We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh Dear, should be done for trade description!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amberley Guest House
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Slough, Berks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oh Dear, should be done for trade description!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

An experience that I would not want to repeat soon. The ensuit is not what I would call an ensuit. Friendly but the premises do not live up to the images or expectation of the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ThomasI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

Prices same as a hotel, room under the roof somewhat like an alpine mountain hut. Had to be careful not to hit my head.

Only a shared bathroom and toilet
At least the room was quite and clean.
Owner friendly, breakfast ok.

There are better places to stay in Portsmouth for more reasonable prices

  • Disliked — too expensive for what it offers
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Wakefield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2008

The owner was friendly. I'm afraid that is the only positive here. The twin "ensuite" consisted of 2 beds jammed in a tiny room which could have done with a clean. The ensuite was a toilet and sink behind a curtain. There was also a bath with ashower over it in a cupboard which even Twiggy would have had trouble getting into. Overall I'm glad it was only one night.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorgogne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2007

owner very friendly but unfortunatley guest house in poor state of repair and decoration. the en-suite triple room we booked consisted of a incredibly small sink, a shower cubicle in an alcove with no privacy ( posed a problem as we were sharing with my teen age daughter ) and which still contained the last occupants dirty soap in the soap dish. the water pressure was virtually non existant in the room and when we tried the communal shower we found the water hard to regulate. we were also suprised that there was no toilet in the room, it was on another floor and communal. when booking an ensuite room we had expected to find a bathroom with toilet so felt the advertisement was misleading. the beds were clean as was the room, with the exception of the shower. breakfast was ok but have had better. in general the hotel was not really what we were expecting but in fairness at 58 pound for the room, including breakfast, it was ok. if you are just looking for somewhere to put your head down for the night and are not too worried about your partner watching you shower i don't think you'll have too much to complain about.

  • Liked — locality
  • Disliked — inacurate description of ensuite.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank swalk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.4 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.5 km away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#25 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberley Guest House

Property: Amberley Guest House
Address: 37 Castle Road, Portsmouth PO5 3DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Amberley Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing