We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service ”
Review of Brittany Ferries

Brittany Ferries
Ranked #26 of 94 things to do in Portsmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sail with Brittany Ferries from Portsmouth, Poole or Plymouth direct to France and Spain. Our routes take you closer to popular holiday destinations, saving miles of driving, fuel costs, tolls and overnight stops. Choose either superb comfort of a cruise ferry, no-frills economie service or speed across The Channel on our fast craft.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Very poor experience, loads of hidden extra charges i.e. having roof box of £42 even though we registered it.

1  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear 'Simon S',

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your experience with us. We appreciate feedback from our customers so please do not hesitate to contact us at customer.feedback@brittanyferries.com with more details.

Kind regards
Jane

Customer Services
Brittany Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"st malo"
in 90 reviews
"self service restaurant"
in 50 reviews
"pont aven"
in 40 reviews
"berth cabin"
in 20 reviews
"overnight crossing"
in 19 reviews
"commodore cabin"
in 18 reviews
"a la carte restaurant"
in 17 reviews
"club voyage"
in 14 reviews
"good nights sleep"
in 11 reviews
"cooked breakfast"
in 12 reviews
"mini cruise"
in 13 reviews
"bunk beds"
in 9 reviews
"night's sleep"
in 9 reviews
"passport control"
in 8 reviews
"cap finistere"
in 8 reviews
"comfortable cabin"
in 7 reviews
"inside cabin"
in 7 reviews
Filter

206 - 210 of 783 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018

We were boarded quickly and efficiently at the port, then went to our spacious 4 berth cabin to deposit overnight bags.
A trip to the bar then back to the cabin. We'd sailed early so we were well on our way.
Very smooth overnight crossing, except as always the pillows leave a lot to be desired. Hard and unforgiving they do not make for a good night's sleep. Unfortunate as the bed is a good size and more than adequate.
Breakfast is good, but this time we didn't partake as the queue was horrendous and slow moving. Not the ferries fault we all go for breakfast at the same time, but worth factoring in the wait if you want a cooked meal. We settled for a continental breakfast from the bar.
Leaving the ferry the other side was efficient and well staffed. Increased security is always going to add time to your wait but is nowadays a necessary evil.
All in all a good start to the trip to France.

3  Thank Jennie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear ' Jennie F',

I'm pleased to read that you felt that your sailing was a good start to your trip in France, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday there too. With regards to the pillows, if you find them uncomfortable please don't hesitate to speak to the staff at the information desk they will be happy to provide you with more.

Thank you for your review and for travelling with us.

Kind regards
Jane

Customer Services
Brittany Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Boarding the ship with my motorbike was effortless and speedy.
The room was clean and a typical ferry cabin. All areas on the ship were very clean.
The restaurant was fairly priced and the food was good.
The bar was nice and again beer was well priced.
All staff were very helpful and polite.
The sea was extremely rough so anyone with even the slightest possibility of experiencing seasickness should prepare for this and take tablets.
Disembarking at Santander was again effortless.
I would highly recommend.

Thank alanreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear 'alanreg',

Thank you for travelling with us and your recommendation. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your sailing with us and I hope that we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards
Jane

Customer Services
Brittany Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

The Portsmouth-Santander Ferry is a 24 hr crossing across the notorious Bay of Biscay. When we recently travelled it was the Bay at its worst, confused seas, squalls, winds and wild waves. It meant for that most of the time we were confined to our cabins just waiting for arrival.

So here are the good and not so good points

Good: The ship is large and the team are very professional. There was excellent seamanship on display during our journey.

Facilities on board are good - restaurants, swimming pool, dog areas and plenty of walking spaces ( when you can). There are also excellent bars and a small cinema

Cabins - we had the deluxe cabin and it was excellent

Loading: was very smooth and efficient

Needs to be improved

Dinner: although they have to cater for a large number the fact that they organise dinners by shifts and if you dont book within 30 mins its not going to happen. Food was average for the price and the service was unsmiling and very prompt - there was no waiting around.

Wifi - given the price you pay for a deluxe cabin charging for wifi is poor practise especially when you are confined due to weather.

Things to remember

Always get a cabin - its worth it

Book dinner as soon as you can

Take plenty of reading

Although it was supposed to provide a relaxed and cost efficient way to Spain we werent in the persauded.

1  Thank ESVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018

Used Brittany ferries now on a number of occasions and really cant fault them at all, booking online has always been easy and seamless the same with check in at the port upon arrival and swiftly taken onto the ferry when boarding commences, have only ever booked a 2 berth preferable outside cabin which me and my wife find although small comfortable enough for the time we spend in the cabin.
Always find the food options onboard to be good value since its a captive market once your onboard the prices and quality are great, bit of evening entertainment in the bar again where drinks are very reasonable, overall we enjoy using brittany ferries either for a weekend break to France or the longer trip to northern Spain and will continue to do so for the great value deals they have.

1  Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Dear 'chris w',

I'm pleased to read that you enjoy using Brittany Ferries and have travelled with us both to France and Spain. Thank you for your kind comments and I hope we'll be welcoming you on board for another trip soon.

Kind regards
Jane

Customer Services
Brittany Ferries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brittany Ferries also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Gosport, Hampshire
 

Been to Brittany Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing