We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveller rating
313
209
116
61
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
313
209
116
61
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room huge tv frosted glass free calls bathroom blind gym membership amazing gym coffee machine modern hotel tribute night mod cons sky tv post code leisure facilities sat nav great facilities park and ride
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 736 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

bedrooms a bit small. Could do with 2 chairs. Very good otherwise. Good inter connection to motorways. Also good view. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Car parking facilities also very good. Will definitely return .

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank djg0ddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hi djg0ddard,

Thanks for leaving a review; glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

regards,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I thought booking this hotel would be lovely, self check in was down, so had to wait while chap in front of us booked in a group of 12 all needing different rooms, bed was a normal mattress with very thin topper, pillows were a bag of wind. Couldn’t use leisure facilities as I had such a bad night. Restaurant booked up so couldn’t get a meal. House keeping kept knocking even when we said, not today, must of walked in 3 times after being told.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hi Lisa,

thanks for the review; Sorry you did not find the beds to your liking and the check in process was not smooth.

Regards,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Nice hotel, not the best experience in the restaurant though. Not sure about the fact the glass doors don't properly close in the bathroom and you use the 'electric frosting' for the glass partition. All very fancy but seems to have missed the point in some respects unless you get the premium rooms. Better lighting, a bathroom heated mirror would have made the experience better. Seemed like the money had been used up on fancy gadgets like the remote operated bathroom roller blind etc.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pbarha401940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, General Manager at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Hi, pbarha401940,

Thanks for the review. Glad overall you thought the hotel was nice. I am sorry about your experience in the restaurant.

i hope you have not been put off from using us again.

Regards,

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Small rooms but great facilities, comfy beds. Very modern so not for everybody and clientele predominately young. Breakfast was adequate but eggs need improving - no poached available when we stayed and scrambled very bland and tasteless

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pammuscroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

so this was our second stay here. We are currently living abroad so when we come to visit family we stay in hotels and we chose to stay here again. The village hotel is perfect for us, great location, free parking,easy check in and really comfy beds. We stayed in a standard room for 4 nights. These are small rooms but for us using as a bolt hole its fine. We had a evening meal in the village pub when we arrived and this was nice and a good price.
my only gripe is this time we added breakfast and personally i dont think its anything special and you can get better breakfasts for less out and about. One day there wasnt enough staff so despite there being lots of tables available we couldnt be seated as they all still had dirty plates on them and clearly not enough staff to clear away. Its self service so its not as if the staff have to serve. We waited 15 mins then were finally seen and asked to take a seat while the tables were cleared. We gave up and went to macdonalds. However in their defence i will say this only happened once and there was an entire football team in there which they clearly were not prepared for. We will be booking here again for our next visit in the summer however we wont be adding breakfast this time. Oh and a loyalty scheme for returning customers may be a good idea

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Makeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews