We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (981)
Filter reviews
981 results
Traveller rating
384
346
167
55
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
346
167
55
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brewers fayre fun fair isle of wight car park clarence pier sea front attached restaurant sea view hovercraft terminal meal deal free parking historic dockyard lady on reception good nights sleep family room min walk short break
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 981 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2016

We were not expecting anything brilliant, but having stayed in Premier Inns elsewhere we expected it to be better than this.
On the positive side the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very shabby and definitely needs an refurb.
Fortunately we were only staying the one night. The room actually appeared to be reasonably clean but I didn't want to investigate too much. The bathroom looked reasonably clean.
Unfortunately we booked a breakfast in the Chef and Brewer, the scruffy pub next door. Sorry to say this was dire. Cutlery, serviettes and condiments in a dirty small metal bucket on the table. The whole place looked dirty and the food was well below average. We could not get out quick enough. Once again the staff were friendly.
Will be returning to Portsmouth definitely not to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room overlooking playing fields are quiet
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2016

We thought the best thing about this particular Premier Inn was its location, especially as the Sunday night we stayed there happened to coincide with a spectacular sunset and, by walking past the funfair, we had stunning views of the ferries, catamarans, and particularly the hovercraft crossing the Solent. The green spaces behind the main road mean that there is not too much noise, and there are also views of the Spinnaker Tower from the other side of the hotel. The funfair was in operation, but any noise from this was minimal, and the only thing which disturbed us was the large person in the room above who spent a long time creaking backwards and forwards to the bathroom ...

As for the hotel itself, it could probably do with a bit of a refurb - doors still open with keys rather than cards, and everywhere is looking rather tired, but perfectly clean and comfortable. Can't comment on breakfast as we tend to give this meal a miss nowadays and go elsewhere for coffee.

Parking - got the last space in the underground car park when we arrived and wouldn't have been very happy to pay for parking as we racked up quite a substantial car park bill at the Dockyard over two days. I think this factor would really influence whether we used this particular PI again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank j1954g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2016

Staff very friendly and room nice and clean. Right next to fun fair but wasn't open when we went in October. Parking wasn't a problem for us but not sure if all rooms were occupied. If you can't use the Premier Inn car park there is plenty of other parking available but is £12 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Thank pinnermurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on business. As the title says, it was pleasant enough, room was clean and bed was comfy and I had a good nights sleep. Evening receptionist was lovely but the morning one was a bit grumpy, a 'hope you had a good stay' or a 'safe journey' comment rather than the 'thanks' that I got would have been better.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2016

We stayed Friday and Saturday nights. Like all Premier Inns, the standard was consistent. The hotel was clean though getting a little dated and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. However, being situated right next to the funfair on the Saturday of our stay the loud music prevented any kind of relaxation in the hotel. Add to that the fact that a burglar alarm was going on and off for a good portion of the night on Saturday, we got very little sleep. PI Southsea is very convenient for the lovely town of Southsea and it's beautiful promonade. It is also just a 30 minute stroll from the historic Portsmouth Royal Dockyard. We were disappointed with the adjacent Brewers Fayre restaurant which might have been better cleaned. A finger mark traced in the dust around the toaster on arrival was still there when we left.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great - except that's where the funfair is situated!!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews