We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“NOT a boutique hotel!”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel is advertised as a boutique "style" hotel in the city on their website, it is certainly NOT a boutique hotel in any "style" that I have ever stayed in, it is much more of a conference centre with rooms, absolutely no character at all internally or externally and it is a good 15 - 20 minutes walk from the centre of the city. The bar terrace (posh word for a patio) is in the carpark and not just any carpark but a municipal coach park, so we sat eating lunch while people parked the other side of the low level wall and at one point a boy racer did a couple of circuits with his window down and music blaring out, which isn't the hotels fault but the location does lend itself to it. That said the room was very clean and perfectly OK, nothing really special or outstanding but it did have a very comfortable bed. Although we were suprised that a 4 star hotel had a pretty rubbish shower and a very flimsy shower curtain not a glass screen. The lift was broken when we stayed which was a nuisance as we were on the 3rd floor and actually quite a walk from the reception. I would do an overnight pitstop style stay here if I wanted clean and ordinary at a reasonable price, but not if I wanted city centre, boutique or anything over and above ordinary.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back to avoid the muniple car park at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelleS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    576
    245
    88
    55
See reviews for
210
978
45
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed at the Winchester Hotel on May 26th. The hotel is nice the rooms are large and nicely decorated. The food is very good, escpecially the breakfast, it was a buffet, all the food was cooked to perfection and lovely and hot, it was also replenished as soon as it got low. Lovely staff throughout our stay. The only dissapointment was the view from the bar and restaurant, there is a public car park right outside! When we arrived it had a few coaches and a few cars, we sat outside to enjoy the lovely weather and have some lunch from the bar but was spoiled a bit by the view. The car parking for the hotel is very small and we got the last place. You can park in the public car park but it is £7 a day. We didn't use the spa, but we did have a look at the pool and I have seen bigger baths! We did park there in the evening as you didn't have to pay. I would recommend this hotel if you are not looking for a picturesque pretty hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shazlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Enjoyed a one night stay here. Checked in 8pm after a day of cycling,parked in hotel car park. The spa area was open till 10pm, enjoyed using the sauna, Jacuzzi and pool, be aware the pool is very small. The hotel and room were nice, everything was clean. Staff were helpful

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubsy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Once again, a thoroughly pleasant experience. Great hotel, clean, comfortable and contemporary, exceptionally polite, efficient staff and good food.
My only gripe is the inflated drinks prices, for example, a bottle of water (2 glasses) £8.40!

Room Tip: Arrive early to ensure free car park space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed at the Winchester Hotel for one night while on business. As a single female traveller I was given a nice room close to reception, and as the lift was out of order my luggage was taken to my room for me.

The room was a little on the dark side but clean and modern and with everything you might need, including a fridge (under the TV), cleverly tucked away hairdryer (it's always a challenge in every hotel room to find the hairdryer, isn't it?), iron, safe, etc.

The bed was comfy too.

Reception staff v helpful when checking in, and for providing directions and a map for the town.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Avoid this hotel - dirty rooms, bad food and terrible service

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed here whilst visiting the famous Christmas Market. On arrival we were impressed with the clean and stylish entrance lobby. The welcome was a bit robotic from the staff (who also sent us in the wrong direction to our room), but the room was of good quality with good fixtures and fittings. The hotel does have its own private car park, but this is very small and tight and is no way adequate for the size of the hotel so we would advise upon arriving early. We did have a good nights sleep despite some Christmas Parties in full swing in the downstairs areas. Overall a good hotel which as the feel of a high quality establishment.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.7 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.0 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,050 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
621 reviews
1.2 km away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Property: The Winchester Hotel & spa
Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing