We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in wonderful countryside”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Winchester, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jenny H
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in wonderful countryside”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We very much enjoyed our week over New Year's eve. Came to visit Granddad for his 99th birthday in Winchester! Great location for day trips. Went down to Barton-on-sea and to the New Forest for cream tea. Did lovely walks in the countryside. My daughter loved the horses and the rooster who was very nice to only wake us up at 9.
The house is very well equipped, very comfortable and cosy. Thanks Debbie for our "Welcome-basket". The village shop is so cute, titchy little place with everything you need! All in all a great place, we'll be back for Granddad's 100th!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Teenage Family”
Reviewed December 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here AGAIN. Second year running. This time we brought the dog. Fabulous house fully equipped kitchen, constant hot water (for teenagers) along with Wifi, toiletries and kitchen condiments included.
Love the location in the woods at Autumn. Love the lovely restaurants locally and the close proximity to Winchester. Just a beautiful part of the world where we intend to stay next Autumn too!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieJH
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A great week”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We visited for a week and what an excellent base The Old Tractor Barn is with great walks right on the doorstep. On our last morning my partner photographed deer whilst on a run through Westwood.

Our 2.5 year old loved it too being able to see the horses and look in the barn. He loved our holiday home.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here, we've had a great time.

Thank you Debbie for our lovely welcome basket full of treats, much appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelkee...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous family stay”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Visited earlier in the year with hubby and 2kids aged 4 and 2. Wonderful set up for families, and really feel the host made the effort by providing toys and an off road buggy so we could explore and go on the local footpaths right at the bottom of the garden .absolutely beautifully surroundings and lots to do local with children,.
Cottage had everything you need and a lovely welcome basket on arrival.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent stay clean bright and very good location for days out & about”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Tractor Barn is very clean and modern with everything you require, horses on the farm, lovely location for days out in Hampshire,Wiltshire. Thank you Debbie C for a lovely week will come again weather was great to.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenhurst...
2 reviews
“Peaceful setting”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A great holiday accommodation, well laid out with all amenities. Nice to look out onto paddocks with horses and Larmas.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth H
Peterston-Super-Ely, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Provided everything we needed”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Old Tractor Barn is a smallish modern house set back slightly from a track which itself leads off a smallish road into the pretty Hampshire village of Sparsholt.

The track is very quiet as it leads up to some stables - then peters out to a path leading up to the wonderful walking/running/cycling area that is Farley Mount - so the only things likely to disturb you is the dawn chorus I suspect....

The cottage is well appointed with all things you'd expect in your own home - we wanted for nothing. The kitchen has a good set of appliances.

Upstairs the bedrooms fitted us perfectly we are a family of 2 adults and 3 children and we were very comfortable.

The welcoming basket of goodies (see one of the pictures) is a really nice touch - I haven't indulged in clotted cream for a long time - so it was a nice holiday thing to do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was exactly as advertised
Liked least: I would possibly have the shower water a little warmer - but a small gripe in the scheme of things
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing