We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Batter!”
Review of Deep Blue

Deep Blue
Reserve with OpenTable
Deep Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #164 of 723 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Description: A beautiful, recently refurbished restaurant located on South Parade Pier with the best sea views in Portsmouth. With 180 covers inside, and 105 covers outside, we can cater for any event, special occasion or just a casual quick meal. Daily specials provide some variety to the core menu and change on a very regular basis. And now serving breakfast between 8-11 Monday-Sunday.
Restaurant details
Description: A beautiful, recently refurbished restaurant located on South Parade Pier with the best sea views in Portsmouth. With 180 covers inside, and 105 covers outside, we can cater for any event, special occasion or just a casual quick meal. Daily specials provide some variety to the core menu and change on a very regular basis. And now serving breakfast between 8-11 Monday-Sunday.
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

We went to the Deep Blue Restaurant having eaten takeaway on the pier last summer; which we loved. Greeted on arrival and given a choice of seats, the place was a little empty which we imagine was due to being ‘off season.’ Lovely decor. Nice range of choices in the menu but we just opted for standard and a large fish and chips! Food came promptly and was delicious. Large fish was very, very large in comparison to the standard but no problems with that. Only issue was the 2 x pints of Cokes ordered. Paid almost £4 each and both glasses were half full of ice (and they were huge chunks of ice too) we told the waitress who wasn’t really that bothered and even said that the prices had recently increased and it was expensive wasn’t it! Note to self: Do not purchase fizzy drinks from Deep Blue in future!
Will certainly return as food was good value and tasty - although we did prefer our ‘out of the box sat on the pier’ experience!

Thank Rae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBRestaurant, Manager at Deep Blue, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Dear Rae,

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad to hear that you had a lovely time and that the food and service standards were at your expectations.

Unfortunately, in what concerns the prices of the Cokes. due to the recent sugar tax that applies on high sugar products we had to increase the prices to still be able to make some profit on those drinks. I do apologize for this matter.

We hope to see you soon to enjoy a lovely meal within our company.

Regards,


Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 167 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018

Location: Southsea Pier

Venue: Large venue with tables and booths.

People: Visited with partner and baby. Multiple highchairs available.

Decor: Classic British seaside style, white and blue.

Food: The main foods are good. Mussels, medium cod and chips were good. Was disappointed that there was no fish burger. Onion rings were oily. The thing that lets this place down is that the condiments were a little on the cheap-side. Fish size was good. Some people may find the chips portion to small, but i thought it was fine.

Drinks: Full bar menu, with multiple beers on tap.

Service: Pretty good considering the size of the place. Did feel like we waited a while for food, considering its fish n chips.

Summary: There are not many sit down fish and chips restaurants that are open after 5pm, so from that aspect, it is good. I don't doubt there are probably better fish and chips to be had elsewhere, but not with the seating capacity or bar menu as this place.

1  Thank Dharm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBRestaurant, Manager at Deep Blue, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Dear Dharm P,

Thank you for your constructed feedback. We take every comment seriously has we are a new restaurant so we still have a lot to learn.

I'm happy to hear that you were happy in overall with the location, venue and bar.

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with onion rings and also that you had to wait while for your food to arrive. In our restaurant we make everything to order to ensure that everything comes as fresh as it can possibly be.

I would love to see you come back for nice fish and chips evening and hopefully we can ensure that you have some fast and delicious cod.

Kind regards,

Restaurant manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We have visited this restaurent several times and have been very impressed BUT not today!

The fish was pleasant but not as fresh as before and we bought and paid for large portions of Cod but were served medium portions as evidenced by the portion size others received.

The waitress was unhelpul and said all the portions looked different but we know what we received! No attempt was made to reconcile the error.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mikef1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBRestaurant, Manager at Deep Blue, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Dear Mikef1312,

I'm sorry to hear that you had bad experience in our company that day.

This issue occurs quite a lot. The size of our fishes are done by weight and not by size. Our medium cods are 6-7 oz and our large are 8-9 oz. Therefore a medium could look larger than a large but there would be less fish in the medium than the large. Therefore that does not excuse us in the matter of the freshness of the fish that was lacking when you visited us and i would like to apologize for that issue.

We would love too see you again soon to give us another chance to treat yourselves with some beautiful fish and chips.

Warm regards,

Restaurant manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We visited as a family on the recommendation from other people who have visited and although the fish ( I had the medium cod) tasted nice I did not think it offered value for money but I suppose it dines out on the location. We also had the curry sauce but £1.99 per portion was a little excessive as it came in the cup slightly larger than an egg cup! My husband had the large cod and he said one side had large pockets of batter. The setting is lovely as to the staff and decor but not value for money

Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBRestaurant, Manager at Deep Blue, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Dear Donna R,

Thaank you for your feedback , I'm happy to hear that the decor and the staff were at your expectations.

I'm sorry to hear that your food did not offer value for money we try our best to serve fresh and delicious food to our guests and i pologize if i wasnt the case when you visited us that day.

We hope you will come to visit us again.

Kindest regards,

Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Visited on a mega busy Easter Saturday , on arrival the place was rammed busy , we were seated very quickly and offered drinks straight away. The staff advised a 45 min wait for food which i di not have an issue with given how busy it was . The food arrived after 1 hour (a little dissapointing) but oh boy was it worth the wait !. Fish with big bubbly batter and mushypeas , battered sausage with caramelized onion (yum), a monster burger and fresh onionrings home made to boot. Cannot praise food and staff highly enough . Will be visiting again . My only challenges to them is to try and acheive the wait time stated and realise that £4.40 for a pint of post mix coke is way excessive, under £3.50 would be more realistic . But overall WELL DONE!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBRestaurant, Manager at Deep Blue, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Dear David G,

Thank you for your reviewing the experience you had on Easter Saturday

I'm glad to hear that the food was worth the wait. we have recently launched our new menu so i'm glad that it is having some good reactions from our guests. we couldn't ask for anything better !

In the matter of the wait i do apologize for this issue, there was probably some miscommunications between the kitchen and the host. we will ensure that these issues do not occur in the future.

In what concerns the drink we understand that the prices are maybe excessive but due to the new sugar tax we were obliged to increase the prices to still make some profit on our fizzy drinks...


Thank you once again for your feedback and we would love to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deep Blue also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Milland, West Sussex
 

Been to Deep Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing