We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florence House(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
553
126
22
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
553
126
22
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble showerl'occitane toiletriessister hotelsmall hotelmercer collectionlovely hotelbreakfast in bedsitting roombreakfast was excellentroom numberlovely roomalbert roadstayed longertea and coffeebus stopon arrivalthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great room, fab bath and an excellent location for our 2 night stay. Lovely breakfast and faultless service. Would definitely recommend ! As we were locating just around the corner we will not need to stay again but will recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Excellent bath in room 9
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 669kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review - we hope all went well with your relocation to Portsmouth. I'm glad we managed to help with a good stay during a stressful time and we hope to welcome your family and friends when they come to visit you! Just call us for the best room options or use our website - we guarantee the best rates directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

on arrival the receptionist was friendly and helpful. our room was down stairs by the bar. this room has its own little lounge and small patio out the back to use, which is a nice touch. our room was clean and nicely furnished. the breakfast menu was extensive and the food was fresh and nicely cooked. its situation is handy for gunwharf keys shopping and the sea. the only thing i felt let this hotel down was our bedding which needed upgrading to a better quality of linen. The pillows also did not feel comfortable and the cushions decorating the bed had seen better days. we were not left any bottled water in our room. other than that not bad for the money paid.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcia295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review - we are glad you liked the room you were allocated with separate lounge area and patio. Our A La Carte breakfast menu is always popular and we are pleased you enjoyed the choice on offer.
We have passed your feedback regarding the linen and pillows to our Operations Manager to take a look at and thank you for noting this to us.
Just call us or use our website for your next stay - we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night when we decided to go away on St Patrick's Day. We've stayed here before on our way home from the ferry, but it was just as good if not better on the second stay. Very nice welcome from all the staff, easy parking right outside. The room was exceptionally clean and well equipped and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel is a short walk from central Southsea and the seafront with some very good restaurants.
We have already recommended this hotel to friends and family and would definitely stay again without hesitation. WiFi connection was fast and free.
The bed was really comfortable and all the staff were very welcoming. Thank you!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 - excellent and Room 7 - smaller but still excellent
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was decorated beautifully and the location is great, near the canoe lake and pier and sea front. We drove to gunwharf keys and the aquarium near by. Breakfast was delicious. The bed was smaller than we expected as our ‘king’ bed was a usa king size which is smaller apparently. We were slightly disappointed with this . Other than that it was great, clean, staff friendly and helpful and we will definitely try the sister hotels in the future

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our location and breakfast and the staff helped you during the stay. A King bed in the UK is different to that in the USA - on your next stay we would be glad to assist you with booking a UK Superking which is equivalent to a US King bed. We hope to see you on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night as part of a birthday outing, I had booked a small double so was keeping my expectations under control... But I was very pleasantly surprised! Small double as booked, but lovely, modern, clean, lovely staff, nice comfy bed too.
Breakfast next day was a treat too, very pleasant young lady looking after us.
Only wrinkle was the shower head holder was a bit iffy, so mentioned this on our way out.
Next time we want a stop over for us or friends/family, we will be recommending this as a place to stay!
Thanks very much :-)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rachel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us this kind 5 star review. I am glad you found the Small Double sufficient for your requirements - indeed the rooms are small but perfectly formed! We appreciate you passing on the feedback about the shower head holder which has now been resolved swiftly. Thank you for recommending us to others - it's the best praise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews