We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,017 results
Traveller rating
279
314
202
111
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
314
202
111
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry port travel lodge pub next door car park early ferry hungry horse reception staff overnight stop comfortable room excellent location good nights sleep night's sleep comfortable stay town centre free parking stayed here for one night tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,017 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2018

We stayed here for one night towards the end of August prior to catching an early morning ferry from Portsmouth. This travel Lodge needs completely refurbishing, it is shabby and worn out (although looks clean – but difficult to tell if some area’s were grubby or just worn!) We could have lived with shabby and clean for one night but we had to suffer an unbearably hot room with just a desk fan which was of no use at all (goodness knows what it was like in the recent heat-wave). Plus we had terrible trouble accessing our room with the key card, even after having it changed it took several attempts to unlock the door, making us hot before going into a room like a sauna (we were not the only customers having trouble). Apparently these problems were known about but nothing had been done about it. So with barely any sleep due to the heat, we didn’t have a very good start to our Holiday. We definitely won’t be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cajon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Ben from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

We appreciate the time you have taken to review our Portsmouth hotel.

We are sorry to learn that the higher temperatures had a negative impact on your experience and that you were disappointed with other aspects of your stay.

In our ongoing efforts to beat the heat, we do offer fans and lighter bed linen for guests at reception, however we fully appreciate and do apologise that you were not comfortable during your time with us.

If you wish to contact us directly to give us more feedback, please be aware that you can always contact our Customer Services team via our website.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Very hot on the first floor & noise from the traffic barrier if in rooms at the front. A pokey entrance at the rear of the attached pub where you had to pass through a pall of smoke to reach reception

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Molly from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are really sorry to hear that the room temperature affected your stay with us. We strive to make our customers as comfortable as possible, fans are offered for our guests and we are taking measures to ensure our rooms are cooler.

We are also sorry to learn that your stay was affected by external noise. We provide double or triple glazing within our hotels, in attempt to reduce the impact that noise disruptions may have on a guest's stay.

We apologise if these measures did not suffice in ensuring you a good night's stay.

We hope you will chose to stay with us in the future, where we will endeavour to restore your faith in Travelodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of 3 for 3 night's in August. I must first make it clear that the staff were great, always helpful and smiling.

The hotel itself however needs some updating and a good clean inside and out. Our stay was ok, however on our last morning and half way through a shower.... water disappears! Report to reception to be told they're aware and wait half hour if still no water return for refund.... no water so refund was sought! These things happen, however not really handled in the best manner. We also had 2 z beds in our room, one of which collapsed when a small adult sat on it, lateish. Went to reception, requested another and it was supplied however the staff member was so busy we sorted swapping and making the bed ourselves, no hardship however given the price of the rooms paid we would have expected much better.

All in all a pretty poor experience, certainly would look elsewhere in future nd only stay here if absolutely desperate, sorry to say!

Specific shout out to the lovely bubbly lady that greated us on check in, thank you.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank rebeccacridland89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Charley from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our Portsmouth Hotel.

We would like to apologise that you experienced some issues during your stay including the problem with the water and your beds. We would also apologise for the manner in which this was dealt as this does not reflect usual Travelodge standards.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you for sharing that you found our team to be helpful and smiling throughout.

We thank you again for taking the time to submit your review and hope to welcome you back soon to restore your faith in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

I've given positive reviews of this chain up to now due to the fact that you get what's advertised. However, they messed up big time here on the 27th of August. On checking in at 15:30h there was no mention at the front desk that there was no water in our room. On entering, we found some dirty towels on the bathroom floor which were quickly removed by a staff member who added as an afterthought that this was the case. initially, it was no cold water, therefore no flushing or mixing with hot for showers. Later on, we had it cut off completely. By 21:00h it was back on with a trickle in hot and none in cold. I went to request details on making a formal complaint later on and was offered a full refund of the 44 pound paid. People were still checking in, the maintenance man said he would be bleeding the system all night but by 2 am there would be water...guaranteed! This never happened. The staff memeber on the front desk.. (confused looking,exhausted young woman but very sweet and opologetic (Britney)) was as helpful as possibe but with no guidance on what to do she was overwhelmed. This low cost plan with such few staff means that any disaster gets out of hand (please note Ryanair,too) and inconveniences guests. I wanted a relaxed pre-trip rest and not a drama with my money back. SORT it out you people and get somebody to be on area standby with a bit of clout TRAVELODGE! And, as others have said, I also add that their carpet throughout policy is a mess and needs a complete overhaul. It's dirty, grubby and unhealthy to have carpets used by thousands of people each year without much vacuuming and no shampooing at all. Disgusting impression!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Charley from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Many thanks for reviewing our Portsmouth Travelodge and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay with us and we would like to look into this further for you. May we kindly request you contact us with your review via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel.

Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

Could only book a room for 4 online, but needed beds for 5 of us, so I booked it and called the travelodge (direct line number rather than national rate chared line is usually on the invoice) who were accommodating and added another bed.
When you arrive the staff are really friendly and professional. The rooms are a bit worn down and the bathrooms need rejuvenating, but it was very clean and the room was spacious.
Beds were more comfortable than expected and we had a fan to keep the room cool if needed.
We did have issues with the hot water, the shower wnot even lukewarm but we were busy so just got on with our visit.
As we checked out, the staff asked if we had issues with the water and we told them about the shower, so after sincere apologies,without any hesitation we were given a full refund for our room for the night!
Fantastic customer service throughout our stay and clean rooms with comfy beds to sleep on. We will be using this lodge again when we next visit Portsmouth. Would give them 4 and a half stars if I could.
Well done Travelodge Portsmouth!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews