We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great post cruise stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Southampton Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“great post cruise stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Spent 1 night at this hotel at the end of a cruise. The location is very close to the cruise terminals & is also only a few minutes walk from the train Station & nearby shopping mall.
The hotel is very clean & efficient & has all the basics. Nothing luxurious but ok for a couple of nights. The bathroom was plain but once again was all you need. The only real negative for us was the lack of an in room safe. Somewhere to store a laptop, etc, while out of the room would have been nice. All staff encountered were very friendly & our early check in was well appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank's for your kind comments. They really appereciated.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    379
    231
    56
    29
See reviews for
118
399
102
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We spent 6 days in Southampton. the Ibis was close to the train station. Also to the free bus. It was also very close to West Quay Mall.
The staff was wonderful Agnes and Abbey are the best.
Their food was also good.
Great place to stay if you are cruising out of Southampton.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My stay with you was very comfortable and was just for 2 nights. I will stay with you again when I next visit Southampton.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed at the Ibis Hotel for 2 nights for a business trip and was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. It is located close to the main port terminals and also within walking distance of the town centre and the train station. The hotel has a car park which cost me £5 for my 2 night duration, so very good value I feel.

I arrived late in the evening of my first night and my first impression from the reception and bar area was that it was a clean, modern hotel. The staff on reception were very helpful and even helped me with my bags. On arriving to my room on the third floor (room 319) I was not sure what to expect as the lift and corridor don't look anywhere near as new as the reception downstairs (I think they could so with a bit of an update!) However my room was spacious and clean, with a view overlooking the front car park and the port in the distance. The bathroom was spotless and a good size, and there was plenty of storage space. My only real gripe with my room was the interconnecting door to the room next door. It had no real lock on it, just a chain that allowed the door to be opened a few inches. Thankfully next door were 2 other ladies who were at the hotel for the same business conference I was, but I was briefly worried that someone could/would try to get in to my room.

I went to the bar only once and although the ladies there were very funny I felt the prices were a little high (£2 for a bottle of water) and had breakfast both days which I thought was ok, nothing amazing to say about a fry up really! There was also plenty of cereal to choose from and some continental options such as pastries. Plenty of tea and juice at the self-service machines too.

Overall I have come away from the Ibis Hotel with a good experience, I would definitely recommend it to my customers and any friends/family who were staying in Southampton for a couple of nights, and I will be returning the night before my cruise at the end of August!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front car park - you can see a handful of the cruise ships that are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back .
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The hotel is in a very good location near to the town. The car parking was convenient and at £5 per day wasn't too expensive. Check in was easy and the staff were very freindly and helpful.

The (standard double) room was fine as long as you didn't spend too long in it. The bed was on the firm side (good for me but not for the wife) but the water was hot and the shower worked well. It just wasn't somewhere you would want to lounge and hence why I think it would be better for short stays or stays when you not in the room too much.

Breakfast (extra cost of £7.50 per head) was very disappointing. Tasteless with, what seemed to me to be, cheap ingredients (the baked beans were fine though). It would have been a better idea to go into town for breakfast.

In summary, it cost £170 for two nights (including parking and 2 x breakfasts) which is fine I guess in this day and age. We would go back if we were spending another night or two in Southampton but would also have a look around to see what else is available. There is a bar but we didn't use it so I can't comment. Top marks to the staff

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24722201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 km away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.8 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#18 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
1.1 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Southampton Centre

Property: Ibis Southampton Centre
Address: 9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Southampton Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Southampton Centre is an economy hotel located in central Southampton. Book the hotel for ease of access to the West Quay Shopping Centre, the port and entertainment districts. The hotel has 93 modern guest rooms equipped with satellite TV and tea & coffee making facilities, Free Wifi throughout. Light meals and snacks are available at the Cafe and the bar serves a range of drinks. Two meeting rooms can welcome up to 60 guests and there is car parking space for up to 100 vehicles. The hotel is ideally located for Southampton city centre as well as Southampton Port. Southampton Central station is 200m from the hotel, Southampton Airport is 6 km away. The ferry port is 500m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Southampton Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing