We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously fresh food!!”
Review of Bacaro

Bacaro
Ranked #7 of 945 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Description: Our philosophy echoes that of the Italian Bacari - that the simple pleasures are the most important for our health and wellbeing. Good wine, delicious food and the company of friends are the recipe for a life well lived. Relax with us and enjoy a few Chicetti (small plates) a glass of wine and take pleasure in the moment, free from worry. Pleasure is the greatest good.
Restaurant details
Description: Our philosophy echoes that of the Italian Bacari - that the simple pleasures are the most important for our health and wellbeing. Good wine, delicious food and the company of friends are the recipe for a life well lived. Relax with us and enjoy a few Chicetti (small plates) a glass of wine and take pleasure in the moment, free from worry. Pleasure is the greatest good.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Having "googled" this place we visited on a hot sunny Saturday afternoon.

A beautifully decorated restaurant located behind Ocean Village (i.e. at the back of the apartments), whilst it may not be in an ideal location this restaurant has a lot to offer its customers.

Warm, attentive and knowledgeable service from our waiter, he explained the menu to us and offered us some advice on the size of the plates, favourites of customers and the specials. This helped us greatly and we took his advice on some of the plates to order.

We chose the mixed charcuterie (meats and cheese) board, pumpkin ravioli, skin-on fries and tomato, mozzarella & rocket pizzette. The board came out quickly, the rest took a short while as it was being freshly cooked. It was just delicious! The flavours were all there.

Sat in the sun, eating this wonderful food and having a nice glass of wine! It was the perfect Saturday afternoon and felt like we were in Tuscany.

I expect this restaurant to become very popular once news travels of how nice it is, and I will become a regular customer and work my way through the rest of the menu :-)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jennyjoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Manager at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Hi Jenny,

What an amazing review! Thank you so so much. So glad you enjoyed your afternoon with us and we were kind of able to transport you to Tuscany :-) Come and see us again soon, whenever your looking for a little escape. We look forward to your visit.

Billie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 365 of 447 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Wow wow wow! What a great visit. The food, the atmosphere and the wine were all great! The restaurant has a traditional Mediterranean feel and the food doesn't disappoint. The menu is eclectic, would with plenty to chose from and the tapas style would suit many. The quality is exceptional, with the chicken, the arancini and the meatballs being exceptional! The cocktails were awesome, the service was friendly, efficient and personable. We will, without doubt, be coming here again as this was a great evening out! Thanks.

Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Manager at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Thankyou for your fab review Chris! We really appreciate it. So glad you enjoyed your visit to Bacaro, we look forward to seeing you again.

Billie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Came here sporadically for a business lunch. Have never been before but will certainly be back again. The food was delicious and is obviously quality ingredients made with care. The staff are attentive and friendly. Can not fault!

1  Thank lisa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Manager at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Thankyou for your review Lisa. So glad you sporadically visited us and we didn't disappoint!! :-) We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Billie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2016

Lovely food, really enjoyed popping in for their organic red for a drink but finally got round to eating there last week and it was really good. Lots of variety in the dishes and the tastes were pretty delicious. The people running it are really into their food, and the concept was a new one on me but they really delivered. Service is great and they care what you think. One suggestion from me is to get more choice on the wine list! they have said that they are working on this....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Manager at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Thankyou for your review!! So glad you guys finally came and ate at Bacaro :-) Glad you enjoyed your dinner and like the concept of our service. We are definitely looking into expanding our wine list so there will be more choice for you guys. You'll have to pop back and give us your expert opinions on the new ones once we have them!! We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Billie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

An unusual way to serve Italian food but a great way to taste different things.....all delicious and served by very friendly and hospitable waitresses. Medium price range and well worth it will definitely be revisiting

Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Manager at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Thankyou for your review Vicky! So pleased you enjoyed your visit to Bacaro, we look forward to your next one.

Billie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bacaro also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Bacaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing