We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
An Accor traveller
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 20 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,423 - 1,429 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

I have stayed in two Novotels before and have always thought them to be very good value, and the Southampton Novotel was no different, in fact it well exceeded my expectations.
We arrived to the hotel earlier than expected but staff were very accomodating and let us leave our bags while we went to explore. The hotel is in an excellent location and has a lovely lobbey area.

The room we stayed in was spacious and light (I hate dark rooms) although the view wasnt great it didnt matter to us as we spent most days out!
One thing that really impressed me was the cleanliness of the bathrooms. They seemed to have been recently renovated and you could really relax in here knowing that they had been well cared for. The bed wasn't the comfiest I have ever stayed in but all in all, good quality for the price we paid

But by far the best thing about this hotel was the breakfast, which was much better quality than you usually expect from hotels. They had a continental and a full breakfast option which were both so tasty and had a huge variety to choose from.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel - it is inexpensive but very friendly and very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jarvyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Southampton and will be sharing your comments with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Novotel Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We were fortunate to have had a cruise from Southampton in January 2012. We booked a one night stay with breakfast. Efficient reception, assisted with booking a taxi to cruise terminal the next day. Clean functional room. Good breakfast. Walking distance to shopping complex for last minute needs. .

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yusuf283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback and it is great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Southampton.

Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAS62-26
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The hotel is from the outside is an impresive well maintained hotel. The hotel reception area is very modern and very clean and as shown online.

However, once you get your room key and exit the lift, it is soon discovered that the rooms resemble a hotel next door. Etap hotel is a budget hotel with rooms from £28 per night. I have stayed in the Etap next door only a week ago. The walls, and layout are the same, execept the reception and less swimming pool etc.

The toilets are next door to the bathroom and small. The walls are the same plaster type pattern which makes you think the hotels are owned by one company.

The price difference is huge between the 3 hotels.

Etap £28
Ibis £60
Novotel £80+

I will say the Novotel offers a mini bar and larger tv than the others but thats it really.

Stay in the etap guys! unless you want to throw money away.

Room Tip: Dont waste your money upgrading, as all rooms the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKINSPIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Novotel Southampton. As part of Accor Hotels we are part of the same family as Sofitel, Pullman, Mercure, Ibis and Etap. Each brand Varies in it Style and service offerings to allow prospective guest a greater choice to meet their individual needs. Again I thank you for taking the time to write your comments here and hope you continue to use Accor for your future trips to Southampton
Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Novotel Southampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I've stayed in a few Novotels. The layout is pretty much the same, with the loo the first room you come to when you enter the room. It's separate from the bathroom, but I'm not sure it works.

This hotel is no different, and it's fine for a cost effective night away. We had a crowd in the bar but for some reason they closed up at 12:30 which was a shame as most folks wanted to stay.

Any disappointment from the bar was made up by the breakfast. Great choice and good quality.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kettonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Southampton I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments regarding our early closure of the Bar area, we do aim to keep our facilities open later when our guests are using them and rest assured I have addressed this with our team.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Hotel was fine. Clean and comfortable. Beds are usually my problem. The mattress here was, I think, a memory foam one (didn't look). I had slight problems due to a bad hip but most people should find it comfortable. It certainly wasn't hard/firm. Breakfast was fine with the usual assortment of items. I wouldn't like to pay the full price of £13.95 for breakfast but if you pre-book it is half price.

I quite liked the toilet seperate from the bathroom but you did have to enter the bathroom to wash your hands. The room was clean and contained a couch. TV did not have subtitles so I couldn't use. The wifi in an executive room is free but you pay otherwise. The room has a good work desk in it.

The hotel seems ideally located and there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. We visited the Maylower Theatre for a show and didn't use the car the whole time we were there. There is a big shopping centre closeby too.

A pleasant surprise, they got the bill right! It doesn't happen often these days when I visit hotels. Parking was extra. We paid £5.

All in all I would use again. We did get a bargain though. £51 per night in an executive room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayess51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.1 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,118 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#13 of 25 in Southampton
1,266 reviews
2 km away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $91 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing