We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$153
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$303
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$345
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$120
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,177)
Filter reviews
1,177 results
Traveller rating
229
460
316
115
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
460
316
115
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinegunwharf quayspembroke roadhealth clubswimming poolsauna and steam roomminute walkthe hotel car parkleisure centresea frontisle of wightshort breakquiet locationspinnaker towerhistoric dockyardstayed here for one nightcomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 1,177 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for one night with my mother. The hotel was lovely and clean and the food was absolutely first class. We thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool but the jacuzzi was only small and taken up by couples which was off putting. However, the pool was also very clean and the staff member was helpful.
The hotel had a wedding party and these took up all the space in the lounge area which was also off putting (the bride was also very rude and did not consider the general hotel guests when trying to go around her dress - she ignored the passer by people who clearly did not want to stand on her dress but she just ignored the requests, the person next to her pointed it out and she moved!). I understand hotels have to make full use of their lounges but please consider other hotel guests, we are also paying full price and are equally entitled to enjoy the area. Maybe the hotel can isolate an area for the wedding party only? Just a suggestion.
The room was lovely, and our stay was very good, I would score the hotel 8/10, there is always room to improve and develop.

Room Tip: become a member of the IHG, you might get a room upgrade for free.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longhaulonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

Dear Longhaulonly,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the hotel being lovely and clean and first class food. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the use of our leisure facilities and found the staff helpful. I will pass on your comments to the General Manager regarding the wedding party so thank you for your suggestion.

Thank you again, and we can hopefully welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Rachel Attfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

We only stayed for one night on a Just Go trip to Highclere. Room was nice and dinner was very tasty and the gin selection in the Bar was excellent. The room was cold when we first entered but we switched on the radiator and it was lovely and warm.

Room Tip: Our room was 101 and was very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Callybal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

Dear Callybal,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

Thank you for all your feedback without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the room nice. I will pass on your compliments to the Food & Beverage Manager regarding your tasty dinner and the excellent selection at the bar.

Thank you again, and we can hopefully welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Rachel Attfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

What a lovely welcome by Maz and Roberta at reception. Great room with lovely views of the coast.

With that welcome as a start to my stay, I'm sure the rest of the experience at the hotel will go just as well.

Thank you both, you are a credit to the IHG brand.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank floridavisitor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Dear floridavisitor99,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

What a lovely review to read! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your sea view bedroom and Maz and Roberta made you feel welcome. It makes all our hard work worthwhile when we read such lovely feedback so I will definitely pass on your compliments.

Thank you again, and we can hopefully welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Rachel Attfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

Stayed for two nights mid week bed and breakfast. The double room was clean, compact but comfortable and ideal for a short break. The hotel is 15 min walk from Gun Wharf quays shopping and a further 5 mins to the historic dockyard. The sea front is 5 mins walk across the road. The breakfast was ample with plenty of choice but the eggs were a little rubbery and undercooked. Scrambled and poached can be ordered individually. There is a restaurant with a varied menu including snacks and evening meals , slightly dearer than average. The bonus was the pool and spa which was not overly busy and provided a relaxing hour after all the sight seeing. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Free parking available on site.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Dear Elaine L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

Thank you for all your feedback without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel clean and comfortable and enjoyed our central location. I will pass on your feedback to the Head Chef regarding breakfast so thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am glad that you found all the staff friendly and helpful during your stay, as customer service is of utmost importance to us.

Thank you again, and we can hopefully welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Rachel Attfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

This hotel is always clean, the staff are welcoming and efficient. Breakfast is good with a lot of choice.there are only two things that I would alter, change to king size beds as most places have them now and put a cover over the smoking area so that us smokers don’t have to stand in the rain.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Dear Debbie M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding clean hotel and welcoming staff. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our plentiful breakfast and will pass on your kind comments to the Head Chef. I will pass on you suggestions to the General Manager about the bed size and smoking area so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you again, and we can hopefully welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Rachel Attfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews