and served in a nice dining room. There is a guest lounge with brochures and sofas for relaxing and reading. We came on the train but there was car park for guests. would not stay anywhere else in Portsmouth !

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the huge bathroom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandaCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Fantastic B and B in a really good location-nice victorian building. Rooms large, v clean and comfortable beds. Breakfast substantial and tasty!
Dr and Mrs Davies

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHD-EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

After about 20 nights' stay per year...Upper Mount has a wide choice of room rates, quiet location and fab beds for a good sleep, very clean and recently-decorated rooms, good off-road parking, and a good (healthy & indulgent!) breakfast selection. Wayne manages & cooks, Carole assists etc, and frankly, my only complaint is that I have to stay elsewhere occasionally if they're fully booked. The more expensive rooms do cost more than you'd expect of a normal B&B, but stay in one for a night and you'll see why. (Or ask Wayne for a tour!) Nice original painting in the rooms etc too. I stayed there again last night...see you soon guys!

Room Tip: Book in good time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnfrisbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We first discovered this wonderful hotel 2 years ago and have been back several times since. It is the perfect haven amidst all the ameneties of Southsea and Portsmouth. The rooms are full of character, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful and the breakfast is wonderful, offering an amazing choice. We have already booked to return again later in the year and would highly recomend this great hotel to anyone going to that area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suereed50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.4 km away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 km away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,173 reviews
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,263 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.6 km away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Mount House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Mount House Hotel

Address: Hotel The Vale, Portsmouth PO5 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing