We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Vulcan

VULCAN BUILDING
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
VULCAN BUILDING
LAYOUT OF APARTMENT HARBOUR FRONT 50 METRES AWAY
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
VULCAN BUILDING
LAYOUT OF APARTMENT
HARBOUR FRONT 50 METRES AWAY
LOUNGE
SPINNAKER TOWER 80 METRES AWAY
LOUNGE
LOUNGE
SEAFRONT WITH MAGNIFICENT VIEWS
EN SUITE TO MASTER BEDROOM
KITCHEN/DINING AREA
BATHROOM
HALLWAY
VULCAN BUILDING
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Portsmouth, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FionaJLin...
West Lothian
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

On entering the apartment the first thing you notice is the space and light. Has 2 spacious bedrooms with plenty of storage in the wardrobes and cupboards. En suite bathroom modern and very nicely fitted out complete with loads of hot water. Everything spotlessly clean. Kitchen feels new and immaculate. Beds so comfortable and attractive bed linen.

The area where the flat is so convenient. Gun Wharfe Quays is an attractive area being right on the water with tons to do and lots of eating options and almost all with great views over the sea. We had 2, 22 year olds with us and they loved staying here too, it was really handy not having to take the car to go out and eat and having the option of coming back to the flat whenever we wanted, was a big plus. There was loads of things for them to do and plenty of good quality shopping to keep them/us all happy.

Another big plus the close proximity for the ferry to the Isle of Wight which is good fun for a day out and has some excellent eating options if you are a foodie. We had a lovely lunch in Steephill Cove (next to Ventnor) in the Crab Shack and it was a quaint place to while away a few hours.

All in all, found everything to be perfect, Veeraj and Joanne were most helpful when we booked (despite some misgivings we had about security of paying online because of recent spate of online hacking of letting sites) but there was no need to worry, everything went like clockwork.

We know this area very well and have stayed in a lot of different places around Hampshire/West Sussex but this is one apartment we would definitely return to.

Compliments to Veeraj and Joanne on their beautiful property in my favourite area in UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the apartment, the cleanliness, the facilties.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
It was lovely to meet you all and thanks very much for your kind words about our apartment and the proximity to everything this area has to offer, which we love too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardwe...
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top-class apartment in perfect location.”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

If you want to explore the Naval Dockyards museums, shop at retail outlets, eat and drink at a range of well-priced restaurants (breakfast, lunch and dinner if you wish), walk along the sea front to Southsea, then this apartment is perfectly positioned and has a very high standard of fittings and furnishings. The owners are a delight to deal with and we had a very relaxing break. Car park space on site, quiet residential apartment block (restored quayside stores so plenty of character and high ceilings), practically in the shadow of the distinctive Spinnaker Tower under which you can sit with a drink in the sun watching the flurry of boat activity. Tesco nearby to stock up if you don't want to eat out and short walk into Portsmouth. Would heartily recommend this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location at Gunwharf Quays
Liked least: parking our old Peugeot amongst the much classier cars!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynseyste...
Maulden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment, amazing location”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here for a week - a group of mixed ages. The apartment was very clean and well maintained, the owners were really helpful and friendly.

All essentials are included, could have done with bigger towels, but other than that it was pretty much everything we needed.

The location was amazing for the shopping, restaurants, spinnker tower and naval dockyards (worth a visit, we went in 4 times in the week, loads to see and do for all ages and amazing value - especially if you book on line).

Would visit again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Size of the towels (just a small thing really)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPTJDP
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great apartment in a super location.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Lovely bright clean apartment in central location. Very friendly helpful owners. Lots to do for all age groups in Portsmouth.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
Thanks for such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment in lovely location”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our second visit to one of Neeraj and Jo's apartments. The property is lovely, very clean , well equipped and in a wonderful location near all the amenities that Portsmouth has to offer. The property owners are very helpful and communication is excellent.

Would highly recommend this apartment and look forward to our next visit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley98
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment and a great location!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in this apartment. Joanne & Neeraj are very welcoming hosts and clearly do everything they can to ensure that guests enjoy their stay. The apartment was clean & spacious and our every need was catered for. The location of the apartment is perfect for exploring the historic dockyard, the harbour and Gunwharf Quay. It was lovely to have great restaurants on our doorstep and a Tesco Express handy for any gorceries. Part of the enjoyment for us was not having to drive anywhere for a few days!. We would love to return here one day and would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment size, facilities and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna73792
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
“Perfect in every way !”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the beautiful Vulcan building. Neeraj and Joanne are such a lovely welcoming couple, this in my opinion makes a huge difference. The apt is immaculate in a very central location with amazing restaurants and bars right on your door step. Cant wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say. Beautiful building and of course the location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing